We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reliable if not exceptional”

Broad Street Baking Company and Cafe
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Jackson
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Vicksburg MS
Level Contributor
325 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“reliable if not exceptional”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What Broad Street does, they do well. We really like their salads, also their lasagna, but this visit as is the case most of the time, we both ordered gumbo and field greens salad. The gumbo is a very nice base with chicken and sausage, good consistency, relatively mild spice level, though Tabasco is on the tables for those who like their food a little hotter. Salad is made of fresh, first-rate field greens with an excellent balsamic vinaigrette. We also got a couple dozen cookies to go to take to a gathering tonight for which we were assigned desserts. We taste-tested the chocolate chip last night and it was excellent. Though this is more an iced tea and soft drink place, they do offer beer and wine by the glass, also latte's, cappucinos, espressos, etc. This is a very good lunch option, reasonably priced, with fast service. If you want more than that, just go across the interstate to their sister restaurant Bravo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smileyreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Local Bakery”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great local bakery, I love to get their different loaves of bread (sourdough is my favorite). They have an extensive menu from sandwiches to pizzas. Their pastries are delicious, although somewhat pricy. I especially like the lemon bars.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always reliable good food”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have eaten at the restaurant as well as have ordered takeout, the food is consistently and reliably good. The menu is varied and has something for everyone, from children to adults. I highly recommend visiting this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Satisfied601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, overpriced, not many healthy options”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Pastries, cupcakes, cookies, cakes and coffee is what is most popular especially in the mornings however very limited healthy options. Not even fruit other than a $6.00 fruit parfait which isn't even low fat yogurt. Good spot to go and spent time on the internet in the morning but you are paying for the time and not just the food as it's overpriced and very small portions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coachmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed our meal. The kids liked their food, not just the dessert. The desserts were tasty. We will definitely eat there again the next time we are in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broad Street Baking Company and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Broad Street Baking Company and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing