We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Pleasantly Surprised”

Aladdin Mediterranean Grill
Ranked #18 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
pass christian ms
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This little restaurant doesn't necessarily look like it but it is 1 of the best in Jackson, frequently winning local awards for Best Mediterranean. It is in the charming Fondren District with several hospitals nearby - packed with hospital workers @lunchtime - so try to get there early for lunch. I favor the tilapia plate but my friends say the lamb is the best! Good tabouli & Great hummus & Yummy desserts! You should try it & do bring a friend but if you are a hungry single person, go on your own as it is not out of the ordinary to see solitary diners.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitkit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianola, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't think I'll go back for a bit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I went to the Flowood location today. I had previously eaten at their other location and thought it was great but I was so disappointed today. It was VERY warm in the restaurant, so much so I almost walked out immediately, but I had gone out of my way to get there. One customer felt the same way apparently and asked the waitress to please turn on the air she could barely breath. I ordered the chicken kabob plate that comes with hummus and salad and rice. I agree with the other reviewer that said there was just too much stuff on the plate. It's messy. The chicken did not taste like I had it before, kind of had a weird taste today. The hummus is the best I have had in Mississippi and the greek salad is excellent. I would order that again. But all in all, I was disappointed today,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plglong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This was my moms first experience with Mediterranean Food and she loved it. The waitress asked if we wanted wheat or regular pita. I had not had wheat before so she brought us a mixture of the two. The waitress seamed somewhat agitated when I asked her for more of the regular as my tastes did not care for the wheat. The food was good although pricey.

Helpful?
Thank Scubaboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
458 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Food, Atmosphere not so Much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

While visiting our son and daughter-in-law, we ordered take-out from the Aladdin Grill in Flowood, on Lakeland (Highway 25). My son and I went to pick up the order, which was ready to go and reasonably priced. We got an enormous amount of great-tasting food for $33.62. Among other things, we got a vegetarian plate (enough food for leftovers, with two people splitting it), hummus dip, Arabic pickles, sauteed veggie plate, and a gyros sandwich. As far as the ambiance in the actual restaurant, I would say there isn't any appropriate to the type of food available. Bottom line, the food is great, the pricing is reasonable, but I think the Aladdin Grill could be improved by making the atmosphere appropriate to the name of the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This restaurant has become more and more popular, and the food, presentation, ambiance, and service have steadily improved over time too. I think they have the best hummus in Jackson. Unfortunately, they don't serve alcohol, and going next door to the liquor store for a poor selection of wine is not optimal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jebowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aladdin Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Aladdin Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing