We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local flavor, comfortable and satisfying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hal & Mal's Restraurant

Hal & Mal's Restraurant
Ranked #43 of 379 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shreveport
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local flavor, comfortable and satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friend and I like to walk here from the Old Capitol Inn. It's an easy stroll in good weather. It's a comfortable environment with good food, large portions, and an easy and comfortable atmosphere. Service is excellent and you will leave satisfied!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
217 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Locally popular/ unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is one of those restaurants that is hard to rate. It is an institution in Jackson. Many of the locals love it. Yet it can't be a five star or else where would you rate a real five star? It just doesn't measure up to that. The food can be very good, as was the red beans and rice was today, but then the bread was stale. The service was good and the staff was very friendly. There is plenty of parking and it is downtown. The atmosphere is sort of funky. It is a fun and lively place to eat or have a few drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 50States36Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
starkville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I have to have the bisque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I come to Jackson once a month and if it's on a Friday, I WILL eat at Hal and Mals just to get the seafood bisque and tamales. The bisque is food for the Gods and the tamales are some of the best around here. The staff are also very friendly, even when they are swamped. I have never had a bad experience there, Friday or any other day. Hal and Mals is an oldie but goodie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I ate here while traveling thru Mississippi. I only wish I could bring this restaurant home with me. Outstanding atmosphere and food. I had the red beans and rice and loved it! We were there June21, 2013 and there was a band there that played wonderful classics and made our dining experience even better. Loved loved loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DominoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monday Blues Night..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had one of the warmest welcomes of our road trip at Hal and Mals, and enjoyed some amazing music and good beers.. I would highly recommend trying this place out especially if its the Blues night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Britalexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hal & Mal's Restraurant also viewed

 

Been to Hal & Mal's Restraurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing