We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Different Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Capitol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Capitol Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Gary, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Different Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Old Capitol Inn and it felt a little spooky. Walked into the hotel it had an old smell to it. The carpets were visibly dirty.The receptionist was nice.There was one other guy seem like he was there to make sure you got everything you needed for the night. Those were the only people we saw. Felt like we were the only ones in the entire hotel. You could sit and eat in the courtyard with tables and chairs also had a garden with a very small bridge to walk across. The rooftop was a little scary, furniture was old and worn out especially the floors. My husband enjoyed the wine and cheese. The room we stayed in was the Mississippi Delta. Good bed very comfortable. Shower was excellent. When we used the Jacuzzi the jet stream blew out black trash. Had to wash out 3 or 4 times before we felt safe to use it. Breakfast was nice, we were the only ones there. The Old Capitol has the right ideal but need to be renovated to update and it could be a very nice B & B hotel. I gave it a 2 only because it was gated, the breakfast was good, great shower, and comfortable bed. but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    50
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
77
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent the night at the OCI after the Jackson Restaurant Week Kick-off party. It was, as usual a fantastic experience. The clerks and staff were helpful with questions, and the views and food were wonderful.

I prefer a place with a little personality and history to a chain hotel, and this is what you get with the Old Capitol Inn. The themed rooms vary in decor and taste but they are all great. I stayed in a room with 5 shower heads and it was great for after a long day of being on my feet.

Room Tip: I really liked #9 - great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatAroundGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for my 30th birthday. Arrived and check in was simple. The room was average. My husband & I have never stayed at a B&B. Honestly this is more like a regular hotel with a continental breakfast. Our room had a small bathroom. The toilet was very close to the shower. The room had 2 TV's... Honestly the sitting area is a waste of space with the other TV. Only used the "sitting room" to iron clothes. -Pickens room-
Our view of the courtyard was obscured by a tree. One morning someone decided to take down a tent that was in the courtyard area, and instead of placing the metal poles on the ground the person decided to toss them causing the poles to make an annoying clang sound. This went on for several minutes. So much for a nice relaxing morning drinking coffee.
Another morning I was wanting to mail a post card, I went down to the front desk... Waited for quite a while until the lady sitting at the desk in the back decided to acknowledge me.. Asked here if they could mail my postcard and she just waned me to leave the post card on the counter. I would have rather performed my post card be placed in some type of tray or box so that it wouldn't get tossed to the floor. So I decided to mail it myself at the post office. She just rubbed me the wrong way, like I was an inconvenience to her and she didn't want to get up.
I'm from Texas and I guess our southern hospitality is different.
Over all the room and stay was just ok. I made the reservations over the phone and secured it with a card (normal) but my card was charged after the first night and on checkout day they had slipped a receipt under the door. I was wanting to pay cash, but my card had already been charged. Not that big of a deal, but it would have been nice to tell me that they charged my debit card instead of letting me pay cash.
All in all it was was ok. This is my personal experience. It wasn't bad, but just ok.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeggWindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was my first time in Mississippi and I couldn't ask for a better visit. The Old Capitol Inn was cozy and beautiful. The staff is extremely accommodating (the owner gave my party and I a ride in her own personal vehicle to our conference). Beds were turned down every night, clean towels every day, delicious breakfast every morning, lovely lunch served on the adorable patio. I could go on and on. I felt at home and will definitely be returning. Great hotel in a great city!

Room Tip: Check out all the historic places surrounding the hotel. Staff was very informative regarding thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathclyde, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

stayed here as part of our driving tour of southern states. The hotel is fantastic, we had designer suites as booked, and they were just perfect - except that coffee taken in the room is charged ( not a huge expense but one I feel is unnecessary ) the amenities were all there with everything thought of. The free cheese and wine are a nice touch, and the breakfast is excellent. You can eat outside on the lovely terrace if you so wish. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Jackson, there is secure gated parking at no extra charge right beside it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank G1asgowk1ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was in Jackson for just one night, for a business meeting, and chose this place because it seemed to have more charm than a chain hotel, for about the same price. I'm glad I did. It's quaint and very pleasant, and the staff were relaxed and helpful. The room was a nice blend of old-South (e.g., charming French windows overlooking the little garden out back) and appropriate updates for the modern traveler.

It's not right downtown; expect about a 15-20 minute walk to restaurants (such as they are in downtown Jackson - only a few). But I found the walk pleasant. It takes you past the rather imposing Gov's Mansion and a lot of fragrant boxwood.

It is a short cab ride to the Eudora Welty Home, which I highly recommend if you're a fan of literature. Well conserved, delightful docent, lovely garden. Eudora lived there recently enough (she passed in 2001) that you can still feel her vibe.

Breakfast was solid and featured a few Southern items - grits, tomato gravy (new for me), beignets, biscuits, etc.

All in all, a pleasant, comfortable spot. I would stay there again without even bothering to look at other options.

Room Tip: Probably quieter on the courtyard side, though I didn't experience the streetside rooms personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had no idea anything like this existed in Jackson. A wonderful B&B in the middle of downtown. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Garden area is beautiful, and the entire facility is extremely well-maintained. Wine and cheese during happy hour was really nice. Breakfast may have been the best I've ever had in a hotel anywhere. The hotel and parking area are extremely safe. May not be the best place for children -- no pool -- but other than that, this place stands head and shoulders above anything else in the city. Check out the roof top garden (with a hot tub). Really excellent hotel in every respect.

Room Tip: There are no 'bad' rooms. Several have a view of the garden area, along with a balcony; ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfbinms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
7.1 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Capitol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Capitol Inn

Property: Old Capitol Inn
Address: 226 North State Street, Jackson, MS 39201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capitol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Capitol Inn is Jackson, MS only designer boutique hotel. With 24 suites, each representing different people, places and things in Mississippi, the Inn is ideally situated downtown, minutes from the area's museums, University's, shopping, reataurants and nightclubs and State Government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Capitol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Capitol Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing