We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of my favorite spots in Jackson.”
Review of Old Capitol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Capitol Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The first time I visited this boutique hotel, I was pleasantly surprised with how quaint and comfortable the facilities were. My room is always quiet and my mornings afford a beautiful view of the courtyard. I would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Each room is different so share your needs and request descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieC662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great location, the rooms are clean and quiet ! Everything was perfect. I was able to print out my boarding pass at the business center. I had a business meeting nearby and the taxi did not show up, I was going to be late. The hotel's owner/manager dropped me there with her car. I was on time for my meeting. Incredible!

Room Tip: My room was perfect and quiet. I presume all others are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athieffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were pleased with our stay at OCI. Spacious suite, comfortable bed, gated parking, good breakfast. The main complaint I had is the cost of using the Keurig coffee maker in the room. The coffee pods were $1.50 each! And when I went to pay for it at the front desk, I was charged $2. Also, while the breakfast is good, the breakfast hours are limited. On Saturday it's served from 8-9:30. I usually eat breakfast by 7am. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank crissycurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Old Capitol Inn. Although the front desk attendant was unfriendly, the manager helped us with our luggage. Our room was lovely; the only complaint we had that there wasn't an ice machine on our floor which required us to call the front desk to have them bring us some.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Although I can't quite give Old Capitol Inn 5 stars...it deserves 4+ because though it has a couple of little quirks I don't like, I still like it well enough to come back year after year! The rooms are quite nice and the breakfast is very good. There is one good place for supper within walking distance, which I like, and the parking is gated and secure. To get that 5th star, I'd like to see them upgrade their little wine and cheese set up in the evening. It's a little skimpy and cut-rate looking. If you're going to do it, do it well! Otherwise, I like Old Capitol Inn a lot and will be back again on my next trip to Jackson!

Room Tip: Front side gives you a street and city view, back side gives you a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My nephew and his bride had their rehearsal dinner and reception at the OCI recently and members of the wedding party booked the hotel for two nights. It was a wonderful experience from the helpful friendly staff to the gourmet food and beautiful flower arrangements. I had a most memorable experience after having learned to swim at the old "Y" pool in my growing up years. The owners of the Inn have done a remarkable job in creating and boutique hotel with such creativity in depicting Mississippi in every room. My favorite was the Walter Anderson room. Thanks to everyone for the memorable experience.

Room Tip: Walter Anderson room was decorated creatively. It had a sitting room as did room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Old Capitol Inn and it felt a little spooky. Walked into the hotel it had an old smell to it. The carpets were visibly dirty.The receptionist was nice.There was one other guy seem like he was there to make sure you got everything you needed for the night. Those were the only people we saw. Felt like we were the only ones in the entire hotel. You could sit and eat in the courtyard with tables and chairs also had a garden with a very small bridge to walk across. The rooftop was a little scary, furniture was old and worn out especially the floors. My husband enjoyed the wine and cheese. The room we stayed in was the Mississippi Delta. Good bed very comfortable. Shower was excellent. When we used the Jacuzzi the jet stream blew out black trash. Had to wash out 3 or 4 times before we felt safe to use it. Breakfast was nice, we were the only ones there. The Old Capitol has the right ideal but need to be renovated to update and it could be a very nice B & B hotel. I gave it a 2 only because it was gated, the breakfast was good, great shower, and comfortable bed. but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
7.1 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#2 of 39 in Jackson
942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#3 of 39 in Jackson
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 39 in Jackson
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jackson
The Westin Jackson
#11 of 39 in Jackson
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Capitol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Capitol Inn

Address: 226 N State St, Jackson, MS 39201-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: £116 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Capitol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Capitol Inn is Jackson, MS only designer boutique hotel. With 24 suites, each representing different people, places and things in Mississippi, the Inn is ideally situated downtown, minutes from the area's museums, University's, shopping, reataurants and nightclubs and State Government buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Capitol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Capitol Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing