We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution: Don't stay on 3rd Floor! Sounds like a locomotive on the roof!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Olive Branch
Certificate of Excellence
WICHITA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Caution: Don't stay on 3rd Floor! Sounds like a locomotive on the roof!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We checked in late after a long drive. Check in was a breeze & we were in our room promptly. The décor is pretty wild, but quite chic for a HIX. Beds were nice, hotel was clean. The air conditioner thermostat on the wall was apparently not connected to the window unit & the thermostat on the unit did not work well. We had to turn it down to 66 just to maintain a temperature that varied from too hot to icy cold.

BEWARE! Do not get room 323 or likely any of the outer wing, top floors! One of the main air handling units must have been directly above us. There is almost a deafening roar like a locomotive parked on the roof. The whole room vibrates. It was vibrating fixtures, making buzzing noises it was so bad. Thank God I had my Bose noise cancelling headphones to take down the roar. If they weren't full & we weren't so tired, I would have definitely asked to be moved. Ask the front desk before getting a top floor room .

Room Tip: Beware! Sounds like a locomotive on the roof. Do not stay in room 323 or nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrinWichita_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    32
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
59
22
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
371 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A family wedding brought us to Olive Branch, Mississippi and knowing the reputation of HI Express, I looked no further than this property. Kudos all the way around, especially to Larry, the gentleman at the front desk who checked us in. He was patient, knowledgeable, and above all he was kind and made us feel right at home. Our original reservation was for 2 nights, but something came up at home requiring us to check out after only one night. He took care of everything. The young lady at the front desk the next morning (Melissa or Missy?) was equally helpful. Our room was clean and smelled fresh. What a treat to have a large King room with a large bathroom. The shower had great water pressure and was very relaxing. Towels fluffy and fresh.

Breakfast was fresh, generous and delicious. The sweet hostess greeted us with a bright smile and made sure we had everything we needed. Even the fact that the elevator was not working turned out to be an opportunity to get some extra exercise and after sitting in a car on the interstate all day getting to Olive Branch, we welcomed the extra steps walked! The staff was quick to offer to assist in transporting luggage up and down the stairs. We would definitely stay at this property again and highly recommend it to other travelers.

We did not use the pool, but it looked to be clean and was quite inviting.

Room Tip: Our room (318) was quiet and the AC kept us nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDiva001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a few Holiday Inn Express hotels as well as many others. This hotel is clean and modern with friendly staff and spacious rooms. Coffee in the lobby, fridge and microwave in the room, and a quiet air conditioner! Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My family and I were on our way to Spring Break and stopped at this hotel for a quick sleep. We arrived at midnight and I was worried we'd get the last pick of rooms. I'm not sure why, but we actually ended up with an upgrade to a suite. Bonus! The room was comfortable, clean and appeared to have been recently remodeled (as I think the entire hotel might have been). Breakfast the next morning was packed, and the person working did her best to keep up. However, we had to ask for a few things to be refilled, which she did quickly and professionally. Since we were traveling down I-55, this hotel was a little out of the way, but probably worth the extra drive considering the price and cleanliness. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very modern with a lot of nice touches. Room is decent size with desk, fridge, and microwave. Room and hotel was clean. Room entrance had a laminate looking floor which looked nice. However we constantly heard high heel shoes going over the floor above us. Breakfast was standard HIE fare. Pool is outdoors and was not open yet. Exercise room had good working equipment. Front desk person was nice but overwhelmed by 4 different people coming in at the same time. So check-in took about 15 minutes. Overall a great hotel and recommended for anyone driving through the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LathamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton City, Missouri
Level Contributor
317 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in 6 different Holiday Inn Expresses over Spring Break & this was our favorite one. The beds & pillows were comfortable in all of them, but we slept the best here. It was just homey! The decorations were awesome in the rooms, the entry, & the dining room. They were "fun." The staff was all friendly, but I have to give a shout out to the kitchen lady, Carolyn. She had a big group of people show up close to 9:30, time to quit, but instead of griping about it she did her best to get more food out. She went around making sure everyone had what they needed & she was just super sweet. I was more impressed with her generous attitude than I had been with anyone on our entire trip. The food was delicious! I wish we had more opportunities to stay in this area because without a doubt we would stay here! The price was also the lowest of all that we stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rannydef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We made the reservation late because the hotels in Memphis were all booked. This turned out to be a great choice because it's an easy drive to I-40 from there and you don't have to deal with Memphis traffic as it takes you east of the city. (We were traveling north on I-55.). The staff is very friendly. Larry checked with us after we'd checked in to make sure everything was OK. The only down side was a crying baby next door that sounded like it was in the room with us. The breakfast is the normal Express breakfast but the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olive Branch hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Olive Branch Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Olive Branch
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Olive Branch
Hampton Inn Olive Branch
#5 of 10 in Olive Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Olive Branch
Comfort Suites Olive Branch
#6 of 10 in Olive Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#8 of 10 in Olive Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Olive Branch
Comfort Inn Olive Branch
#7 of 10 in Olive Branch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch

Property: Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch
Address: 8900 Expressway Dr, Olive Branch, MS 38654-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Olive Branch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Olive Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch, minutes away from Olive Branch Business Park and three area golf courses, with easy on/off access from Hwy. 78 & 305. Our newly renovated hotel sits across the street from the Olive Branch FedEx Ground Hub and 70 miles from new Toyota site in New Albany. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will be sure to find comfort during your stay with us. Our 80-room property features our complimentary hot Express Start breakfast, wireless Internet, an outdoor pool, smart shoppe little store, many different suites, business center, fitness center an elevator and a meeting room. In all rooms - free high-speed internet, coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two phones , expanded cable television with complimentary HBO. We are 3 miles from Memphis city limits, 3 miles from Olive Branch Business Park, 6 miles from Snowden Grove Park, 10 miles from Mike Rose Soccer fields, 14 miles from Memphis International Airport, 17 miles from Graceland, and 20 miles from downtown Memphis. Other attractions include Cherokee Valley, Plantation and Wedgewood Golf Courses, DeSoto County Civic Center, Tunica Casinos, and the Tunica River Front Park. Our building is interior access which only adds to guest safety. There are restaurants within walking distance. Make your reservation today and you can be just minutes from 'walking in Memphis.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Olive Branch Hotel Olive Branch
Holiday Inn Olive Branch
Olive Branch Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing