We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Spot In Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 5 Twelve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 5 Twelve
Ranked #2 of 12 Oxford B&B and Inns
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Perfect Spot In Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were lucky to find this place on a search of tripadvisor. We were lucky to find a room free on an Ole Miss game weekend. The house is a grand ole house with a really nice porch, a lovely breakfast room and a clean, fresh room. The bed was comfortable and the complementary bottles of water were a nice touch when we arrived. The location is out of this world. It is an easy walk to the Grove and campus and even less of a walk to the square. We parked our car and barely touched it all weekend. The staff was very nice and welcoming. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will be back on our next trip to Oxford.

Room Tip: The front rooms are larger. Our room was in the back corner and smaller but still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The good stuff first: The 5-Twelve is a nice old house in a great location, with a friendly, welcoming owner and staff. It's clean and well-appointed. We had a very pleasant 2-night stay there. But the air conditioning was cranked up way too high and the bed had definitely seen better days. Most disappointing was the much-vaunted Southern breakfast, which was good but nothing special: the only things that were homemade were the scrambled eggs, and the only Southern thing we saw was the cheese grits. Still, we'd return for sure -- despite the criticisms, it's worlds better than a cookie-cutter hote.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobandJudyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

A breath of fresh air when traveling the 5 twelve offers a home away from home. A walk away from the main square and with clean beautiful sheets the 5twelve offers everything you want from a well run b & b. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were driving up from Natchez, MS to Oxford, MS on the Natchez Trace Parkway and ended up being waylaid somewhere in Alabama. This resulted us in us coming in near 11pm. We called the 5 Twelve around 8pm to let them know we were expecting to be this late - they told us that such a late arrival would be "no problem", to "drive safe" and that they'd see us soon!

Check-in was equally pleasant and thoughtful - the night manager simply handed us our keys and let us get up to bed right away (and even gave me a complementary soft drink when I came down without change in the middle of the night!).

The room itself (Room 4 I think) was gorgeous if very, very hot - the A/C seemed to be working in the toilet but we couldn't really feel it in the bedroom itself. The stand-alone fan at the foot of the bed helped out with this, though. The toiletries were top-notch!

And breakfast was delicious - we were able to sit and eat breakfast alone while watching CNN. Check out was completed within 5 minutes and we were all set to explore Oxford!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We were looking at Ole Miss as a school. Our daughter did matriculate there in the Chinese Program and in Croft. This is a great place to stay. Beds and baths were great. Internet worked. It's near the square, and you can walk to the campus. Really nice people. Love the porch rockers. We will return.

I hate to write this review, because I don't want anyone else to find out about the 512.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitttrader1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We just stayed at the 5 Twelve during a trip to Oxford for our son's college orientation at Ole Miss. I can't think of enough good things to say about this place. I only wish we could have stayed longer and spent more time there! Miss Ilene who is there at night and the mornings, and George, the owner, are two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. They were both so friendly and accommodating! The rooms (we were in rooms 1 and 4) were both beautiful and spotlessly clean. Room 1 has a king sized bed that was super comfortable, and Room 4 is smaller and had a queen sized bed but a full standing shower. Room 1 had a shower set-up in the clawfoot tub, but it was plenty big enough and tall enough for my 6'5" @ 250 lb. husband. The 5 Twelve is within easy walking distance of both the square and the University, even in the 95 degree heat! The rooms were very quiet- the inn was full while we were there but we never heard any room noise from the other rooms.

Unfortunately our activities at Ole Miss started very early each morning, so we missed Miss Ilene's breakfast, which we heard was delicious. They offered to make us an early breakfast (so kind! ) but we didn't want to put them to the trouble. We'll have breakfast the next time we stay here!

I give this place 5 A+++++, 5 stars, any superlative that you can give! Very much looking forward to our next stay there! Miss Ilene and George- thanks for all your kindness and for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: Room 1 seems to be the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uvagrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Cute little B&B just a couple blocks from the center of town. I really enjoyed Oxford most on my trip to the deep south. Helpful people at the B&B but I have to say, I was a little disappointed in the very basic breakfast. Eggs, overdone bacon, okay biscuit and fruit. Nothing to write home about and I would have rather saved my appetite for the Crystal Grill in Greenwood. But overall, a nice night in Oxford.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.4 mi away
Graduate Oxford
Graduate Oxford
#1 of 10 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Oxford
Courtyard Oxford
#5 of 10 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
22.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Batesville
Comfort Suites Batesville
#2 of 8 in Batesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Batesville
Hampton Inn Batesville
#1 of 8 in Batesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Twelve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Twelve

Property: The 5 Twelve
Address: 512 Van Buren Ave., Oxford, MS 38655
Region: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Twelve Bed and Breakfast is tucked away between the Oxford Square and the Ole Miss campus. Formerly the Oliver-Britt House, The 5 Twelve offers the quaint architecture of the old South. Once you step inside you will be greeted by a world where Southern charm meets modern comfort and elegance ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 5 Twelve Hotel Oxford
The 5 12
The Oliver Britt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing