We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and southern hospitality”
Review of The 5 Twelve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 5 Twelve
Ranked #2 of 12 Oxford B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location and southern hospitality”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

As many other reviewers, my son and I stayed here while visiting Ole Miss. We stayed in the top floor suite (a double bed, a single bed and a bathroom...along with a sitting area). You cannot beat the location of this B&B...we walked to dinner every night in the square and the streets are filled with people. Excellent and helpful staff, very clean facilities. One down side of staying on the top floor...no water pressure. No big deal, just be prepared for a bath instead of a shower. Lovely breakfast. Will stay here again many times in the coming years since my son has decided Ole Miss is the place for him.

Room Tip: parking is not an issue..plenty on the street or side of the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elecguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    16
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
40
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

We were in the suite on the third floor -- just right for a mom and two grown daughters to hang out in between walking around Oxford jaunts. It really is an easy walk to the quaint square. Ilene was gracious, friendly and served a delicious breakfast. Outstanding linens....As the title says -- just charming!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I recently stayed here, celebrating Valentine's Day with my special someone. Very nice location, right down the street from our dinner plans. Mc'Ewens. We stayed in room # 1 King bed, claw tub, very nice size room. I love the tall ceilings. This room was very clean. We were here only a night and I wish I could have stayed longer. The Owner greeted us when we got there. The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was great. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I rented out the entire facility for my April wedding in 2011. I could not be happier with the staff and all that they did to be so accommodating of my family. I highly recommend this facility to anyone who needs a place to stay in Oxford.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I would stay here again. Don't interpret the average rating as bad, it's just average. What I liked and disliked:
Good:
-Location, could not be any better. A five minute walk to "the square" and about a 10 minute walk to Ole Miss campus. Perfect.
-House: Very nice, well maintained. Common areas and rooms were clean, well maintained, and well styled.
People: Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Really were great.
Not so good:
-Room: We stayed in room 5. This is their cheapest room, so may not pertain to others. but the room was very small. Bed was not comfortable at all, soggy. The size of the room could have been overcome with strategic shelves, hooks on walls, etc. There was literally no place to put any clothes other than a small free-standing clothes rack. The bathroom was tiny and a pedestal sink and again no place to put any bathroom supplies. Simple things like a soap dish to keep the soap from sliding into the sink and a box of tissues would have been appreciated.
-Shower: Why can't hotels find decent shower heads. Like so many, this shower head was pathetic. The water pressure was also quite poor and it took about 5 minutes for the hot water to start.

In total, this B&B passed in all the critical areas, namely cleanliness and personnel. Location is amazing. If they replace the bed and add a few conveniences to the bedroom, this would be great. As is, it's average. That said, we would stay here again, given everything. May just opt for a larger room.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We were lucky to find this place on a search of tripadvisor. We were lucky to find a room free on an Ole Miss game weekend. The house is a grand ole house with a really nice porch, a lovely breakfast room and a clean, fresh room. The bed was comfortable and the complementary bottles of water were a nice touch when we arrived. The location is out of this world. It is an easy walk to the Grove and campus and even less of a walk to the square. We parked our car and barely touched it all weekend. The staff was very nice and welcoming. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will be back on our next trip to Oxford.

Room Tip: The front rooms are larger. Our room was in the back corner and smaller but still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The good stuff first: The 5-Twelve is a nice old house in a great location, with a friendly, welcoming owner and staff. It's clean and well-appointed. We had a very pleasant 2-night stay there. But the air conditioning was cranked up way too high and the bed had definitely seen better days. Most disappointing was the much-vaunted Southern breakfast, which was good but nothing special: the only things that were homemade were the scrambled eggs, and the only Southern thing we saw was the cheese grits. Still, we'd return for sure -- despite the criticisms, it's worlds better than a cookie-cutter hote.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobandJudyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.4 mi away
Graduate Oxford
Graduate Oxford
#1 of 11 in Oxford
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Oxford
Courtyard Oxford
#5 of 11 in Oxford
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Ole Miss
The Inn at Ole Miss
#1 of 2 in University
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford-West
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Twelve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Twelve

Property: The 5 Twelve
Address: 512 Van Buren Ave, Oxford, MS 38655
Region: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Twelve Bed and Breakfast is tucked away between the Oxford Square and the Ole Miss campus. Formerly the Oliver-Britt House, The 5 Twelve offers the quaint architecture of the old South. Once you step inside you will be greeted by a world where Southern charm meets modern comfort and elegance ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 5 12
The 5 Twelve Hotel Oxford
The Oliver Britt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing