We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy to be here!”
Review of Castle Hill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Hill
Ranked #10 of 12 Oxford B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“happy to be here!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in Peggy's Room at Castle Hill and were very pleased with our experience. The owners were on site and were there to make sure our experience was a good one. We had a hot breakfast provided for two of our days ~ I think as long as there is communication about what the expectations are, the owners are willing to meet them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvbeignets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Beautiful property and facilities. Guest house is not recommended. Specifically, Dixie Room is not recommended. Room is directly above owners living area. My husband and I were awakened to what sounded like furniture being moved at 5:00 a.m. followed by the owner's television (downstairs) around 6:00 a.m. No sleep! Was exhausted and had a difficult time enjoying my day because I was so exhausted due to no sleep! First time I have ever been to an establishment where soap, shampoo, etc., not provided. Make sure you bring soap, shampoo, conditioner, blow dryer, coffee cups, etc., These items were not provided. In addition, forget breakfast. Continental breakfast is yogurt and breakfast bars. Again beautiful property! As long as you are an early riser (really early) and not expecting much for breakfast, you may be satisfied. For me, considering the price, I will look for other options when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank candicep45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

So I arrive and photograph the exterior architecture, enter the place. It is freezing cold. An unkempt lady eventually emerges with a cane and says the owners are not in town. She cannot find my reservation but it is written down somewhere in pencil on the tacky bar. I ask to see the room. It is tiny, cold, and there is no place to even rest a lap top. I go downstairs and she calls the owner who proceeds to yell at me, interrupt me, and tell me I should have done more research on the internet before booking. I decide I simply cannot stay in this dungeon and the owner tells me she is going to keep my $154 deposit before I did not cancel within seven days. We finally agree on half of that amount and with great relief I exit this awful shell with almost no guests or service and drive to Memphis. I have never left a place in all my years. Stay away.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seattlepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

As one of the earlier reviewers said, there are NO hostess or really any staff here. I am from Oxford and heard a lot about how great this place was so when I came back to visit with my boyfriend, we stayed at Castle Hill. It was embarrassing to say the least. When we arrived, the owner took our card, ran it for for a very high amount, and then told us that they were leaving for a week and wouldn't be there but a house keeper would be there. There was NO breakfast for the entire week, there were no other guests for most of it, we were completely alone. The housekeeper was terrible and we had to call the owners to remind her to come to our room to clean it. When she did come, she didn't really clean. I mean, our coffee cups from the morning would still be there with trash around them but she would make the bed? It was disgusting! The room wasn't even in the main house even though we were the only guests! The bar area was open and was on the "honor system" whatever that is, as stated before NO staff, NO phones, NO breakfast (for us), NOTHING. What a waste of a building. If the family was going out of town, they shouldn't have taken our money and given us the room. Stay away, this place is a rip off and ruined our trip completely.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ayocricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killen, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was a nice experience... The owners were not in your face. The rooms were very nice and quiet and beds comfortable. The views are really nice as this place is situated on a high point. Breakfast was really nice and the hash browns were great. The pool was a lot of fun with the nephews.
Negatives were probably having to ask for towels. The location is a few miles from downtown Oxford, but it's a quick drive on hwy 6. Also, it's a bit pricy to not be downtown.

Room Tip: Peggy room was great, plenty of room, nice bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The business has recently changed hands. The facility is excellent. Located at the top of a hill with lovely views, it consists of a pillared, claasical revival main house and a separate addition in the rear. The grounds were well tended. All in all, a lovely facility. But...
We were there three days and two nights and never saw a host/hostess. There was no one there to welcome us or to answer questions. There are no phones in the room and our room did not have an alarm clock. The first night there were no bars of soap in the bathrooms. The tub was clean, but so slippery that I skipped my shower the second morning. Two bulbs were out in the chandeliers. As yet, neither my GPS nor MapQuest gave me accuate direections and there are none on the resort's website. This is a wonderful facility, and, in time, I'm certain that all these little things will be corrected.

Room Tip: All these
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fosterdog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
5.3 mi away
Graduate Oxford
Graduate Oxford
#1 of 11 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Ole Miss
The Inn at Ole Miss
#1 of 2 in University
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Z
The Z
#1 of 12 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill

Property: Castle Hill
Address: 120 Castlehill Dr, Oxford, MS 38655-7354
Region: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing