We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend getaway!”
Review of The Z

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Z
Ranked #1 of 12 Oxford B&B and Inns
Tickfaw, Louisiana
1 review
“Relaxing weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I just planned a weekend get away because it was right after the Christmas Holidays and we wanted a relaxing low key weekend. Our stay at the Z was just that. Close to the square we enjoyed dining and shopping but mostly the charming Z was the perfect place to just relax. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. I thought it was very refreshing to have the two young girls running the B&B. They were great. I definitely would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
34
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

No one was home to greet us when we arrived. Front door was open so we walked right in. Wine and cheese and cookies were on coffee table. They were expecting us . Keys to our room was on corner table. Did not meet the proprietor (Anne) until the next morning when she was preparing breakfast. A very sweet young lady.
Could have used tissues and cups in the bathroom. One of my pillows was not fresh. Bathroom was clean. Liquid bath wash was nearly empty. Good breakfast. Was spoiled the night before at the Stone House B&b in Natchez.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonardmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acz413, Owner at The Z, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Hawaiian guest! I really enjoyed getting to know you both and encourage you to go for your dream of opening a b&b of your own in Honolulu!! I would love to come back to Hawaii some day soon!! I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and were able to have a late check in order to see more of wonderful Oxford! We do complete wash and turnover every single day so I could not imagine what was on your pillow. I do wish you would have brought this to my attention immediatly and am very sorry for the inconvenience and hope to see ya'll again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband , dog and I had a relaxing stay at the Z bed& breakfast! The rooms were all so beautiful! Happy hour on the porch was very nice. Our dog redd loved it! And the breakfast was the best!!!!the Z is our place to stay each time we get up to oxford. It was a lovely weekend!
Hope, redd and christman morgan

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redd1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I'm not sure what else there is to say that hasn't already been written in other reviews, so I'll keep this brief. You're very close to The Square/downtown Oxford, but tucked away enough that you'll have a peaceful retreat when you head back to the property. You might want to splurge a little and get the Love bedroom, as it offers extra space, a king-sized bed, and a separate bathroom.

The owners Annie and Brittany, along with their father Lou, make sure your needs are accounted for throughout your stay. You might want to spend some perusing the furnishings and accoutrements, as there are many antique/historical elements to The Z. This is well beyond a typical B&B and couldn't receive a higher recommendation.

Room Tip: Love is a little bigger and has a nice-sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at The Z earlier this week. Annie, one of the two sister owners, was there to welcome us and answer all our questions and to give recommendations about Oxford. We were in the "Love" room which was well appointed and comfortable. The two breakfasts were served at our chosen time and they were great! They didn't make us feel stuffed and they were a good mix of sweet and savory.

Another advantage of The Z over standard hotels in Oxford is its location. It is easy walking distance to Oxford Square where there are many shops, restaurants, and pubs. The Z house is on a quiet residential street just one block off Lamar Avenue, the main north-south thoroughfare with lovely grand houses on it. It is nice area in which to stroll.

Oxford itself is quite charming. It appears to be truly what one thinks a college town should be like.

The best recommendation I can give is this: When we return to Oxford, we will definitely stay at The Z!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr. Pub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The home is beyond lovely, comfortable, welcoming and inviting. The sisters who run The Z were so friendly and accommodating. They both definitely have the gift of hospitality. The breakfast was exceptionally delicious and served perfectly on time.
We enjoyed the front porch for an evening glass of wine and our morning coffee. We would definitely stay here again anytime there is availability when we are in Oxford.
Touches like water in our bedroom, the white noise machine, and the robes in the closet gave you the "they thought of everything feeling".

Room Tip: We stayed in the Live Bedroom. It was very nice. The bathroom access is in the hallway or this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

For a B&B, this is a superb find as confirmed by an article in Travel & Leisure (Feb 13) and voted #1 in Oxford by locals in the 2013 best of Oxford choices! With three bedroom rooms, the commercially rehabbed house in downtown Oxford is as fresh as the day the renovation was completed more than two years ago. Owned and operated by two young recent graduates from Ole Miss (at least one majored in Hospitality Management, the other accounting) and furnished with the assistance of their mother, a noted professional interior designer from Houston, the interior is one elegant home. Our bedroom LAUGH was pristine in cleanliness, with a high-end pillow top Serta innerspring mattress, bathroom with walk-in shower with rain shower head. The linens and towels were fresh, almost new. Breakfast is a full spread, different each day--let host know of any wish or need. Six block walk to the Square with many dining choices, ample street parking, and wonderfully gracious hosts!!!! Stay at least two nights if not more to enjoy the full pleasures of The Z.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalinCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.5 mi away
Graduate Oxford
Graduate Oxford
#1 of 11 in Oxford
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Oxford
Courtyard Oxford
#5 of 11 in Oxford
36 reviews
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford-West
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Ole Miss
The Inn at Ole Miss
#1 of 2 in University
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Z? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z

Property: The Z
Address: 1405 Pierce Ave, Oxford, MS 38655-4435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks for the downtown Square and less than a mile to the Ole Miss campus and Faulkner's Rowan Oak, The Z is Oxford's premier choice for luxurious lodging. We offer a full homemade breakfast as well as a stocked vintage bar cart for your pleasure in the evenings. We are here to help with anything you may need-- no request is too big or too small. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing