We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this bookstore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Square Books

Square Books
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this bookstore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to spend a couple of hours! Bookstores like Square Books are disappearing so fast. I'm so glad to have visited this one. Left with three books, one of which I bought because of the staff review posted with the books. Loved it - would have just passed it by without having read the review.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    14
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Square Books=How bookstores should all be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

When checking out the Square in Oxford, do not miss a chance to go to Square Books and hang out, have a latte & buy a book! Cool little bookstore I always visit when I'm in Oxford visiting family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank badnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algonquin il
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing, knowledgable Staff and great book selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Wonderful, amazing, awesome Staff. Every book or author we mentioned a staff member shared a personal experience. So many authors have visited Square Books. I enjoyed seeing the photographs along the walls and buying signed books for Christmas Gifts. A must see in Oxford!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ramo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
359 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“While You're There - See the Courthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nice bookstore = YES. What's right outside the front door is a piece of history. The Oxford Courthouse sits in the middle of Oxford square. 100+ years old and I could imagine what has gone on inside there. WOW. My eye catches an interesting Confederate Monument placed by the ladies of the United Daughters of the Confederacy in 1907. Raining and cold I'm out there taking in the piece of real history. Return to the bookstore for a cup of hot tea. Brrr. 1-9-2014

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaded-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful independent book shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Great selection on books - many signed by author . It's often hard to find these kind of places anymore with Amazon taking over the world. Support this place ! It's a real gem !

Helpful?
1 Thank citygal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Square Books also viewed

 

Been to Square Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing