We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fried food but resturant needs a good clean up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cock of The WALK Restaurant

Cock of The WALK Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 148 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: World Famous U.S. Pond raised Fried Catfish!
GA,
Level Contributor
309 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good fried food but resturant needs a good clean up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

this is a reasonably good place to go. Over looks at Reservoir. Very smelly and dusty as you walk in, Decor is ancient. Only fried chicken and fried catfish are the options with corn bread, slaw, hush puppies and fries. If you like fried food this would be a place to go. Service is on tin plates and mugs. Floors and tables are sticky. Ask for a table near the window over looking the water. Views at subset are awesome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paragkarania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    64
    32
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fried Catfish, Tin Plates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

If don't like fried food, go somewhere else. But if you do, the catfish here is about as good as it gets. The restaurant overlooks the Ross Barnett Reservoir, so the view is great. This is family style dining off of tin plates, tin cups and crock-pots. Go on a week night to avoid the crowds. The place gets very crowded on Friday and Saturday night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NoCruiseControl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here probably 20 times over the years and its always consistent. The catfish, slaw, hushpuppies are so good. Be sure to try their greens, too. Very cute place, although this one seems to be dated somewhat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank breeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good catfish but don't expect the service to be as good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Went on a Saturday at 4:30 pm. The restaurant was not crowded at all. The food came quickly after we ordered and was pretty good. The problem was our waitress never came back until we were ready for our check. We had to ask for more water and my husband was never offered a refill on his small metal cup of iced tea. Good thing we didn't need extra ketchup or condiments to go with our fish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

At first I was put off, because they only serve fish or chicken. But one bite and I was sold. The food and the service was excellent. The fried pickles were great!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacy622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cock of The WALK Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cock of The WALK Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing