We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep South Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Ridgeland
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Deep South Hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Visited this property while in Jackson Mississippi for a family reunion. Check In was effortless and easy, the hotel looked relatively new but had a strange odor in the main hallway. The HOT breakfast buffett was typical micro wave fare with a waffle maker and "boiled" eggs as support.

The room was small for a suite but clean and smelled fresh. All in all this was a good stay for a night, just glad I didn't have to make this an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    51
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
59
17
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

When I tried to check in, I had to wait about 4-5 minutes while the 3 members of the staff finished their laughing, etc., in the back room. Two of the the three were exiting/leaving and indicated "someone will be with you"...Clearly, I was not the priority...their departure was the priority. Interesting enough, later that evening I tried to get a key re-keyed that would not work and sure enough...I had to roust the staff from the back room. I guess they didn't get the memo that the customer is out front...Very unfortunate. The rooms were ok, but I was turned off with worn-out furniture sitting out back. There was also garbage bags, full of garbage, just sitting out back...next to the furniture that was being rained on. Naturally, cats/animals during the night had torn open the sacks and helped themselves to the chicken bones, etc. It is clear to me that the staff believe it is ok to dump large sacks of garbage in the rear instead of putting the garbage where it belongs...in the dumpster that was 30 feet away...oh...did I mention there was another couch sitting behind the dumpster...being rained on. It's clear to me that this Residence Inn is not being managed well and the employees do those things that are comfortable for them...but not for the good of the property. I would steer clear of this poorly run facility.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcseny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
I genuinely appreciate your feedback and want to extend my sincere apology to you - our guest are top priority and so sorry that we failed you upon arrival. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can make sure that this does not happen again. The Residence Inn is in the process of replacing furniture in our suites and the couch and chair were placed outside while new ones were brought in, we had a scheduled pick up for the furniture, which required it to be out back overnight. If your travel ever brings you back to this area - I would love another opportunity to win your trust back - again I sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We almost always stay at a Residence Inn when traveling. This met one completely met our expectations. We only had two issues. The first being that we did not have a remote for the bedroom. I had to ask for it 3 different time before finally receiving one. My son wanted to hook up his 'XBox' to the television, but I was told by the front desk that we needed a 'master remote'. I asked how did I go about getting one and was informed that maintenance had it and I would have to get it from them myself. (I still don't get that one)

Those issues aside, I did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMORA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback - we genuinely appreciate you letting us know about the remote - please know that this not the norm and so sorry that the remote was not in your suite and you had to be inconvenienced - one should have been delivered to your suite. We take it personal when you stay with us and want you to know that you are always welcome! Please contact me when your travel brings you back to the Jackson/Ridgeland, MS area - I would love to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaquemine, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, 1 king, 1 queen, living area and fully equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 3 flat screened TVs. No need to have all restaurant meals, great full breakfast in the morning and we all felt right at home. Front desk staff could not have been more helpful also.

Room Tip: A little noisy at night facing the front because of basketball court, BBQ and pool so maybe a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback for the Residence Inn by Marriott - we genuinely appreciate you staying with us - You are always welcome and we would love for you to stay with us again if your travel brings you back to this area!!! Have a wonderful day and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have never received anything but the finest service at this hotel. I travel for business and am usually in this hotel at least once every month. You cannot beat the staff for making sure that you are comfortable and have everything you could possibly need for your stay. This hotel is always my 1st choice when staying in this area!!! Kudos to the Residence Inn for a top-notch establishment!!!

Room Tip: The rooms that have a fireplace are especially nice. They are in limited supply but are certainly e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lblue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I normally stay in the Pearl/Flowood area, however on this trip I needed to stay closer to Madison/Ridgeland. I had never stayed here before, but always do like the Residence Inn's and Homewood Suites when I can afford them.

The staff was SUPER friendly and nice. Made me feel very welcome and appreciated. The rooms were very spacious and clean. It was your typical Suite based hotel with living room/kitchen area and then bedroom. Internet was really great while I was there too. That's important.

Just a couple negatives that I would mention. 1) The breakfast was not very good while I was there. The eggs looked great, but were warm at best. The waffle machine was absent, but there was a space for one so maybe it was just out of order at the time. Then there were your standards, fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast. Also had grits, sausage, potato cakes and these little ham/egg English muffins. My coworker said these ham muffins were ok, basically tasted frozen then microwaved. Every place has bad days, so I wouldn't let this truly impact your decision.

2) The shower rod was one of those curved rods and they had installed it backwards in my opinion as the curved part bowed into the shower thereby making the shower smaller and the bathroom bigger in appearance. I think it was just my room that was like that b/c my coworkers was installed the other way he said. That just really bugged me though as my shower felt small and cramped.

3) And finally, the soft water. This is a common thing in Jackson and not Residence Inn's fault. I've not determined where the line is between what parts of town have this problem and which parts don't. Soft water is a huge annoyance for me, I feel like I can never get the soap off my body.

Negatives aside, I loved this hotel and I will most likely stay here again. I will though continue my search for a nice hotel that doesn't have the soft water issue in Jackson.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

When we last stayed here it was dirty but several months had gone by and it is very convenient, so we tried it again. My fault. The room was even dirtier and in worse condition so we gave the front desk person a written list of the problems as we went out with family on Sat. AM. When we returned nothing had been touched, there was dust everywhere the carpets had not been vacuumed and the worn furniture remained. I won't stay here again. Fortunately there are many choices nearby

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your suite and I appreciate you letting us know. I want to apologize for this experience you had - We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider giving us another opportunity by staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ridgeland hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Jackson Ridgeland
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Jackson/Ridgeland
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Jackson/Ridgeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Jackson
Staybridge Suites Jackson
#13 of 16 in Ridgeland
57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Jackson - North/Ridgeland
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Jackson Ridgeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland

Property: Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland
Address: 855 Centre St, Ridgeland, MS 39157-4502
Region: United States > Mississippi > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Ridgeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland Hotel Ridgeland
Residence Inn Ridgeland
Ridgeland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing