We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, disappointing amenities, over-charging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Ridgeland
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad service, disappointing amenities, over-charging”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was booked to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Ridgeland, MS for nearly a month, by my company, on a business trip.
First, this hotel is not meant for long term stay. Its rooms, amenities and facilities are not meant to withstand more than 1-2 days of stay. Anything beyond that, and large cracks begin to show in the hotel's service and lack of conveniences. In any case, the bad experience I had at the hotel forced me to move out in 5 days.
1. Even though my company had paid in advance for my stay with a corporate card, the hotel staff insisted on me giving my credit card "for incidental expenses". Like a fool I did. And subsequently, the hotel double charged me! Every day, they debited the room charge from my personal card even though they were already debiting it from my corporate card. I must have spoken to 5 people, called dozens of times, reminded them numerous times, and all they said was "sorry, we'll reverse the transactions". Till today, the transactions have not been reversed.

2. The room entry card swipe system would break down every evening! I'd come back from work, swipe my card, and it wouldn't work. I'd have to go down to the reception and have the card reset. On one day, the staff had to call a janitor to to try to jimmy open my room door because it wouldn't open, even with the master key!

3. The breakfast spread was pathetic. No self-respecting guest would eat there for more than a day. Powdered juices, diabetes-inducing pastries, runny eggs, bad coffee, foul smelling milk - in addition to the usual assortment of fruit and pre-packaged cereal. The hotel called it "continental". I call it an insult.

4. Poorly equipped gym. With 2 treadmills and an elliptical. No weights. No multi-gym. Nothing. And the hotel claimed that they had recently refurnished it. I shudder to think what it was before it was refurnished.

5. Flaky wifi internet. As a business traveler, I depend on wifi internet a great deal. At the HIE, the internet would be broken down when I returned in the evening. Even when it was running, the strength of the connection in my room was flaky.

6. Even until the day I left, the manager (Kim) had not turned up to talk about refunding the illegal transactions. That speaks volumes about the place. The evening I checked out, Jasmon at the reception, was very apologetic and offered a free night. My only thought was "yeah, so that you can debit me for one more night?" The poor girl was probably trying to redeem the hotel's ruined reputation, but too much went wrong for that to work.

The only good thing about this place was the friendliness of the staff. Unfortunately, all the friendliness in the world doesn't fix the issues. I would't stay there again. Indeed, I wouldn't stay at any Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear kunalashar,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We have sent you a private message to address your concerns further.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    20
    21
    14
    12
See reviews for
24
8
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel, but I was disappointed. We had a 2-queen bed suite which was definitely spacious, but there were lighting and cleanliness issues. The suite had two rooms, and the first room was extremely dark, so dark it would be useless to try to read while sitting on the sofa. The bathroom with toilet and tub was also very dim. The tub was very clean, however. One thing I noticed was that the carpet had lint all over it even in the hallway. The carpet appeared new, but needed vacuuming. There was a used roll of toilet paper on the floor by the bed, and there appeared to be a "booger"-looking object on the bed which I flicked off.

The breakfast was fine with the hot cinnamon rolls. All in all, though, I don't know that I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arewenotmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear arewenotmen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see you enjoyed the breakfast. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The lobby and breakfast area very nice. The breakfast attendant was very efficient and pleasant! Would be nice to be able to open window in room for fresh air, but they were bolted shut. Again, room clean, but needs refreshing. We would stay here again due to access of restaurants and interstate.

Room Tip: Ask for room opposite interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here as we were passing through town. The room was clean the beds were comfortable. They had soft and firm pillows on the bed which was very nice. The tv was big and had lots of Chanel's to chose from. Our room had a couch and extra bedding in the closet. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good. The rest of our trip was spent in another hotel and our kids said multiple times that they wish that we were staying in this hotel for our trip.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martyinstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Relatively clean, though not the cleanest room I've ever stayed in. Breakfast was hot, though pancakes were not available (this is negligible). Here's the important thing: the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. Only thing that I think could be improved is placing some furniture outside by the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a great one night stay on our way to Texas. The staff was super friendly and helpful and offered lemonade and snacks when we checked in. The fitness room was great and the morning breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachBelle8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay here with us. Your great comments have been passed onto the staff and we are constantly working to ensure our guests have a great stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,
Kimberly Monk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We arrived late on a Friday night after driving all day from Houston to attend a wedding the next day. We are IHG Platinum members and expected the usual quick check-in and complimentary upgrade, instead we waited for 20 minutes to get checked in, only to get to our room and find the most foul shower we have EVER seen in a hotel room. Prison showers are cleaner. So we called down to the desk and asked to be relocated to a room with a clean shower. 40 minutes later around 12:30 a.m. we were finally moved to another room.
I will say that the new room was much nicer. The employee who relocated us told us to make sure we got extra points for the inconvenience when we checked out. At checkout the same employee was working the desk. We asked about the points, and she informed us she didn't know how to do the points, so we would have to wait until the manager came in if we wanted them...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amc0039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Amc0039,

Thank you for your feedback and for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Elite. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and the bathroom condition which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ridgeland hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Jackson Ridgeland
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Jackson/Ridgeland
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Jackson
Staybridge Suites Jackson
#13 of 16 in Ridgeland
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Jackson Ridgeland
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Jackson - North/Ridgeland
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Ridgeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area
Address: 6485 Frontage Rd., Ridgeland, MS 39157 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Ridgeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area Hotel Ridgeland
Comfort Suites Ridgeland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing