We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springfest”

Snowden Grove Amphitheater
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Southaven
Attraction details
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Springfest”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This whole complex is fantastic. Ball fields, amphitheater, park, convenient location. Big name performers and one of the best BBQ contests early in the year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    3
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“too many people, too little space”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I recently attended the Dave Matthews Band show at this venue. Like the previous reviewer I agree it could have been great. Unfoutunately it was way over crowded. I have seen DMB over a dozen times. I know what the crowd will be before I even get there. Concessions were limited at best, long, long, lines for beer, snacks were limited and bathroom lines were ridiculous. Our seats however were great. Clear view during the whole concert except for the time the police officer chose to let his "friends/girlfriends" stand infront of our seats in the isleway. Security guard asked him to clear the walkway yet they remained. We had friends that had 10 row seats and couldn't see because of the people standing all along the front of the stage. These people did not have front row tickets but were allowed to stand in front of fans that had numbered front row seats. Don't quite understand that. They were there for the entire show. The GA seats were a joke. No room to breath much less enjoy the show. Someone told us that the gate between the Springfest Midway and the ampitheater was left open and about 1000 people came in before the security people realized that. Not confirmed but may explain the overcrowding. Probably won't go back to this venue. Not even for Dave

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank workhardtraveloften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way too crowded”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I bought tickets to the DMB show in April. My tickets were for the lawn area, which is a first come first serve area. I understood that when I bought the tickets. What I didn't realize, was that they oversold the venue.

According to the venue's website, their capacity is 11,000.
"Today, the Snowden Grove Amphitheater has 4,000 fixed seats in the lower part of the amphitheater bowl with additional capacity for up to 7,000"

Source: http://snowdengroveamphitheater.com/about_us/

When asked on Twitter, the venue stated that the fire marshall upped the maximum safe capacity to 12,200, so that was how many tickets they sold.

Unfortunately, this venue has yet to learn the difference between "Maximum safe capacity" and "Number of Patrons that the infrastructure can support" or "Number of Patrons that can enjoy the show."

As far as infrastructure: All the lines (bathroom, beer, etc) were 30-45 minutes long. It just wasn't built to serve that large a number of patrons.

Bottom line: As long as Snowden Grove Ampitheater continues to book events to its maximum safe capacity, it will be way too crowded to enjoy a show.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nmh6302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They sold way more tickets than they had space.”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

This is what happens when a small town venue gets blinded by greed.

I could have dealt with the long lines (30 minutes) to use the restroom.
I could have dealt with the long lines (30 minutes) for beer.
I could have dealt with the mud everywhere.

But paying for two tickets, and realizing they overbooked the venue? That was more than I could handle.

Really wish I had travelled further to a REAL venue with adequate room. Really hated to miss DMB, but I left before they hit the stage. I wish I had read some of these reviews before I bought my tickets.

The worst part: if they (the venue) hadn't been blinded by greed, this could have been an awesome experience.

My prediction: Snowden Grove will quickly gain a reputation of the place to stay away from. They had a chance to impress me: I won't be going back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 79richland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Concerts sound really good in this amphitheater. Newer facility with great restrooms and concessions.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 930Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snowden Grove Amphitheater also viewed

 

Been to Snowden Grove Amphitheater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing