We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely Worth Staying the Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Southaven
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth Staying the Night”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

This Holiday Inn is like Paradise in the middle of a busy area. It is hidden, but that is a plus because it is not very far from a great shopping and restaurant area.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Check in went smoothly. The staff assured me if I needed anything they would be more than happy to get it for me.

The room was clean and smelled fresh and there was not a hint of smoke!!! That was a PLUS!!!! The bed was very comfortable and the crisp white sheets were nice. It is apparent the staff takes pride in the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Southaven, MS.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    58
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
58
38
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Located in an area of light industrial businesses and distribution centers, the Holiday Inn Memphis-Southaven may not be the best place for those seeking fast access to the Beale Street entertainment district. But for someone like me, who was just passing through and seeking a location close to the highway--with lots of restaurant options and free parking--this place more than fit the bill. And the sights of Memphis are only 15 minutes or so away.
This particular Holiday Inn is one of a new generation of hotels, with flat-screen, high-definition TVs, high-quality bath products, great beds and a modern look throughout. It is a great value when compared with 90's-era, tired-looking Hamptons and Courtyards.
I definitely heard the air traffic, but it wasn't loud enough to keep me awake. I can't comment about the poor reviews of the restaurant since I didn't try it, but there are a bunch of other places close by.
My final comment is that, though it's a brand-new hotel, it was built on the cheap, as many of these pre-fab buildings are. Things are already starting to come apart (e.g. the shower walls). But as long as the management keeps up with the maintenance, it should remain a good option for this part of the Memphis area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The hotel was nice, clean, well maintained and the few times that I had a problem, they were handled at once.

My only regret was that, on the third (3rd) night I was there, a rowdy group of teenagers moved into the room across from me and kept me up till 1:00 a.m.

When I complained, I was graciously moved, HOWEVER, when a guess is being disturbed, it should have been them who was moved, not me.

Or, as a Priority Club Member, I should have at least been upgraded.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gislle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southaven, MS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This is a great new, modern and clean full service hotel. A great pace to stay near the airport. I also really like the way Holiday Inn has updated many of their older hotels. I stay at Hampton Inn when I'm in smaller cities and don't mind driving out at night for dinner but when I'm in a big city it is nice to stay at a Holiday Inn because I can get a good meal at the hotel and the accomodation costs are reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This relatively new hotel in the Southaven area is as attractive as most in Memphis. Contemporary earth tones and metallics throughout this modern hotel make for a very pleasing stay. In addition to this eye candy, a bar with happy hour, comfy beds, nice desks and huge walk-in showers in some of the rooms make this hotel a travelers' delight. The staff was also very friendly.

Holiday Inn Southaven is located in the heart of Southaven's restaurant and shopping epicenter. Strategically placed just off Airways Blvd., the hotel is a quick and easy drive from Memphis International Airport. Concerning the airport overhead traffic mentioned in nearly every review, our stay was on a Saturday night; and no air traffic was heard. As a former resident of Southaven, I know that all hotels in the better part of Southaven are in the flight path of the airport; overhead air travel is very hard to avoid in this area.

The only negatives that I experienced were no wake-up call as requested and the desk clerk failed to mention that my room only had a walk-in shower.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcdato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens,GA
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Yes lots of fedex planes fly overhead, but they are not a distraction in the room. Hotel is new and clean. Front desk appears overwhelmed at times, but friendly and eager to help.
Walls are quite thin so noisy neighbors are a real problem if you have kids trying to sleep.
Restaurant food is average but staff was great, especially Nancy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson,MS
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and each time the stay has gotten worse. First off....the location away from the interstate and main roads is nice but they fail to tell you that you are right in line with Memphis International so the Fed Ex planes are coming in one after the other late at night which makes sleep difficult. Secondly..each time I've stayed I had to call down for a blanket,alarm clock,etc...each time was in the evening and it took a good while to get these items. The last time I had to go down to the desk after a period of long waiting for a blanket fo find what looked like to be a manager texting on her phone and said "oh sorry I was about to bring your blanket". I'm a platinum member and asked for an upgrade this last time and the female desk clerk said there are none available at this time but yet the parking lot was empty. Come to think of it the parking lot has been empty each time I've stayed. Guess that should have told me. Overal it's a nice hotel as far as the layout and design but between the planes all night long and the general careless attitude of the front desk I will not go back and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southaven hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Memphis Southaven
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis - Southaven
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Memphis - Southaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 17 in Southaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis Southaven
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis Southaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southaven - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southaven - Central

Property: Holiday Inn Southaven - Central
Address: 280 Marathon Way, Southaven, MS 38671-9554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Southaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southaven
#3 Business Hotel in Southaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southaven - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is just minutes off I-55 at exit 289. Located just one block off of Goodman Road in one of the most thriving areas of Southaven. We are just 15 minutes from downtown Memphis for all the area attractions or the Memphis International Airport. Quiet location with clean comfortable accommodations. All rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, coffee service, HD TV and complimentary internet service that are fast and reliable. We have a restaurant and lounge on site, indoor pool, two outdoor patios, and lots of parking. No fees for parking. Parking lot can accommodate large vehicles. Our friendly staff is waiting to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Southaven - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central Hotel Southaven
Southaven Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Memphis Southaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing