We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scienceworks for Kids and no so kids”
Review of Scienceworks

Scienceworks
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Spotswood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scienceworks makes science an adventure! Through our changing exhibitions, programs and shows, Scienceworks is the perfect day out for curious minds and active bodies! Inside: Imagine tomorrow today in the interactive and innovative Think Ahead exhibition; Take the sporting challenge and learn about the science behind moving your body; Designed especially for 3 - 8 year olds create your own city in Nitty Gritty Super City exhibition; Journey to the stars and beyond at the Melbourne Planetarium; Learn about electricity and lightning through spectacular demonstrations in the Lightning Room; Go on a guided tour of the historic Spotswood Pumping Station; Discover the evolution of Spotswood in the Spotswood Industrial Heritage Walk (mobile tour), and that's just start!
Caulfield South
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scienceworks for Kids and no so kids”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great variety of interesting displays for normal people and nerds alike. Visitor participation in various experiments and mind challenging tests. Separate presentations are added costs and booking early on line is the trick. Good value for money although sometimes ear plugs would be suggested as there will be plenty of noisy and enthralled kids running about the venue.
Cruised from Southbank on Yarra Cruises, arrive at Science works dock and walk 5 minutes thus escaping the traffic in and around Melbourne.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    210
    50
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaumaris, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Scienceworks was a very pleasant surprise. We've been to too many overpriced, under wheeling family theme parks and attractions. Scienceworks is priced right and has so many varied interactive and genuine learning activities for the kids.

The fact hunt was our favourite today and made us and the kids explore parts of Scienceworks that we might not have seen.

Well worth the drive over the West Gate.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific fun for the kids”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had high hopes for Scienceworks before we arrived and it lived up to my expectations. Our kids loved all the interactive activities, and even learned a thing or two along the way without even realising it ;) It's great how they have a few different areas (eg sports, the future, nitty gritty super city), that way there is something for all ages. We saw the Tycho show in the Planetarium which was good fun, and appreciated the star mapping they showed after the movie as it makes it suitable for both young and slighter older (mid-primary school) kids.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Von260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Scienceworks”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Whole family loved it. Especially the Planetarium and the Tycho Movie and the Lighting Room. Although both the children had to leave the room during the lightening demonstration as they found it noisy and a little scary. So Lightening Room is best for older children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie_Deering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kids' Heaven, Parents' nightmare during school holidays”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I am sure this place must be great during off peak periods so I am giving it 4 stars based on on how good it would be as an attraction for kids on a normal day.

This was my first time taking the kids. I would avoid during school holidays like now. It's a madhouse. They do not have enough staff during such a busy period. I've never seen so many kids in a small place.

The Nitty Gritty City which is supposed to be catered for ages 3-6 should have had staff on site to ensure it is so. There were too many older kids in this busy area making it quite difficult for the little ones to play safely, bulldozing them over.

Far too crowded to cover everything with the little ones - I had 3 kids ages 3,4 and 5 with me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheba31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scienceworks also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Scienceworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing