We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your kids will love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scienceworks

Scienceworks
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Spotswood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scienceworks makes science an adventure! Through our changing exhibitions, programs and shows, Scienceworks is the perfect day out for curious minds and active bodies! Inside: Imagine tomorrow today in the interactive and innovative Think Ahead exhibition; Take the sporting challenge and learn about the science behind moving your body; Designed especially for 3 - 8 year olds create your own city in Nitty Gritty Super City exhibition; Journey to the stars and beyond at the Melbourne Planetarium; Learn about electricity and lightning through spectacular demonstrations in the Lightning Room; Go on a guided tour of the historic Spotswood Pumping Station; Discover the evolution of Spotswood in the Spotswood Industrial Heritage Walk (mobile tour), and that's just start!
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Your kids will love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Short train ride to spotswood (15 min) from city, then 10 minute walk to location. It's located in an industrial area but wow when you enter it's like another world! My children did not want to leave! Everything is hands on, 3 levels of science, fun, interaction and the highlight was the planetarium movie! Loved this place, so worth a visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fivestarplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    208
    49
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't go in school holidays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Scienceworks, visiting from interstate. I took my 4 children, ages 5-12.
While it would appear there are lots of activities to do, the place was overrun by out of control, pushy children. So aside from waiting for some time to have a go on the different activities, it was very difficult to experience most of the exhibits.
The outside amphitheatre had rubbish lying everywhere - apparently it's too difficult for people to put their rubbish in the bin (my children spent 5 mins cleaning up other people's rubbish).

Helpful?
Thank joesweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small but complete”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I went to this museum for my trip to Melbourne. I took a train to Spotswood from Southern Cross and walked about 15 minutes. I arrived after 2pm which means I missed the lightning show and thd planetarium. However the exhibitions inside are wonderful. Its relatively high tech but allows a lot of hands-on interaction. I would come here again to see the lightning show and planetarium.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Budleee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
425 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“A Must for Children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Absolute must for children. Lots of interesting activities that will keep children occupied. Interactive and fun, never gets bored for them. Definitely worth the travelling out of the city centre.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank highfever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Melbourne must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A wonderful interactive informative affordable day out - supposedly designed for children but our teen and us adults also learnt a lot, and enjoyed having a go at the many challenges. A small downside was that at times we were overrun by school parties who were not always under control. But great to see the young and older enjoying this wonderful asset.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scienceworks also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Scienceworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing