We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for the traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good choice for the traveller”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great price, fantastic staff, well maintained and clean room make this a top pick. Their pancakes chime was down during my stay.....bummer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    29
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
38
11
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My fiance and I were on vacation visiting some old friends of ours at MSU, we stayed for 3 days and asked time after time to get our room serviced and was told by the manager he would have them cleaned when we get back from dinner we arrive to a dirty room we called down and said we would get a 50% refund the following day and that they apologized for the inconvenience . Next day comes and the day manager says we would not be getting a 50% refund rather 10% . Pretty embarrassed when friends arrived n the floors had not been vaccumed or sheets changed . No microwave, refrigerator just a basic room with 10 channels. I highly advise you NOT to go here . We are currently looking for another hotel in starkville .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chass4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Chass4101,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I deeply apologize that your room accommodation and the service that you received during your stay fell below your expectations. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed here for a week for a class for my job. It is 5 minutes from Missisissipi State U. My room was nice on the third floor. Decor was muted neutral with lots of outlets and good lighting. King bed was comfortable and firm with a light blanket and plenty of pillows. They have digital thermostats to control the air. The bath lighting was a little dark away from the mirror but plenty of room to spread out toiletries on the granite countertop. They give you plenty of bath gel, lotion, conditioner, etc. but no shower cap, so bring it if you need it. There is a "rain" style shower with good pressure (pull all the way up!). There is no free happy hour at the hotel anymore, but they have a hot breakfast bar with eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, and healthy stuff too. I always took mine to my room so I could watch TV. There is a coffeemaker in the room, hairdryer, iron and board. The wireless internet worked well. Pool gets lots of sun in afternoon. I didn't use the health club, just went walking around the area. There are lots of chain restaurants in the area, 3 in the parking lot. The only thing I did not like was no refrigerator or microwave. I did have a cooler, but running to get ice all the time does get old.
The maids were nice and did a good job. I asked for a later checkout at the front desk and they gave me some extra time so I could come back and change clothes for the trip back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are closer to breakfast, pool, health club, etc. I liked being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have stayed previously at this hotel. It is in close proximity to the University. Staff is friendly; breakfast is typical HI Express breakfast, but good and plenty of it. Rooms are nice and big. Rooms temperature controlled by wall thermostat. Comfortable bed. Internet access, slightly slow. Within walking distance of Wendy's, Ruby Tuesday's; Arby's.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room that is away from the elevator and the ice machine! I like quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alagranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed in the hotel for work for over a month and during that time the hotel was under construction. My room was what I had asked for and I was away from most of the construction and while it did not cause any intruption in my sleep however I did find that my room had been entered on a few occasions even when my DO NOT DISTRUB sign was hanging on the door. It seems they were enterting the room during the day to replace the TV and furniture. The staff was very nice and if I had a complaint they tended to it immediately. I did like the fact that there is Ruby Tuesdays in the parking lot. Overall I would stay again after all the construction is done.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel to see if they are still under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelife40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Delayed for check-in, stressed-looking staff-when finally given our room at 7PM-after walking through hallways of construction debris, uncovered electrical outlets, waste baskets overflowing, nails, screws and sheetrock dust everywhere-We were sort of sickened by the sight of our "unprepared" room. It had obviously been overlooked and was definitely not ready for already delayed check-in. The front desk staff rallied to our complaint and tried to get the room in shape by getting to "very disgruntled" room attendants to do-up the room. Sans towels, sans waste baskets. Fixings to make coffee but no pot. By the time we came back from dinner--we were too tired to ask for any more hospitality. And the room phone did not work anyway. If it had been a cheap motel we might have expected this. Shocking for a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seacatg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Seacatg0,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize for the experience you had
during your stay. You are right, this is not the type of quality or service you should expect
from a Holiday Inn Express. I would like to discuss this further. I have sent you a private email in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, MS
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

When we arrived for a weekend stay, we arrived to the hotel being under complete construction. Our reservations were wrong. We were supposed to have a mini suite (3 people staying), and arrived to a King bed only, standard room. The staff was SO accommodating and did comp a second room for us. Each room had a major flaw. My parents room, the shower was complete. My room the heat didn't work and I didn't have a phone. In my aunt and uncles room, the microwave wasn't put together. Once again, the staff was phenomenal to try and make our stay as nice as possible despite the circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
sasieber,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#3 of 13 in Starkville
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#4 of 13 in Starkville
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Address: 110 B Highway 12 West, Starkville, MS 39759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Starkville
#6 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search no more, the Holiday Inn Express University Center is the premier hotel for travelers to the Starkville/ Mississippi State University area. We are a 100% non smoking hotel. The only one in Starkville. Located 1/4 mile from Mississippi State University and 1.25 miles from the Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Every over-sized room has a large work desk with two phones and data ports and we offer high-speed wireless Internet. Every room is equipped with hair dryers, irons/ ironing boards, and coffeemakers. We offer valet service Mon-Fri and free breakfast is served 7 days a week featuring: fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereals, waffles, danish, omelets, bacon and fresh coffee and juices are included daily. We also offer a free social hour Mon-Thurs from 5PM - 7PM. We have popcorn, beer, iced tea and more. Our full service business center is available 24 hrs a day. We also have 22 suites. Each suite has a living area attached to the sleeping room, a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, place settings and a sleeper sofa. Restaurant/ bar on site. We offer reduced rates for extended stay guests. We also have free health club passes and a fitness center on site. Award winning hotel with Wifi wireless. Only 1.25 miles from Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Pets allowed with a $50 non-refundable deposit. Special event weekends require a two night min (Fri and Sat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Starkville, Ms
Holiday Inn Express Starkville
Holiday Inn Starkville
Starkville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing