We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, but Average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Location, but Average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel is your stereotypical Holiday Inn Express. Nothing amazing about the location.

Pros:

Rooms are Spacious
Comfortable Bed
Nice TV
Great Location near MSU
Staff will bend over backwards for you! So Nice and Engaging.

Cons:
The Workout Room is very OLD! Needs Updating.
Breakfast was decent..
Carpet on floor was crazy dirty!


I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    26
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
10
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel is lovely, new looking. Friendly staff. Lovely lobby area and breakfast area. My only complaint is the internet connection is horrible and slow. Other than that, would highly recommend. Just don't plan on using your computer much!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruiseAgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Louisiana
Level Contributor
282 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Stated in room 328 the lumpiness bed I ever slept in. Man throw that thing inthe dumpster. The staff was nice and helpful. Good location near everything. Room was nice and clean. But that bed was terrible.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelFussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear MichaelFussell,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the bed and the air conditioning unit. Whilst, we appreciate you bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great price, fantastic staff, well maintained and clean room make this a top pick. Their pancakes chime was down during my stay.....bummer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My fiance and I were on vacation visiting some old friends of ours at MSU, we stayed for 3 days and asked time after time to get our room serviced and was told by the manager he would have them cleaned when we get back from dinner we arrive to a dirty room we called down and said we would get a 50% refund the following day and that they apologized for the inconvenience . Next day comes and the day manager says we would not be getting a 50% refund rather 10% . Pretty embarrassed when friends arrived n the floors had not been vaccumed or sheets changed . No microwave, refrigerator just a basic room with 10 channels. I highly advise you NOT to go here . We are currently looking for another hotel in starkville .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chass4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Chass4101,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I deeply apologize that your room accommodation and the service that you received during your stay fell below your expectations. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed here for a week for a class for my job. It is 5 minutes from Missisissipi State U. My room was nice on the third floor. Decor was muted neutral with lots of outlets and good lighting. King bed was comfortable and firm with a light blanket and plenty of pillows. They have digital thermostats to control the air. The bath lighting was a little dark away from the mirror but plenty of room to spread out toiletries on the granite countertop. They give you plenty of bath gel, lotion, conditioner, etc. but no shower cap, so bring it if you need it. There is a "rain" style shower with good pressure (pull all the way up!). There is no free happy hour at the hotel anymore, but they have a hot breakfast bar with eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, and healthy stuff too. I always took mine to my room so I could watch TV. There is a coffeemaker in the room, hairdryer, iron and board. The wireless internet worked well. Pool gets lots of sun in afternoon. I didn't use the health club, just went walking around the area. There are lots of chain restaurants in the area, 3 in the parking lot. The only thing I did not like was no refrigerator or microwave. I did have a cooler, but running to get ice all the time does get old.
The maids were nice and did a good job. I asked for a later checkout at the front desk and they gave me some extra time so I could come back and change clothes for the trip back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are closer to breakfast, pool, health club, etc. I liked being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have stayed previously at this hotel. It is in close proximity to the University. Staff is friendly; breakfast is typical HI Express breakfast, but good and plenty of it. Rooms are nice and big. Rooms temperature controlled by wall thermostat. Comfortable bed. Internet access, slightly slow. Within walking distance of Wendy's, Ruby Tuesday's; Arby's.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room that is away from the elevator and the ice machine! I like quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alagranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#4 of 13 in Starkville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#3 of 13 in Starkville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Address: 110 B Highway 12 West, Starkville, MS 39759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Starkville
#6 Family Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search no more, the Holiday Inn Express University Center is the premier hotel for travelers to the Starkville/ Mississippi State University area. We are a 100% non smoking hotel. The only one in Starkville. Located 1/4 mile from Mississippi State University and 1.25 miles from the Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Every over-sized room has a large work desk with two phones and data ports and we offer high-speed wireless Internet. Every room is equipped with hair dryers, irons/ ironing boards, and coffeemakers. We offer valet service Mon-Fri and free breakfast is served 7 days a week featuring: fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereals, waffles, danish, omelets, bacon and fresh coffee and juices are included daily. We also offer a free social hour Mon-Thurs from 5PM - 7PM. We have popcorn, beer, iced tea and more. Our full service business center is available 24 hrs a day. We also have 22 suites. Each suite has a living area attached to the sleeping room, a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, place settings and a sleeper sofa. Restaurant/ bar on site. We offer reduced rates for extended stay guests. We also have free health club passes and a fitness center on site. Award winning hotel with Wifi wireless. Only 1.25 miles from Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Pets allowed with a $50 non-refundable deposit. Special event weekends require a two night min (Fri and Sat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Starkville, Ms
Holiday Inn Express Starkville
Holiday Inn Starkville
Starkville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing