We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, odd rules”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Starkville
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Beautiful lobby and breakfast area. We were expecting an amazing place. We asked about AAA discount and were told they could not offer that as they were almost filled up. Never heard that excuse before. We were tired and Hampton was full. So we paid full price. Nice room, loved the pool. Good breakfast.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelli M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Lisa W,
We are always honored when a Top Contributor takes the time to review our hotel and share their comments … thank you so much! We are pleased
you enjoyed many of the great things about our unique hotel like the hot breakfast, spacious suite rooms and great social space in the lobby and breakfast
room. We truly appreciate your concern about the AAA discount and want to assure you that the hotel had closed out all discounts as we were almost sold
out. This is a very common practice in our industry and the only type of circumstance that a discount, such as AAA, would not be available. We are pleased
we were chosen to accommodate your stay and look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Starkville.
Sincerely,
Kelli Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here last weekend to visit Mississippi State Univ, as we have several times in previous years. Location is great for access to the university. The front desk staff was still extremely helpful; you couldn't ask for better service. But, the room we were in definitely needed some TLC.
Nothing horrid, not even enough to make you want to change rooms, just lots of little things. There was a large crack at the top of the shower, an ugly repair to the tile on the side of the tub near the floor, the tub didn't drain well, the bedskirt on one of the beds was almost totally ripped across the bottom at the seam, there was a stain on the wall by the bed, plus numerous black scuff marks behind the luggage bench.
I was disappointed, since we've had such good experiences in the past.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clrHuntsville_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelli M, Manager at Comfort Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your concerns regarding your last stay with us! We appreciate your continued loyalty and we hope to make your next stay with us more enjoyable. I have spoken with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Staff about the problems you experienced with your room and have taken the necessary steps in preventing these problems from happening in the future. As always, we are committed to your satisfaction and strive to make each guest's experience enjoyable and pleasant. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us. Please reach out to me if you have any questions! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed three nights here on business. Third floor suite with a couch, desk, Wi Fi, frig/micro. Staff was wonderful. Plenty of variety at breakfast. Nice location. Fairly quiet. Got the Internet rate, which was really low.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherylsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Seriously. We were to stay for a week, and the room was infested by fire ants. They got my 3-year-old daughter, who had recently broken her arm and the ants got under her cast. The offer? An apology and snacks or soda. Then they offered to let us borrow their Raid. I asked them to spray while we were out and we came back to a room with other bugs crawling out, including a scissor tail bug and a roach. Got pictures to prove it. We left.

Room Tip: We were in room 230; don't know if it's only case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThePav35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelli M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear ThePav35,
I am so thankful I had the chance to beware of this matter while you were a guest at the hotel. We truly apologize for the experience you incurred and have addressed this matter with our contracted service. I am also thankful that my staff called our contracted service to treat your room and offered your family another suite to ensure your comfort. Please understand this was a highly unusual circumstance and may be due to the warmer weather, but either way, our guests and their satisfaction is our number one priority. Please contact me directly when you will be back in Starkville and allow us to host you for a night and show you a much better experience.

Sincerely,
Kelli Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a couple of times while attending the Mississippi Bulldog Horse Show. Overall not a bad place to stay. Spend 3 nites and only got room cleaned once. They would bring in towels but didn't make up bed.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelli M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Chey12,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We truly value the feedback of our guests and want to apologize for not meeting your expectation while a guest of our hotel.
We respect the personal belongings that each guest brings into the hotel and do our best to work around personal belongings when left on the bed. We truly apologize you did not receive a freshly made bed on days of your stay. I have addressed this detail with housekeeping and have devised a plan to prevent this from happening again. Your review was most instrumental in the development of this plan and training with my team.
We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for service and want all of our guests to leave with our great hospitality as their last thought of our hotel. Please let us know when you will be in Starkville again and allow us to be of service once again!

Thank you,

Kelli Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times, never disappointed. It is always spotless, the beds comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming. The rooms are a generous size. Even with two queen beds and a comfortable pull out sofa there is plenty if room to walk around. They welcome dogs, but you would never know it unless you happened to see a dog. The rooms never smell like "dog" and we have never seen signs for pets, like stains. Even the area you walk your dog is clean too. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leighof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Nice hotel but breakfast was not what reservationist said about it. Scrambled eggs just ok. No toast--no bread out either morning. Sorry--I can't eat a hard boiled egg without toast. Blueberry pancake was terrible! Ate only one of two mornings we stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#4 of 13 in Starkville
293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#3 of 13 in Starkville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Starkville

Address: 801 Russell St, Starkville, MS 39759-3464
Region: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Starkville
#7 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Starkville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful Comfort Suites(R) Starkville, Mississippi hotel, with an ideal location adjacent to Mississippi State University and the historic Cotton District. All-suites hotel, recently updated and providing spacious king and double-bedded suites equipped with microwaves and mini-refrigerators. Enjoy expanded cable television with HBO on our flat screen HDTVs. Work areas equipped with AC and USB outlets in all suites. Whirlpool bathtubs are available in deluxe suites. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served daily and full of delicious options to start your day! For your convenience we have a 24-hour express market stocked with food and beverage offerings. Stay connected with free high-speed internet in all suites, public areas, and the 24-hour Business Center. Enjoy the inviting lobby social space to meet or mingle; meeting room available for social or business needs. This is a pet-friendly hotel; small nightly fee applies. The Golden Triangle Regional Airport is only a short drive away, so whether traveling to Starkville for business, pleasure or some great Mississippi State football, let the Comfort Suites Starkville hotel be your choice for quality accommodations during extended or overnight stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Starkville
Starkville Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing