We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best”
Review of Hotel Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chester
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, MI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I reviewed this hotel last year after my original stay. When I had the opportunity to return to the area, the first thing I did was to book a room at the Hotel Chester! After not having been at the hotel for a year, Dave, the owner, greeted me by first name at check-in. He conversed about my previous visit as if had been a week prior, not a year prior.

I stayed for a week, and whenever I came into contact with any of the hotel staff I was asked what they could do to improve my stay, or if I was comfortable, or what else they could do.....This establishment is the epitome of customer service. All hotels should send their staff here to learn how to treat people. I also finally had the opportunity to try the food in the "Library" for dinner...it was awesome, (but you'll have to see my review for that).

Honestly I didn't think that I could get better service than the prior year's stay, but I was pleasantly surprised...this year they gave 120%!! Whenever I have to return to the Golden Triangle area, I will be staying at the Chester.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank igor948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    24
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
37
35
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stumbled onto this hotel when we lost our reserved rooms at a well-known hotel chain. Yes, it is old but you won't find anything dirty or not working. The beds are VERY comfortable. After my first visit, I went home and ordered the same pillows for my own bed. Breakfast is cooked to order and included with your stay. The Library restaurant is intimate and a nice place to retreat in the evening for a drink or a meal. Sukie, one of the proprieters, manages the kitchen -- the menu includes Asian as well as American dishes. Haven't had a bad meal yet! We are always greeted warmly by David and Sukie and made to feel as if we are their most important customers -- which of course we can't be! If you love B&Bs, I would say this is a perfect place for you.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or swimming pool at the facility. Wonderful outdoor seating in the back g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJB0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The hotel was nice, room was clean, bed was very comfy, but no curtains in the room. There were blinds but the room was light all night then VERY light once the sun rose early on Sunday morning. I need some dark to sleep. I won't stay there again only because of the light.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarolAnneS396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel Chester was recommended by Rick at Rick'sCafe in Starkville. What a pleasure to stay there! Bill, the owner checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed or wanted! I don't know when this man sleeps...he was there when we checked in, when we came back in at midnight, and when we checked out. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, the staff is welcoming, and the complimentary full breakfast very good. We will only stay at the Hotel Chester if we are back in Starkville.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Batchy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

This is an older hotel in downtown Starkville. It is a 20 minute little over a mile walk to the campus of Mississippi State. The walk is along tree lined residential streets and is quite enjoyable. As this is an older hotel the rooms are smaller than newer properties. It is not fully accessable for those who have special needs. There is an elevator but the small rooms and some stairs for some rooms may cause issues. I found the room perfectly adequate but i was by myself. It may be tight for two people. The room was clean and well appointed. No fridge or microwave but I don't really need them. I stayed for 4 nights for business and only woke up early due to the city street cleaners outside once. It was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast is fantastic. Cooked to order eggs, waffles and/or meat. Really yummy. Plenty of parking is available on the street or in a city lot less than a block away. Parking was not an issue for me at all. Great place with helpful staff. Next time you are in town, give them a try.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank HenryFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

As parents of an incoming freshman at MSU, we stayed at Hotel Chest on Move In Day. I had read the reviews prior to scheduling and agree with the positive comments. The room was somewhat quite (we did hear the occassional alarm sound, louder than most cars), traditional decor, staff were accommodating, and convenient to most things within the town. We plan to stay here again for an upcoming football game and have already recommended to other parents.

Room Tip: View of the downtown area from our 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debvhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Not only is the Hotel Chester a wonderful hotel to stay in; their honesty is unquestionable! We spent a night there last week and after checking out we went to breakfast. While eating, I received a call from Dave telling me that I had left a bank envelope with cash and my driver's license in it. I can't tell you, Dave, how thankful I am for that call!!!!!! A really superb place to stay! Thank you again-
Annette Pucheu

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annettepucheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Starkville hotels
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#5 of 13 in Starkville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chester

Property: Hotel Chester
Address: 101 N Jackson St, Corner of Jackson and Main, Starkville, MS 39759-2917
Region: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a southern charm at the Hotel Chester, a 36 room boutique hotel nestled in the heart of historic downtown Starkville. Built in 1925 as a full service hotel the lovingly restored Hotel Chester invites guests to enjoy contemporary services. Voted as the Best Hotel in Mississippi in 2014, 2013 and in 2012 by Mississippi Magazine, Tripadvisor Excellent Hotel 2015 the Hotel Chester welcomes guests to discover a memorial retreat at our luxury boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Starkville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing