We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    41
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
114
26
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed overnight while my wife went to a conference at MSU. Our experience was great. The hotel is about a mile from campus, with easy access to the university and Starkville.

The check-in went quickly and smoothly. The staff was friendly and helpful- I asked about checking in about an hour early, and they had no problems with it (When I got to the room, however, the housekeeping staff wasn't finished. I sat in the lobby for about 15 minutes and watched the tv while waiting for them to finish). Our room was on the 4th floor. The bed was nice, a bit firm for my taste, but they provided plenty of soft pillows. The television was nice, with lots of channels to choose from. The bathroom was good, but I have learned to notice something: the room we had (406) came with a full shower- no tub. This might be something to note if you have a very young child who doesn't like showers.

Breakfast was the standard continental fare- cold cereals, biscuits & gravy, toast/bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, etc.

Check-out went quickly and smoothly. Again, the staff was friendly and helpful.

One thing to note, is that when I checked in and got into the room, I could hear doors slamming closed elsewhere in the hotel. Soundproofing was a little thin, but the noise was easily overcome.

Room Tip: 4th floor had some cigarette smell in the hallway at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefwdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were pleased with our weekend stay. Speedy check in/out. Hotel staff very friendly, pleasant and helpful. Quiet but conveniently located near university, highways, some shopping and eating venues. Hotel very clean with a modern decor. Great amenities including pool and workout room. Will definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We picked this hotel because it's one of the few in Starkville, MS with an outdoor pool. We also were traveling with kids and they provide a free breakfast. We arrived about 30 minutes early before check-in. Front desk staff was not what I'd call friendly but professional. When they allowed me to check in but not go to my room (seriously?!) but didn't even offer to let us put our luggage someplace or rest in the lobby, I should have known we were dealing with inexperienced staff. We went away and came back 30 minutes later to discover a couple of large groups also checking in.
This is fairly new hotel but already maintenance seems to be having a difficult time keeping up. Stairwells smelled musty or of some odd odor. Floor on main level needed to be cleaned. Elevator was a slow as Christmas and only one in operation for the building. Pool area was clean but needed to be swept and there were NO pool towels. OK, not a huge deal but really, if I'm paying a little more per night, they should have this small amenity.
The worst was breakfast which was SWAMPED with people. Staff couldn't keep up with demand for food or coffee. No one was cleaning tables as they were vacated by guests.
Next time I'm through this area with my kids, I'll save a few bucks and some stress and stay at a different hotel-- even if the pool is inside!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Best hotel at this price point we have ever experienced. Every aspect was top-notch. Condition and cleanliness was above reproach. Quality and variety of food at breakfast was definitely superior. Both check-in and check-out were accomplished quickly by very helpful desk personnel. We definitely will stay at this hotel again and recommend it highly for anyone traveling in the Starkville, MS area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank B4777ETmichaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Starkville hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
110 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#4 of 13 in Starkville
137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
430 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#3 of 13 in Starkville
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Address: 982 MS Highway 12 E, Starkville, MS 39759-2852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing