We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chester(Starkville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
0
1
7
7
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
1
7
7
28
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We evacuated to this hotel for a hurricane. When we first showed up we knew it was not going to be a great hotel b/c of its outside apperence. When we got in our rooms, we were actually shocked that the inside looked like a regular hotel room. However, I found KY jelly in one of the draws, blood stains on the sheets and plastic bags in the other draws. We did not get room service, then when we asked why the owner could not tell us. They however did call the housekeeper at home and had him come clean our room. He was very unpleasent and was actually yelling at me b/c he was at home. Then tried to tell me that they don't clean rooms when people are in them, which was a lie b/c we had two other rooms that got cleaned. My overall experience was horrible. Starkville is a very nice town, and this hotel made it look trashy. I have stayed at motels that were nicer. I would recommend staying in your car before styaing at this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank henglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI-starkville, manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2008

We do not give service to those customers who have a Do Not Disturb sign on their door. The Do Not Disturb sign tells the housekeeper not to disturb the customer, and that is the point of the sign. This is why the other 2 rooms got service and this room did not. Because it was a hurricane evacuation, we even allowed more that the normal capacity of people in the room and allowed the pet; but because of this we know better next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites in Starkville, MS this weekend. It was by far our worst ever hotel experience! We paid $99 per night for a room that appeared never to have been vacuumed, had something sticky on the table, fingerprints on the mirrors and the linens were small, rough & thin. The night staff seemed they could care less. We barely slept because we were just so uncomfortable in the filth. I never took off my shoes in fear of what I might get from the floor. We even borrowed a comforter from a friend who lives in the town. Next time we plan a trip to this college town to visit our daughter, we will stay an hour out of town if this is the only hotel available. We will never stay at an Americas Best again. It should be renamed Americas Worst!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aimbsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI-starkville, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2008

Hello Readers/Reviewers:

We understand that in the past, many people have been disappointed by the looks of the America's Best Value Inn in Starkville, Mississippi. For this reason, we have undergone a massive renovation. All of our rooms have recently been repainted and all of the bathrooms have been newly redone for the customers' convenience. We are also currently building a pool which will be posted on the travel agency websites once it is completed. There are many changes and all are for the better.

As a fellow reader/reviewer, I hope that you understand that the people who have reviewed this business and many others are those who are more likely to remember the bad times that they have experienced. Those who have enjoyed their stays at a hotel or have no trouble with the business usually do not think twice to write a good review for others to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Nothing fancy here, but I wasn't expecting that - a bed with clean sheets, a working shower & alarm clock, not noisy (weekdays), close to campus, and cheap - it met all those categories, and I was able to check in at 1 am after a long day's travel. For $55 a night, it met what I needed - it's not the Ritz-Carlton!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheFrostyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

Pool -- There is not a working pool on property. The pool there was covered, the concrete on the sides were bulging up, and the metal railing was all laid in a stack. It was very very unsafe area for kids.
Grass -- It was all uncut. It was about 2 feet high all over the place.
Concrete -- All the concrete walk ways need repair!!!!
Rooms -- Terrible, first room they tried to give us had ants and bugs in the room. They were trying to remodel the room but it was not finished. The side we came too had rooms that were boarded up and it looked like a deserted building. It was awful. The room we finally got had a problem with the door handle and the frig did not work. I was just glad the Concrete walk way did not fall (since we were on the 2nd floor). All of the A/C units were leaking water and running over the walkways top and bottom floors.
Night Lighting -- The night lighting was not very good at all. They need more lighting around the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BAR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

The only positive thing to say about this motel is that it is convenient to the MSU campus. The negatives are abundant. There were no sheets on the fold out sofa, the smoke alarm was chirping, the remote control and clock did not work, the shower head was from the 1940's, the tub had chunks of porcelain missing and the towels were so thin we needed 2 to dry ourselves. Avoid this motel!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redscorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews