We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Biloxi, MS
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This place is a mess. For starters, the lobby was dreary and unwelcoming. Just off the lobby was a large room where items (old phones, irons, etc.) were piled. The exterior of the motel was unsightly - peeling paint on the handrails and on many doors. I felt dirty just being in my room. Each time I first turned on the tub faucet, orange water came out for a couple of seconds. The bed linens were very wrinkled and seemed dirty and they were threadbare. The towels were stained, ridiculously small, very thin and very scratchy. There was only one TINY garbage can in the entire room. We've actually stayed here a few times in the past 15 years or so (used to be a Holiday Inn, then a Ramada Inn, etc.) and each time it's gotten worse and worse. This was the final straw!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirtiness - inside and out
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msudog98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    7
    7
    27
See reviews for
18
6
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We evacuated to this hotel for a hurricane. When we first showed up we knew it was not going to be a great hotel b/c of its outside apperence. When we got in our rooms, we were actually shocked that the inside looked like a regular hotel room. However, I found KY jelly in one of the draws, blood stains on the sheets and plastic bags in the other draws. We did not get room service, then when we asked why the owner could not tell us. They however did call the housekeeper at home and had him come clean our room. He was very unpleasent and was actually yelling at me b/c he was at home. Then tried to tell me that they don't clean rooms when people are in them, which was a lie b/c we had two other rooms that got cleaned. My overall experience was horrible. Starkville is a very nice town, and this hotel made it look trashy. I have stayed at motels that were nicer. I would recommend staying in your car before styaing at this hotel!

  • Liked — that hey allowed my very tiny dog
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank henglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI-starkville, manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, 14 September 2008
We do not give service to those customers who have a Do Not Disturb sign on their door. The Do Not Disturb sign tells the housekeeper not to disturb the customer, and that is the point of the sign. This is why the other 2 rooms got service and this room did not. Because it was a hurricane evacuation, we even allowed more that the normal capacity of people in the room and allowed the pet; but because of this we know better next time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay St. Louis, MS
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites in Starkville, MS this weekend. It was by far our worst ever hotel experience! We paid $99 per night for a room that appeared never to have been vacuumed, had something sticky on the table, fingerprints on the mirrors and the linens were small, rough & thin. The night staff seemed they could care less. We barely slept because we were just so uncomfortable in the filth. I never took off my shoes in fear of what I might get from the floor. We even borrowed a comforter from a friend who lives in the town. Next time we plan a trip to this college town to visit our daughter, we will stay an hour out of town if this is the only hotel available. We will never stay at an Americas Best again. It should be renamed Americas Worst!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aimbsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI-starkville, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, 3 May 2008
Hello Readers/Reviewers:

We understand that in the past, many people have been disappointed by the looks of the America's Best Value Inn in Starkville, Mississippi. For this reason, we have undergone a massive renovation. All of our rooms have recently been repainted and all of the bathrooms have been newly redone for the customers' convenience. We are also currently building a pool which will be posted on the travel agency websites once it is completed. There are many changes and all are for the better.

As a fellow reader/reviewer, I hope that you understand that the people who have reviewed this business and many others are those who are more likely to remember the bad times that they have experienced. Those who have enjoyed their stays at a hotel or have no trouble with the business usually do not think twice to write a good review for others to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Nothing fancy here, but I wasn't expecting that - a bed with clean sheets, a working shower & alarm clock, not noisy (weekdays), close to campus, and cheap - it met all those categories, and I was able to check in at 1 am after a long day's travel. For $55 a night, it met what I needed - it's not the Ritz-Carlton!

  • Liked — Cheap & good enough
  • Disliked — Shower head & thin towels
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFrostyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2006

Pool -- There is not a working pool on property. The pool there was covered, the concrete on the sides were bulging up, and the metal railing was all laid in a stack. It was very very unsafe area for kids.
Grass -- It was all uncut. It was about 2 feet high all over the place.
Concrete -- All the concrete walk ways need repair!!!!
Rooms -- Terrible, first room they tried to give us had ants and bugs in the room. They were trying to remodel the room but it was not finished. The side we came too had rooms that were boarded up and it looked like a deserted building. It was awful. The room we finally got had a problem with the door handle and the frig did not work. I was just glad the Concrete walk way did not fall (since we were on the 2nd floor). All of the A/C units were leaking water and running over the walkways top and bottom floors.
Night Lighting -- The night lighting was not very good at all. They need more lighting around the hotel.

  • Liked — location only
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — beware of this inn !!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BAR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta,Ga
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

The only positive thing to say about this motel is that it is convenient to the MSU campus. The negatives are abundant. There were no sheets on the fold out sofa, the smoke alarm was chirping, the remote control and clock did not work, the shower head was from the 1940's, the tub had chunks of porcelain missing and the towels were so thin we needed 2 to dry ourselves. Avoid this motel!

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Shower and tub.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redscorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Starkville
Red Roof Inn Starkville
#9 of 13 in Starkville
24 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville
Address: 403 Highway 12 South, Starkville, MS 39759
Region: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Starkville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing