We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”
Review of Horseshoe Tunica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horseshoe Tunica
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was expecting an average stay for a casino. I was pleasantly surprised to be treated so welcomingly.. The front desk staff (Aubrey) was actually pleasant and made me feel welcome. He advised me of some of the activity in the casino and arranged to have my bags delivered to my room so I could get to the action.

Room Tip: The breakfast venue is very limited. Plan to pack something to nibble on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank percy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    675
    297
    130
    120
See reviews for
427
1,055
247
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

For many years Sams Town has been my destination in Tunica, but this visit we had rooms at both Sams Town and the Horseshoe and the "shoe" won hands down. Not only are the rooms bigger and have much nicer bathrooms, but the beds were excellent. The casino was excellent (even tho it was torn up to make way for more machines from the closing Harrahs Tunica casino) and they actually had full pay video poker machines. I think their buffet is among the best in Tunica (alot nicer than Sams). A host even dropped by and chatted with me...never happened at Sams or any of the other Tunica casinos I've been in. Had 2 problems with machines and the techs were there super fast.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the view sucked...go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaptainBill2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Horseshoe Casino and Hotel Tunica for a 3 day weekend. The check in was seamless and smooth. The room was nicely appointed but small. Be sure to get a King room as they are much roomier than the double we had. Although it was a non-smoking room the hotel has a strong smoke odor throughout. People smoked in the hallways so it made it impossible to not have the stench throughout. The room had a mini fridge which was nice but no safe which is odd in today's hotel world. We stayed on the second floor which boasted a gym and sauna. The gym seemed to stay busier than expected given it's a gambling place. The pool was not open but looked large! The casino itself is large and clean and has most of the Vegas style table games you expected. They also had a wide range of table minimums which is nice if you're having a bad run at BlackJack or if you have a beginner along for the ride. Nothing to really do other than gamble. There were a couple of bands that played classic Rock and Country in the evening. Made for a nice backdrop to the noise of all those slots. The pit bosses and dealers were very willing to please and were extremely generous with comps. We didn't pay for a single meal while we were gone and most of us are not high dollar gamblers! I will tell you that the buffet is just that a buffet. Lots of choices that look great but are just okay. I don't go to casinos expecting fine dinning (unless I'm paying) so it was fine. Most anyone could find something to keep them happy! Do note that if you play table games as oppose to slot machines be sure to see the Casino Manager prior to beginning play to be sure and get rated as a player. It may help with the offset of the room costs if you gamble enough! Overall it was a pleasurable stay and I would go back. It's situated between 2 other hotels all within walking distance so if your luck is bad at one place get up and try another! Good Luck!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VickiAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are ignorant than you are Horseshoes target customer. They are like a third world country and don’t understand many of us come from CLEAN AIR ACT States. So requesting a smoke-free room means you won’t be smoking in there. Their rooms, carpet curtains blankets all may be clean in their mind, but third hand smoke smell makes it difficult to sleep when it is all around you in the bed. If you are desperate bring your CSI “Vicks vapor rub” and put under your nose so you can sleep.

Room Tip: Bring your CSI rub.
See more room tips
Green Features: Wish I would have read a real review before I arrived.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Journeyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I just went to Tunica for short trip and this time stayed at The Horseshoe.
Greeted with smiles and helpful people. Check I was fast.
The room was modern with a flat screen tv. Regular bathroom, all nice and clean.
The hotel had a gym and spa that were included in the room rate. The outdoor pool was closed.
The sauna and steam room small but good.
Overall great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bridgette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TENNESSEE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Horseshoe Casino Hotel was very delightful. clean, friendly staff, Starbucks, snack kiosk.
The room was everything we needed for a couple of nights break. it was much nicer than I expected. it had a bar area where the frig was stored with coffee maker and plenty of supplies (of course I don't call that REAL coffee).
The only downsize was the walk from the elevator. we had requested close proximity and apparently my close and their close were two very different distances.
The bed was so comfortable we wanted to stay in it more than we wanted to gamble! I wanted to load it up and take it with us, it was that nice.
Nice size, modern TV. roomy bathroom, plenty of towels, very clean. will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: request a floor where there are no conferences taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OLDTIMER51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Horseshoe is right next door to the Gold Strike in Tunica, and in fact you can walk out the side door of one and 30 feet later you're in the other. The room here was much nicer (although I opted for the upgrade), large room, large couch, THREE TV's in the room (1 in the bathroom), all LCD, large tub/shower, single-cup coffee maker, very nice. It must be the area because although the wifi was better than Gold Strike by a wide margin, it still was only barely marginally adequate to get any real work done, although like at Gold Strike and unlike most other places nationwide, there is a daily $12 or so charge to use it. (But like Las Vegas where they also charge, I think the theory is that they want you gambling in the casino, not surfing in your room!) At least I was able to read gmail without errors, where the Gold Strike wifi was flaky at best not allowing that. The food in the various restaurants is quite good; the buffet is good but not as good as their Las Vegas counterparts. The casino is a typical casino, nothing special. As opposed to the Gold Strike next door, playing two hands at the Horseshoe requires each hand to be played at twice the table minimum. Also, interesting that all the single and double deck blackjack games are limited to $25 and $100 table minimums. Open tables are surprisingly limited until about 10-11am, and equally surprisingly full in the evenings when there are so many unstaffed closed tables. The bed was comfortable although a bit stiff for my tastes.

Room Tip: a lower floor will make your wait for the elevator less.
See more room tips
Green Features: did not note anything promoting environmental friendliness -- new towels daily, although they did leave yesterday's soap and shampoo bottles (as well as leaving new ones) instead of wasting them.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunica hotels
5.4 mi away
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tunica Roadhouse Casino & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Fitz Casino and Hotel
Fitz Casino and Hotel
#4 of 19 in Tunica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
2.6 mi away
Best Western Tunica Resort
5.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#11 of 19 in Tunica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Tunica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Tunica

Property: Horseshoe Tunica
Address: 1021 Casino Center Dr, Tunica, MS 38664-6403 (Formerly Horseshoe Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Tunica
#2 Green Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Tunica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseshoe Tunica has been the market leader in gaming and entertainment since opening on February 13, 1995. The casino known nation-wide as the place where real gamblers come to gamble has recently been remodeled to include state-of-the-art technology and luxurious furnishings and contains over 1,380 slot and video poker games, the widest variety of table games in the region. The 25-table World Series of Poker themed poker room featuring a WSOP lounge is a poker player's paradise. Horseshoe Tunica guests enjoy a 14-floor hotel tower with over 500 luxuriously appointed rooms featuring world-class customer service and amenities including: Jack Binion's Steak which offers offer contemporary as well as classic fine dining offerings and a wine bar, the all you can imagine Village Square Buffet featuring fare from all over the world and highlighting Southern specialties and desserts, and the area's only Starbucks. Horseshoe Tunica consistently books headline entertainment to perform at the 1500 seat intimate and stellar Bluesville concert hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horseshoe Tunica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Casino And Hotel
Horseshoe Casino Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Tunica Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing