We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Vegas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is not Vegas!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited Tunica looking for a closer alternative to Vegas. There are about 6 casinos spread out between miles of cornfields and tumbledown farmhouses. It takes a good 10-15 mintues to drive from one to another. Whoever designed this set up had to be crazy. A few positive things about Sam's town. The videopoker is great. The food at the buffet is good and reasonable. The room was clean. Now the down side. The housekeeping staff need training. They woke us up each day yelling down the halls to each other. They carried loud walkie talkies. They piled up dirty linen in the hallways and came around at the end of the day to collect them-disgusting. It was an experience we will not forget and we will not be returning to Tunica. In time I am sure Tunica's casinos will all be closed. The next time we'll splurge and go to Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwosomeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Serivce at Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review and comments, we truly appreciate your time and are happy you enjoyed playing Video Poker during your visit. We do apologize for the disruption while staying in our hotel and will inform our Director of Operations immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    139
    108
    73
    54
See reviews for
82
228
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited Tunica in December, during that terrible ice storm. This hotel was our first stop on the evening, but all of the restaurants were either closed or under construction. We will visit sometime in the future and give a full review.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steelchess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Rooms:

Wifi available and good. Much better selection of television channels in case you have to stay in your room during a suprise thunderstorm like I did. Like others have said, its a property that people use, so some wear and tear, but no major issues. There is finally enough room at the snack bar if you want to sit down. Staff friendly as usual.

Gaming, some of the issues in recent past seem to have been worked out. More choices in table games, and slot machines seem newer and thinned out. Upstairs mostly golden oldie slots, but hey, occasionally we need a break from too much noise.

Buffet, I still avoid the seafood Saturday, its still mostly fried for a lot of dough. The Asian station is under appreciated, everyone seems to walk by on the way to the Corky's ribs, but give it try, especially the custom stir fry. Worth the wait. The rest of the food, well, to my Southern friends, remember Picadilly? just no dilly plates and you can go back for more. Overall, much better than last year.

Room Tip: I like the blue room tower. Noise is not really an issue unless you are at either end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TableGamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is by far the nastiest worst run mismanaged establishment we have ever been in I do not see a future for sams town if they continue operating the way they are the hotel is disgusting and the staff are rude and in experienced the website is misleading and the staff over the phone are misleading with information as to what they can provide oh and my wife and kids say that the swimming pool is nasty we wish them luck cleaning the place up because they have their work cut out for them we recommend H plywood casino

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceyjonesanddorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we apologize for your experience and would like to receive more details of your stay, in the meantime, your review will be sent to our Director of Operations to follow up on our hotel and pool inspections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tunica hotels

Dumas, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived on Friday and stayed until Sunday. The carpet was threadbare. Curtains had hole/tears in them. King room only gets 2 towels and 2 washcloths. That's not enough when you shower twice a day. Friday night buffet was terrible. Glad we did not have to pay for it. Did not cash one single ticket on slots.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cynthia1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went there for continuing ed with our staff and booked 4 rooms. Having read the reviews about the run down rooms, we requested the floor that had been remodeled. The rooms were nice enough, but the carpet in the hallway was in bad shape. It was so stretched and puckered that you had to be careful not to trip at every step. Seems they would fix that so no one would trip! The front desk people were nice, as were all employees. The casino itself is very boring. There are not enough choices in dining, nor is there anything much in the entertainment area. One small bar with a weekend band, and only one tiny store to shop in, and that was a joke. We had to drive for miles just to find something to do. The breakfast buffet was not even as good as free breakfasts that we get at Drury's and such. Smokie Joes was a joke! I would not stay there again, even if all the rooms were remodeled.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently came back from staying at Sam;s town in Tunica. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Coffee maker is awfully small but was able to get extra coffee trays after the first day, We stayed here because of the pool and there wasn't even any water in it. The whole pool area is in really bad condition. I know it is early in the season but it needs some serious work to get it ready. The breakfast buffet was perfect. I think 9.00 each for a wonderful selection. But they really need to give attention to the grounds. The people who work there are awesome. They all went above and beyond to help. Not one unfriendly person was encountered. I hope they can afford to upgrade the courtyard where the pool is because it would be perfect. Yellow jacket were swarming by the gutter

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunica hotels
0.5 mi away
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
3.4 mi away
Fitz Casino and Hotel
Fitz Casino and Hotel
#4 of 19 in Tunica
816 reviews
5.0 mi away
Horseshoe Tunica
Horseshoe Tunica
#2 of 19 in Tunica
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tunica Roadhouse Casino & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#12 of 19 in Tunica
175 reviews
7.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tunica Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall

Property: Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
Address: 1477 Casino Strip Resort Blvd, Tunica, MS 38664-9136
Region: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 874
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam`s Town Tunica Hotel Tunica Resorts
Sams Town Tunica Resorts
Sams Town In Tunica Miss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing