We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Nearby Hotels
US$63
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel(Newton Aycliffe)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel(Walworth)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
315
241
91
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
241
91
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationlarge showerexecutive roomnewton aycliffecoach partysized bedevening mealfree wifiovernight stoptwo nightsthe ground floorbuffet breakfastwould stay againshower roomcoach tripcar parklovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

this trip was booked as part of a deal that included dinner, wine and tickets to beamish. After booking the hotel changed hands to become the holiday inn. The deal was honoured - as expected. All staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel room average size with everything that is standard in a chain. large powerful shower. Comfortable bed and even though we overlooked the car park it was quiet. Breakfast plentiful and hot, lots of choice. The same dining room is used for dinner and in my opinion this is what lets the hotel down. the prices are expensive -£5-6 for starter £18 steak extra for sides. At these prices we don't really expect cutlery in a 'mug' on the table, very bright lighting which I'm sure with a little thought could be reduced and save their bill! we asked for a taxi into darlington, the hotel used their recommended firm and we were charged £13, on the way home we phoned a local firm and the cost was £6. We did inform the hotel. There is a small gym but we didn't use this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liverpoolcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Your comments regarding our staff are most welcome. I am sorry that you do not like our evening table set up, this is a Holiday Inn Open Lobby Concept standard which we are not allowed to deviate from. Although we are unable to change the way our dinner service is set up your comments are genuinely very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First time at a Holiday inn formerly Aston. On arrival our booking could not be found it took a while to be sorted (they thought one of the other hotels I had chosen had our booking) The room was the usual could be anywhere type desk ,chair, double bed shower etc we had the bonus of a very squeeky floor. The room was clean and tidy but the shower let it down badly the mastic sealant round the door was dropping off in places and missing in others. A tile was off below the shower door and the flexible water pipe to shower head was rusty. The bed had a strange vallance arrangment seemingly only covering half the base.
Breakfast had a good choice of items but the hot items bacon, sausage eggs etc were anything but hot when we ate at 930, we only had cerial and toast 2nd day. The public areas were modern and tidy and all the staff friendly. Do not know if we would use Holiday Inn again these have put us off thought this company would be better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I have tried to investigate to see which room you stayed in following your comments regarding the shower. As I was unable to narrow down which room you stayed in we have systematically undertaken a full review of our shower pods, as these types of comments are not the norm. With respect to the breakfast being cold please accept our apologies regarding this we have now introduced more regular checks form the Kitchen team to ensure that freshly cooked, hot items are available at all times. Regardless of the time you come down for breakfast the quality of food on offer should be to the same high standard. Once again please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here overnight whilst on business in the area. The room I had was huge with a good desk area, lots of plugs and amazingly fast internet for a Holiday Inn. Room service was good, lots of parking on site and friendly staff - all round an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I have passed them on to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our double room was large, pleasantly furnished, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, the usual tea- and coffee-making facilities, flat-screen TV and triple glazing. Everything was clean, though it was too warm in the room, even with the heating turned down. The shower was excellent. The restaurant's food was good. Staff were all helpful and pleasant. The electronic key stopped working at one point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies that your key card stopped working during your stay. Sometime cards can be deprogrammed if kept next to a mobile phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel has recently changed from Aston Hotel to Holiday Inn. The downstairs public areas have been refurbished to a very high and comfortable standard.
The double room we had was not refurbished. The bathroom comprises of a spacious shower cubicle with seat and a toilet. The sink in situated inside the bedroom !
Some of the rooms are interconnecting and unfortunately for us we could hear the boisterous children sharing with their parents.
However once asleep our sleep quality was very good and although close to A1 there was little road noise.

The restaurant has mood lighting which makes it really difficult to read the print on the menu. Our food was good but portion sizes varied, and did not include veg which had to be purchased separetly. Avoid the tiramisu for desert, it has a lot of synthetic cream and very little taste. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and refilled quickly.

The receptionist Ashley was on shift for most of our stay and was really helpful, providing a fan for the other members of our party as the room was too hot.(bank holiday weekend no maintainence staff till tuesday). The poor guy even had to fix the aerial as all television signal dissapeared on saturday evening.)

We left our do not disturb hanger on our door all day as we did not require our room cleaned but were surprised on returning to find clean towels left outside.
Taking everything into consideration, the Beamish break is well worth the money for a 2 night stay with bed , breakfast and one evening meal and the tickets into Beamish.
We would use the hotel again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: lot of rooms are interconnected. strange arrangement of sink being in bedrooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisie0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments regarding the menu print have been taken on board and we will rectify this when we print our upcoming new menu. I have passed your comments regarding the tiramisu on to chef so that he can investigate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews