We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spa Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We have just had an amazing spa day at The Beauty Room Spa. I was looking for a day with my mum to de-stress and relax and we were over the moon. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, and keen to start our day we did just that. We changed into our comfy white robes and settled down by the pool. Throughout our day we had brilliant treatments, both of us had a back, neck & shoulder massage, i have had many massages over the years and i don't mind telling you this one was fantastic..... The facial was equally wonderful and my skin felt so fresh and invigorated. All in all having been to many spa's i was a little worried at one or two of the reviews that had been written about the hotel and spa, but let me state for the record now this has got to be the best spa day we have ever had, the therapists in the spa made our day for us, well done ladies we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gemma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Golf And Country Club, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear GemmaC
Thank you for your recent review following your Spa Day at the Hall Garth Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the treatments and that the staff looked after you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Pam Mooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    229
    131
    53
    44
See reviews for
104
306
20
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Another night spent at Hall Garth - the staff, room, service and breakfast was superb as last time. I had invited 5 friends to a Christmas Party Dinner and Live Band. They were all sadly
disappointed in the meal and I had been ill but had gone not to let my 5 guests down. The food I had always said was "super" at Hallgarth and this was "poor" There was another party night
in possibly everyone was "overstretched" that night.
I wanted to say thank you to the Leisure Club staff who went out of their way to welcome everyone to their Christmas Party especially Andy Matt Lauren and Sam - a great team
I also wanted to thank all the waiting staff - Jason and a big mention to Ben Sherman and Ali
always pleasant and helpful.
I have booked again at Hallgarth two further visits plus a pantomime and lunch for my grandchildren and I am now looking to book a two day spa for four in March/April - I also
use the Leisure Club and Golf facilities as a member of the club each week and look forward
to my next visit.
This Hotel gets my thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the main hotel and a suite. All different all great. A very quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baby1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Golf And Country Club, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Dear Baby1949
Many thanks for taking time to post your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues your party had with the food at the function, we did take on board the comments, which we later discussed at the team briefing and the following night Head Chef made a few changes to the Christmas party menu.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the party and its great to read the positive feedback about all the staff, this will certainly be passed on to them.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the future events you have mentioned.
Kind regards
Pam Mooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I understand that there has been a recent change in management at this hotel so I imagine the high standards we found will continue and the slight shabbiness in some parts will be put right with a lick of paint. The hotel has great character and a relaxing,cosy feel with lots of areas to sit and enjoy a rest, subdued side lighting, fires etc. The staff were all brilliant, friendly, discretely attentive and efficient.The food was of a high standard and there was plenty of choice on the DD&B rate with quite small supplements on a few items. We chose to have a room in the main building and it was fine- not huge but with everything needed and a smart bathroom. A nice touch was the drink and chocolates in the room-part of the excellent value deal. i look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine55h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Golf And Country Club, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Elaine55h
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hall Garth Hotel and thank you for your complimentary comments regarding the staff, food and service.I will pass your comments on to the 'Team'
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in hopefully not the too distant future.
Happy Holidays
Kind regards
Pam Mooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Only spent one night here but wish it had been a week!!!! Really cannot find anything negative to say. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food and service during evening meal and breakfast was excellent. The room, or I should say suite, was lovely. It was warm, clean, very tastefully decorated and the bed........ fantastic, a very comfortable queen size - lush x

Room Tip: The converted cottages across the car-park are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tixielixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Golf And Country Club, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Tixielixi,
Shropshire.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your nice comments about the staff, service and facilites. It is fantastic to receive positive feedback.
Thank you
Pam Mooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Have just arrived home after spending 1 night at the Hall Garth hotel. We were on a coach trip from Shropshire and were not expecting anything fantastic but were very happy with our experience.My friend and i stayed in the Oak room which was lovely, the best bed i have ever slept in. The room was very clean, the towels were fluffy, the evening meal very good and the breakfast was fabulous. The staff were polite and helpful, we couldnt have asked for anything more!!!! Hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: ask for one of the converted out buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Golf And Country Club, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Elaine W
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hall Garth Darlington. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff.
I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are in the area.
Kind regards
Pam Mooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We came to Darlington for a family wedding and found this hotel on the internet. We had a good stay the cost was very reasonable and the room was modern, fresh and clean. We only used the hotel to sleep and get ready for the wedding so didnt have any spare time to see the spa or grounds. Breakfast was served by a smiley girl who was great at topping up the hot water in the tea pot, the bacon was really good too. Could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Golf And Country Club, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Abbeyh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our site. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Hall Garth Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed on to the Team. I do hope you will come and visit us again and have time to enjoy our leisure facilities.

Pam Mooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Bought a spa day voucher here through Living Social. Paid £49 for it and I guess you get what you pay for. Upon arrival it was immediately apparent that the organisation was lacking. Our package included 3 x 30 minute treatments. However, not one of the treatments lasted the 30 minutes specified, in fact the facial only lasted around 17 minutes. It was clear that the Beauty Room was understaffed and, despite the best efforts of the two therapists, they could not keep on top of the bookings taken, resulting in the treatments being shortened. The lack of staffing was clearly illustrated by a pile of dirty towels which greeted you upon entry to the Beauty Room and remained there throughout the day.

The pool area of the spa only had four loungers available, despite there being a total of 6 people on the spa day. The pool was also used for a childs swimming lesson on the afternoon. The child was only a toddler and was clearly very distressed by his fear of the water. This resulted in the peace and serenity of the spa being seriously disrupted. It was also quite distressing to listen to him as he was extremely upset. Not the appropriate setting for a toddlers swimming lesson at all.

In the female toilets, the sanitary bins were overflowing, resulting in a swarm of flies around them.

On a more positive note, the staff were very pleasant, but ultimately, I will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRH472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Golf And Country Club, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear CRH472,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do take all comments whether good or bad very seriously. I started as General Manager last week at Hall Garth Hotel, from your review I believe you visited the Spa in October. although just posted the review. I can assure you that your comments will be discussed with the relevant departments and remedial action will be taken. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence with us in the future.
Kind regards
Pam Mooney
New General Manager 21/11/2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coatham Mundeville
4.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
7.0 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Garth Golf And Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Garth Golf And Country Club

Property: Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Address: Bafferton Ln, Coatham Mundeville, Darlington DL1 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Coatham Mundeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coatham Mundeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Garth Golf And Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Georgian Country House with original portions dating from 1540, set in 69 acres of park & woodlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hall Garth Golf And Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club Hotel Darlington
Hall Garth Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing