We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Nice little family birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I visited here recently for my nanas 80th birthday treat and it was certainly a great choice. Hotel itself was very cosy and vintage. Complete with a pool, gym, spa and sauna, this is a great place for a celebration or simply a weekend of relaxation. Foos was beautiful and the staff certainly seemed to go out of their way to assist with any issues or requests we had.
A small negative was the shower, whilst not too bad, it wasn't the hottest but this may just be due to the busy times we used it.
All in all, a great hotel, one is certainly reccommend.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Lee_J1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Lee
Many thanks for posting your recent review on our site.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay to celebrate your Nana's special birthday.
Many thanks for your kind comments I will pass them on to the team.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here one night after a day in the spa on a girls weekend. All the staff were friendly and the service was fantastic! They gave the impression they really enjoyed you being there and was consistent whether we were in the spa, the hotel or the on site pub. Prices throughout were really reasonable. We stayed in a suite which had loads of old world charm as well as some modern touches and very well equipped. Lovely atmosphere in the hotel and the suite. Well done Hallgarth! It's not often I feel I can tick all the boxes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Su T
Many thanks for posting your wonderful review. It is very rewarding for staff to receive your positive feedback, I will certainly share this with them.
We do strive hard to offer a friendly, professional service at an affordable price. I am delighted you enjoyed your Spa Break with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney

Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed there whilst on a business trip and booked this hotel via Late Rooms. Lovely setting, so near the A1 and Darlington yet you would think that it was in the middle of the country.
Was booked into room 49 which was one of the "Executive Rooms" apparently. Room was modern looking, clean and well appointed with a very comfortable king sized bed.
Decided to use the leisure facilities and went for a swim in the 12 metre pool which was clean and at a nice temperature. Also sampled the sauna and steam room which again were well presented and clean. The gym was pretty full and seemed to have a good selection of excercise machines plus equipment for weight training. Decided against having a full meal in the restaurant in the evening so decided to have a bar snack. The "pub" attached to the hotel was closed for refurbishment so one of the function rooms had been opened up as a bar area and although quiet was fine for a quiet drink and a bar snack. The food was good but at the top end pricewise charging £12.00 for fish and chips or a curry.
Breakfast in the morning was serve yourself cereals, fruit juice and pastries with at the table service for cooked food. Breakfast was a £10.00 supplement over the room rate and like the evening meal, although of reasonable quality, was rather expensive for what it was.
All in all, I would recommend staying there again but I would maybe do it on a room only basis if I wasn't on business.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Simon T
Many thanks for posting your feedback on our site.
I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay whilst on business, we are located very close to A1(M)
We also offer seasonal packages on our website which are good value for money, these are generally available during weekends and include Dinner and breakfast.
I will pass your comments on to the team.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently and it was wonderful. The staff were so helpful and polite, and the hotel which dates back centuries was wonderful. The charm of the old building with the mixture of the new works so well.
The menu was excellent as was the cellar.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: book room number 1
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Dovenann 3

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful and polite, it is great to receive positive reviews, I will share your comments with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had a great time at the hotel. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Used the gym and the spa facilities which were of a high standard. The food was excellent as we had pre booked the evening meals. The only downside was we had to wait 30 mins after receiving our coffee and toast before the breakfast arrived, pointed this out to staff who said a mix up had occurred in kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cockney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Cockney 55
Many thanks for your recent feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your Anniversary. Yours comments regarding the staff, the spa and leisure facilities and quality of our food are very pleasing to read.
I note your comment regarding the service of breakfast I please this was sorted for you.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We found an offer for a bargain break of dinner, bed and breakfast for two, plus a bottle of fizzy wine and chocolates for £119 per couple, so we booked it for ourselves and two other couples for our annual Christmas get-together on 14th/15th December. It was superb! Despite having at least two Christmas to cater for at the same time that we were there, we had very good food, excellent service and very comfortable accommodation and would unhesitatingly go back . The ladies richly enjoyed their time in the Spa ( also part of the deal) and the gents found the bar and pool table very much to their taste. If the same deal is on next year, I doubt if we will look any further

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main hotel building are more modern but walking across the car park in the cold...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Lindsay W
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do take all guest feedback very seriously and discuss with the team during regular meetings.
I am delighted you enjoyed our seasonal offer for your bargain weekend break. I will pass your positive comments on to the team regarding your food and service.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming to again.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked for the New Years Eve Package. Well worth the money. The staff were very friendly, reception well organised. Our room was rather small but clean and quiet considering we were next to the main door at the top of the stairs. Enjoyed the welcome drinks and being showed to our table. The meal was lovely and the evening entertainment was just right. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get one in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Lesley W
Thank you for posting your feedback on our site following your recent stay with us for our New Years Package.
It is very pleasing to read your comments, I am delighted you received a warm welcome, the rooms do vary in size dependent on the location, larger rooms are available on request.
The welcome drinks worked well with entertainment and the evening was enjoyed by all. I am also pleased you felt the package was good value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you again

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coatham Mundeville
3.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,264 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
853 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
3.7 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
7.0 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club

Address: Bafferton Ln, Coatham Mundeville, Darlington DL1 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Coatham Mundeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coatham Mundeville
Price Range: £41 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Georgian Country House with original portions dating from 1540, set in 69 acres of park & woodlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club Hotel Darlington
Hall Garth Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing