We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good !”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at the Hall Garth recently as part of a group - staff were great, very friendly and helpful. My room was a double and I think if I had been sharing, it would have been too small, but fine just for me. Bed was very comfortable and room/bathroom very clean. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, either cold or hot and it was good that the cooked breakfast was made to order rather than buffet style. However the coffee was not great ! - both mornings. We had a set meal both evenings and chose from 4 different starters mains and desserts. The food couldn't be faulted - everything was spot on. There is a lovely outside seating area at the back of the hotel which we took full advantage of as the weather was very warm and sunny. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay again if in the area, when hopefully I will have time to try the spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJane05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Simon and June
Thank you for posting your recent review.
It is pleasing to read your feedback. We do have various room sizes in the hotel and should you stay with us again please mention with reservations if you prefer a larger bedroom.
We have recently invested in new patio furniture on the front patio which has been enjoyed by many guests in the recent sunny weather.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    231
    132
    53
    44
See reviews for
105
307
20
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from our stay at this wonderful hotel. Amazing views, friendly helpful staff, lovely food, very clean well equipped spacious room, superb massage, pool/steam room/sauna refreshing. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim0nandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Simon & Julie
Many thanks for posting your lovely feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to the next time.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed last weekend for a friends wedding. Lovely, quiet room. The wedding was very well run and the staff were wonderful - couldn't be more helpful. Loved the dancing barman!! Only niggle ( for my husband) was the lack of bitter. John Smith smooth and Guiness were the only options - really disappointing. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were really efficient. Lovely stay and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Lindutton
Thank you for posting your recent review after attending a wedding at Hall Garth Hotel.
I have enjoyed reading your feedback and am pleased the staff looked after you. I am interested to read we have a Dancing barman in our team?
I note your comment regarding limited beer on the function bar. We do offer a greater selection in the Stables pub with 3 hand pulls and 3 draught beers. Due to the occupancy of the function rooms and function bars, it is more difficult to offer a wider range of beers.
I am pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Having just returned from our sons wedding at this venue I should like to say what a fantastic time we had.
The hotel staff were all superb nothing was too much trouble , the room was spotless very well appointed .
The wedding reception room was beautifully presented and the service was second to none .all the bar staff where very well trained and although very busy served their customers very efficiently.
We used the spa facilities and found them to be excellent.
We would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ian I
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read your wonderful feedback and to know your Son's Wedding was so enjoyable.
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the staff and the service, we do strive hard to offer a friendly a professional approach. I am also pleased you enjoyed the room and spa facilities.
i hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again when you are next in the area.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morcott, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for a friends wedding.
Before arrival I called to confirm booking details and found they were wrong and hadn't been amended as requested a month before.
Ordered the weekend stay deal where prosecco and chocolates were presented in the room on arrival. Prosecco was good but chocolates were pricey for what you got....only 4!
We didn't have dinner as the wedding overran.
Room was well furnished for its size and to a good standard.
Breakfast the following day was good and a wide selection of non-cooked platter was welcome.
Overall a pricey experience for average hotel stayers. You will want to make full use of the golf course, spa and pool before committing to stay, unlike us, to justify the price

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Squidadidaledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Squidadidaledee
Thank you for posting your recent feedback. I am a little confused as to which package you have booked on. You mention staying for a friends wedding, we offer discounted rates for wedding guests. However, I believe from your reveiw that you have taken advantage of our Seasonal offer which includes complimentary Prosecco and chocolates, this also includes Bed and full English breakfast for a total of £85 (2 persons) or dinner can be included for a total of £125. I am somewhat surprised that you felt this to be a pricey experience as we do receive a great deal of feedback telling us this is very good value for money for a hotel of this quality.
I am pleased you enjoyed your experience and do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a good clean, though not large, room and bathroom facilities. Comfortable bed. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Some of the staff seemed inexperienced, but they were willing to help and tried hard (e.g. we had to tell a barman how to mix a whisky and ginger, which he'd never heard of, and he seemed pleased to have learned something new!) Food in the Stables Bar a bit plastic and mass-produced (chicken "Parmesan" came with a very un-Italian bright yellow melted cheese coating and the chips were soft and greasy). We tried the main restaurant the next night - food much more appetising, though priced accordingly. Pleasant Lounge area where you can get afternoon tea or light snacks, and also "Breakfast Items" such as bacon baps, croissants etc with coffee. This is a good deal if you don't want a big breakfast from the wide selection on offer in the dining room, although the staff seemed unaware of this option, and tried to charge us for restaurant breakfasts - but it was amicably and competently sorted out by the Receptionist when we checked-out. Surprisingly large swimming pool for a hotel, with good changing facilities, also golf, gym and spa facilities, which we didn't try.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Scotadvisor
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am delighted overall you enjoyed your experience whilst staying at the hotel.
I note your comment regarding the Chicken Parmesan you ordered in the Stables. This dish is a local signature dish, well known in this area, please accept my apologies if it was not as you expected.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, we do have a few new staff members I will pass your feedback on to the team.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again when you are visiting the area.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The entry is good,the staff are awesome(must have been trained by an Hungarian) and the setting ,apart from the trains, is great. The food, and the Stables restaurant in particular,is to be commended.

Alas but the room lets it down.

The bed is too small for two, the walls are exceptionally thin and the pillows are too low(one pillow) or too high(two).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaketjeff1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jake tjeff1883
Many thanks for taking the time to post your recent review.
I am delighted you enjoyed the location, food and the Stables Bar. Our bedrooms do vary in size depending on location. May I suggest on a future visit you request a room in the main hotel these tend to be larger and quieter. I am sorry the pillows weren't to your liking, we do have a selection of various pillows available.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards


Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coatham Mundeville
4.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
7.0 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club

Property: Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Address: Bafferton Ln, Coatham Mundeville, Darlington DL1 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington > Coatham Mundeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coatham Mundeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Georgian Country House with original portions dating from 1540, set in 69 acres of park & woodlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club Hotel Darlington
Hall Garth Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing