We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommend ......”
Review of Maralena's - CLOSED

Maralena's
Price range: US$33 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommend ......”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Consistently good food. Great offers every day of the week. Since 'Limone' took over, I have been many times, lunch.early evening,night time and Sunday lunch... Superb food at all times! Highly recommend . Special mention to both Gosha and Leanne!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“First rate food and very friendly”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First visit for several years. Clearly trying hard to make the business work - with great success. Prawn chowder was outstanding and fresh tuna very good. Cheerful, attentive service. We were delighted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firstseadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Recent ownership change has transformed small Italian restaurant, for the better!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Now called Limone, I am glad to see that a popular eating place has returned under management. And if today's menu and food continues I am sure it will continue to be a great place to dine. We just wanted an ordinary but typical Sunday lunch with no fuss, that is what we got only better. At £8.95 for three courses if was worth every penny, service was great and even the atmosphere was 100% better than before. This isn't just a place for people looking for a meal deal, you can get fillet steak in various guises but at a cost (12.95 to 15.95) which is trying to entice people in - the quality of food will keep them coming back. Unfortunately this wear the previous owner went wrong by overpricing his customer to dine elsewhere.
I hope they succeed In keeping a much needed restaurant in the area. Some of the comments I have read are typical of the mentality and society we live In. Even when a place gives an unbelievable 3 course special at £3.95 they are still not happy and moan. Hopefully those customers will in future eat at home where they belong!!!

Well done Limone !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very Good Value and Service”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were very reticent when we saw the price list for lunch...at £3.95 a head for 3 courses, not really 'us'. However, having heard good reviews my hubby and I decided to give it a go!
We have eaten here twice, on the first occasion my husband ate Rib Eye and Chips £7.95 and I ate Lasagne at around £5.95, which is available on the 'cheap' menu and is apparently the same, but we didn't want 3 courses as it was during the heat wave. We were a total pain as customers on our first visit! Having been seated we were made aware it was cash only as they did not have a PDQ machine...they were awaiting installation. We left, popped to Bishop Auckland, did our shopping getting cash back and unfettered, we returned.
On our second visit we had 3 courses, soup, Calzone Pizza, Cannelloni and coffee plus a glass of wine each.
They are honest in their meat to pasta ratio and that the ham is not 'real' ham. Be careful if you order a glass of wine ...a waiter ordered us a large glass of house wine each...well over priced...buy the bottle which has a screw cap, drink what you want and take the rest home.
Lets face it, you couldn't get a burger for this sort of money!
The staff are lovely and very helpful and the evening menu/a la carte more interesting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblesCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Terrific value and good food.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Although Italian is not usually one of my favourite cuisines I was interested to visit after a recommendation from an acquaintance.
We were welcomed and chose to sit in the window seat. The menu at £3.95 was amazing value. Starter of potato skins or minestrone soup and any pizza or pasta followed by ice cream or coffee. The soup was good, pieces of fresh vegetables etc. It needed slightly more salt for my palate but better than it being over salted.
Pizza was good and the spaghetti bolognaise was very tasty, hot and obviously freshly cooked.
4 pints of coke was £6 which is good value. So total bill for a 3 course lunch for four of us including drinks and a 10% tip was £24. Amazing, this place really deserves to succeed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maralena's also viewed

Shildon, Bishop Auckland
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
 
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing