We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARALENA'S DOES NOT EXIST-IT'S NOW CAFE LIMONE”
Review of Maralena's - CLOSED

Maralena's
Price range: US$33 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“MARALENA'S DOES NOT EXIST-IT'S NOW CAFE LIMONE”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Maralenas and Savinos do not exist anymore,

It has been taken over and is now Cafe Limone.

As Cafe Limone it is rather excellent - great value, great service- wonderful food.

I have reviewed Cafe Limone separetely

You can check out Cafe Limone reviews on trip advisor or just pop in-Im sure you'll be impressed especially with their £3.95 3 course lunch special - do book though for lunch as it does get busy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MRS-SCOTT-KING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“21st birthday”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just arrived home from our son's 21st birthday celebrations at Cafe Limone Shildon, and what a night it was. There were 37 of us in total and even though there was another 21st birthday party going on, we never felt neglected. They made every one of us feel as if we mattered, especially our son, who they stood on a chair and sang happy birthday to, he was well embarrassed. We most definitely will be back for our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations in July.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ackyclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Consistently good food...”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Limone is consistently good in all area's. A busy little restaurant that is very reasonably priced. Attentive staff, special mention to 'George' , an asset to the place! The sweets are to die for...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Huge plates. Fabulous. Pizza and pasta sooo cheap a very good.
Service excellent. First visit but not the last. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

After reading all the nice reviews I though this place would be lovely however we were v disappointed the smell that hit us in the restaurant was awful. The food was ok avoid the chips like eating mucky fat. Be aware the 3course meal is only on 12-5. Overall disappointing and will not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wallis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maralena's also viewed

Shildon, Bishop Auckland
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
 
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
 
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
Shildon, Bishop Auckland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing