We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”

Main Street Market & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 38 Restaurants in West Point
Price range: US$5 - US$35
Cuisines: American
Description: We are a home owned, casual, family style restaurant! On October 1, 2012, we changed our status to non-smoking! Our menu includes everything from Steaks, Fish, Shrimp, Chicken, Ribs and BBQ Pork. Then there are Appetizers and Homemade Desserts as well as a Hot Dog and a PB & J for the kids.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a home owned, casual, family style restaurant! On October 1, 2012, we changed our status to non-smoking! Our menu includes everything from Steaks, Fish, Shrimp, Chicken, Ribs and BBQ Pork. Then there are Appetizers and Homemade Desserts as well as a Hot Dog and a PB & J for the kids.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The food was average at best. The waitress on duty seemed to have her favorites that she checked on. But the one thing that will keep me from going back was the guy in the back making the salads with his bare hands and no gloves. That did it for me.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service average food.....”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The service was absolutely friendly and efficient and the fodd was well.......average. Not that there is anything wrong with that. If you are looking for some comfort food give this place a try. Dinner for 2 with a couple of beers apiece was $50 plus 18% tip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainframer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting place to eat”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the outside, it looks like a convenience store until you see the sign that says advertising rooster livers. I asked and was told.....fish bait. So they have a little bit of everything! The cheeseburger I ordered was interesting but very tasty. It's a quarter pound burger on a tiny bun! Can't wait to go back and try something else!! The menu is of a wide variety and you can find it posted online on their facebook page

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, MS
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big food in a small town”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Honestly we only tried Main Street Market and Restaurant because we found they had a gift cert on restaurant.com. We knew we would be in West Point and would like to eat, so we tried them out for lunch.

Prices were reasonable for the most part, including a blue plate special. All our food was tasty and well done, and everything seemed to be huge portions-- Southern sized of course. :) We ordered a kid's fried catfish plate for the kids to split. The two of them still couldn't finish it all, but we were happy to help.

In order to get to the minimum ticket needed for the gift cert, we ended up having to order two pieces of pie. It's a hard job, but somebody has to do it, right? Their pies are homemade and have the tallest meringue you may ever see. Don't skip the dessert-- both the chocolate and lemon were sensational.

The only real downside to the whole experience, as others have noted, is that they have a smoking "section." Of course smoke can travel throughout the whole restaurant, and there was a noticeable odor because of it. Thankfully there were no patrons actually utilizing the smoking section during our meal, but it does cause hesitations for us.

All in all, this little place is down-home southern food at a high level with friendly service and great pies. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 23RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service at lunch”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Only get 30it minutes for lunch. Food was great but call ahead if you are on a tight schedule.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katiekiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing