We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic haven,the view of the sea were magical”
other travellers have booked this property
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
Chesil Lodge Cottage front view
Sea view from veranda over Lyme Bay
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Sea view from lounge
Kitchen
Dining table
Countryside views from garden towards Portland
View of Chesil Lodge Cottage from garden
Veranda seating area
Countryside views over organic farmland and National Trust land
Sunset on Chesil Beach
Gate to private garden and parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
West Bexington, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travellee...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic haven,the view of the sea were magical”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

As before, the chalet was very well equipped,warm, cosy & comfortable.
We immediately felt able to relax,& unwind.There were no disturbances...even the seagulls seemed quiet this time!
Although not on the actual beach-the sea view from the kitchen/living room area was marvelous & gave me many soothing vibes watching as the rain & wind hurled around & we battened down & ate a wonderful roast dinner with a few beers!
Bridport is a 15min drive,& a town which we found quirky & individual...but also had a supermarket which was useful
Best was the peacefulness,worse was the weather...but it was mid November!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmacguffi...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fantastic time at Chesil lodge cottage. The location is superb. You can see and hear gee sea from the lodge. It was amazing to sit on the patio having a cup of tea listening to the waves. The beach us stunning and only and few steps away. The cottage is very well equipped and I particularly a precise the welcome basket of milk teabags, biscuits and nd wine. The cottage us well place for exploring the local and area and I recommend and dreams visit to west bay harbour which us excellent for fishing and dread crabbing.
Overall it was gard to fault the accommodation there where the of us 3 adults and 2 children and dreadnought we found it very comfortable. I would certainly recommend and I small lol looking to revisit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent chalet, well equipped, relaxing time”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We found the chalet finished to a high standard with everything you need. The space worked well for all of us to relax. The owner is v nice and was on hand to help as needed and nothing was too much trouble to ensure our stay was comfortable. We liked the secluded location and it is sheltered and quiet, which is nice after long hot breezy days on the beach! Nothing really to find fault with and we recommend Chesil Lodge cottage. The only thing was v poor internet, phone reception but for a holiday I didnt miss it !!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellen h
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage is just so lovely. Set in a small garden overlooking Chesil Beach. Very well equipped with everything needed for an enjoyable stay. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Looking forward to going back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, overlooking the sea
Liked least: The cafe nearby didn't do breakfast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottishs...
Melton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“soothed to sleep with the lapping of the waves and the beach only a stone-throw away...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

would highly recommend this rental for friends or couples or small families. The facilities are excellent, it's a kitchen home from home, everything you need is there.
The small garden is sheltered and secluded, perfect for enjoying fizz in the sun and the Sunday papers.
Wished I had been on holiday so I could enjoy the beach more, it is a stones throw from the property and it is lovely, especially if you fish, mackerel i was told though did not see any fisherman with any.
The Manor hotel a wee walk up the road has excellent food and drink and we enjoyed a meal there. I will certainly be telling my friends about this place, it is fab!!
The only faults, if there were any was that the bed was too soft for my back, though I know some of my friends would have liked it and the wi fi is poor. This would not normally bother me but I needed access as I was there on business. There was a loose toilet seat and this has been repaired too.
I did not see the hosts but had good communication via emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: closeness to the sea
Liked least: the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieJ6...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet & Relaxing”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This chalet is in a perfect location for relaxation & just a short walk to the sea
Private off road parking
Lovely veranda to sit out & watch the birds & listen to the waves
Well equipped & comfortable beds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & private
Liked least: Sunday when it rained
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellee...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, relaxing & comfortable, in a marvellous location”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This chalet is incredibly well equipped.We ate in during the 4 day break,& took packed lunches with us during the day.
The walks along Chesil beach were superb - but we did have lovely weather!
Sitting on the veranda in the morning,drinking tea,& watching the garden birds,horses in the field & black running around hens was so relaxing.
We're hoping to return hopefully for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort & location
Liked least: seagulls rampaging on the roof
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing