We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Management”
Review of Senor Pique

Senor Pique
Ranked #18 of 98 Restaurants in Ballwin
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
830 reviews
647 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Bad Management”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Don't try using a groupon here and think it's going to be easy. God forbid they let you have a couple draft beers for a $1 off and still use it. I had to fight with the manager for a while who wasn't going to let me use my $30 groupon even though 3 of us spent $112 for a little mexican food and drinks. We wanted seperate tabs so the food and $40 of regular price drinks could be paid for by me. Come on really for that much money spent you hassle us and make it so none of us will ever be back...poor manager skills and I know as a former restaurant owner. I've posted TONS of reviews and if you look at my history almost none are rated Poor! On a good note the food is good, however traffic getting to this place on Manchester is a nightmare. Lose the attitude Señor Pique and don't just treat the regulars nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
367 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Try the Parrilada”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The parrilada for two is similar to ordering fajitas, but with so much more. It came with nicely trimmed chicken and steak, chorizo (mild), nopales, caramelized onions, and diced potatoes (quite spicy). The two of us left with enough food for a third person.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
329 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Unexpected great meal”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our party of 8 dined here on a Saturday night. We arrived around 5:30 and did not have to wait for a table. I had taken a peek at the online menu and wasn't actually all that excited about what I saw, but we were going as a group, so the decision to eat there was not mine. The menu seems more limited than most Mexican restaurants and there were some unusual options as well. We started off with complimentary chips and salsa. Very good. Margarita was delicious. We had a variety of entrees and everyone seemed to really enjoy what they ordered. My meal was one of the absolute best entrees I have ever had at a Mexican restaurant in this country. This is how it was listed on the menu: TACOS DE CHICHARRON (juicy jalapeno pork tacos) Chopped pork loin cooked with grilled jalapenos, tomatillo and onions served in corn tortillas with queso fresco. Served with Mexican rice and a
torta de papa (potato cake) 10.99
We have been to Mexico many times and this dish tasted so authentic. The spice levels were not dumbed down for American tastebuds. It was so full of flavor, I savored every bite. Not to be missed. This place was such a great surprise. Will definitely return next time we are in town!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Food was just ok, way overpriced for what we received. Slow service and food not served at proper temperature. Won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hlbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, MO
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A little overpriced”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The food was okay & atmosphere was fine, but place is a little overpriced for Mexican food. Nothing terrible, but nothing really special either.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MizzouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Senor Pique also viewed

 

Been to Senor Pique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing