We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite local pub”
Review of The Three Tuns

The Three Tuns
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Listed in The Guardian as one of the Top "Ten Best Pubs for a Summer Lunch" (August 2015) and by Wiltshire Life Magazine as one of the "Six Best Sunday Roasts" in the county (April 2015) A warm welcome awaits at The Three Tuns in Great Bedwyn, which is just 10 minutes from Marlborough through the Savernake Forest. We offer superb homemade food, a carefully selected wine list, delicious coffees and a fine selection of real ales. Come in and enjoy a traditional English pub atmosphere and a lovely beer garden.
Reviewed 30 July 2016

3 tuns is still 15-20 mins away but yet we make the effort to go as often as we want a delicious satisfying meal. Excellent beer & wine selection. Their food offerings just hit the spot. Great bar snack choices, good balance between pub classics and upto date culinary dishes ( always something exciting and different). A must choice for a Sunday lunch too especially winters when the large wood burner is glowing away. Lastly lovely staff good mix between experience and local charm. Top choice pub/ restaurant in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yandy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thank you so much yandy2016, we really appreciate your comments and review.

Best wishes,

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Very welcoming & , imaginative menu - chef described how dishes were made when asked. Really home made - right down to the glacé cherries in my amazing cherry & almond cake.... Highly recommended

Thank Promise13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Promise13,

Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your meal here and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We were a party of 6 and booked ahead to ensure we could get seats. Just as well, it was quite busy. We were served quite quickly, the food and staff were excellent. The dog was extremely happy, she was given a doggie treat (actually I suspect a couple more were slipped to her). Overall it was perfect for us to catch up on respective families whilst enjoying a nice meal. We will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Simon H,

Thank you for writing in with your lovely review, we really appreciate the support and are happy to hear of your experience here.

Best wishes,

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

After a gap of several years we revisited this pub taking friends for their first visit. A table for dinner had been reserved. On arrival we were met with by a young man who we assumed from his indifferent and rather offhand welcome to be a casual member of the bar staff. We later discovered he was one of the two owners. This unfortunate start seemed to colour the entire evening and although being a beautiful Saturday summers evening the pub was far from full and the actual restaurant empty. The food was good but expensive as was the wine list. £170 for 4 of us was far in excess of what we usually pay for a pub supper. The one good thing was the service of a young foreign waitress (Eastern European we thought) who was smiley, attentive and thoroughly professional.

This pub in the past has had a very successful history, full of eaters and locals enjoying a drink at the bar - a real centre to the village. The new owners will need to change their front of house manner if they wish to experience similar success. We shall not be making a repeat visit in the foreseeable future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carolynb949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We ate here on a Friday night. A beautiful little pub,really welcoming. We were a party of 6 but had not booked. Our waitress Ula was just lovely. So funny and personable. She joined in our banter and everything was done with a lovely smile and manner. The food was fantastic.it arrived exactly as ordered and was good value. Would definitely recommend the Isle of Wight tomatoes they were Sooo tasty. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Would definitely return

Thank Rosiesgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three_Tuns_Bedwyn, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you so much Rosiesgranny, that's really kind of you to say and so glad you all enjoyed it.

Best wishes,

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Tuns also viewed

 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Wilton, Marlborough
 
Collingbourne Ducis, Marlborough
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing