We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and peaceful, a perfect retreat!”
Looking towards Ruth's Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking towards Ruth's Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun
Carlotte's Post Office playhouse, for every childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Looking towards Ruth's Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun
Carlotte's Post Office playhouse, for every childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving
The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room
The Norman Guarderobe which houses the garden loo, so querky. You can sit on a throne be King of all
The lovey sunny kitchen which looks out to Ruths Cottage & Charlottes Post Office. What fun to play.
Sitting room with the woodburning stove, dining room beyond. So cosy and comfortable come home to.Ah
Tea in the Gazebo, lovely on a hot sunny day to catch a cool breeze. The water feature is qurky.fun
Tom's Lodge play house was on Shed of the Year. Folks come from miles around when the garden is open
Our garden was featured on BBC2 Open Gardens with Carol Klien what fun we had. Carol was inspired.
Another veiw of the peacefull garden for you to enjoy and relax. Maybe have a before dinner drink.
Sheep on the our Green in front of Spindle Cottage. They have come for a holiday as well, how nice.
The Barbecue has a Mediterranean feel, with a wonderful table to seat many, next to Ruth's Cottage.
The sunny conservatory from kitchen door. Whatever the weather this is the place to enjoy the view.
Dining room towards the kitchen, lovely pitch pine table, pews & dresser with willow pattern china.
Tom's Lodge playhouse & the Gazebo . Find Myrtle the Mermaid she is washing her hair, try the quiz.
Tom's Lodge an Elizabethan playhouse just waiting for children to enjoy and have fun brill Love it s
Inside Tom's Lodge playhouse, a little table & stools, even an upstairs. Mind how you go on stairs.
The lovely garden, just relax & enjoy. Lots of places to sit & enjoy lunch with a glass of wine.
View from the twin room balcony, with the Green beyond and we sometimes have sheep visiting,charming
The Owl and the Pussy Cat & the Pea Green Boat in the Post Office garden. The Box Hedge is the sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Binegar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful, a perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A truly beautiful cottage full of character and charm, and every home comfort you could wish for. Cosy and warm with central heating as well as a lovely wood burner in the living room, made for a wonderful short break during a chilly February! Our 6 year old couldn't wait to get home each evening to help light the fire, and he adored the little playhouses and finding all the hidden treasures and carvings around the house and gardens. Angela and Alban were the perfect hosts - welcoming and helpful for local attractions, pubs etc. Perfect location for visiting Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Wells and Weston-super-Mare. Would definitely recommend and would love to return, perhaps when it's warmer, to enjoy the gardens even more! Thank you for a relaxing stay, we fully recharged our batteries!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Dear Sue & family,
You were the perfect guest so thank you for booking Spindle Cottage for your short break, and a big thank you for your perfect review. Great praise for the cottage and for your visits to Somersets lovely attractions.
We shall always do our best to make your stay as perfect as it can be, so we look forward to your next holiday here. If we could summon up perfect weather for you we would but we shall have to leave that to Mother Nature. September is often great, hint! hint! Take care.
Kind regards,
Angela & Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOL7BARNS...
BARNSTAPLE
1 review
“Mendip Marvel”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Wow! We have just been transported back in time to a magical place called Spindle Cottage. What an adventure we've just experienced. A place right out of Hansel and Gretel where wonderful surprises kept being found. A welcoming cottage to relax in and absorb sights, smells and sounds of years ago. We didn't want to leave. Angela and Alban, you absolutely made our holiday one we'll never forget. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Wow, wow, wow! to your glowing review. Thank you for choosing Spindle Cottage, I am so glad you found us on your search on the internet. Your always welcome here and you have got to return because you haven't finished the quiz and not found the spider carved in the beam or Mrs Pig's little son Percy in the little bedroom, so that wont do will it?
Have a wonderful Christmas, lots of love. Angela & Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGNpton
Northampton,UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and well equipped”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our third stay in this wonderful cottage. It is well located for scenic visits such as Cheddar Gorge and independent shopping at the many Somerset towns such as Frome.
We love the garden and the amazing outbuildings. Alban is working on yet another building, this time a Shepherd's Hut and we were able to look inside and see the quality finish he is achieving.
The living space suits us as there are plenty of bathrooms and chill out areas, so everyone can go at their own pace and find a spot to suit them.
The owners are very welcoming, they are friendly and knowledgable, always able to give useful advice on a proposed trip.
We used the local pub to provide us with excellent takeaway pizzas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique character property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Hello Lynne, It was lovely for us to see you again at Spindle Cottage, you know the area quite well now so your reviews will help other guests and help us possible gain future guests.
We do look forward to you returning again and hopefully the Shepherds Hut will be finished and I will have equipped it with lovely curtains, bed linen, towels and china which I shall enjoy doing and we shall enjoy showing you around the finished Hut. Have a wonderful Christmas.
Much love, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay551751
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely week with lovely friends in a lovely cottage with lovely weather,”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We are scottish friends of the couple who made the booking, but just had to praise our lovely week with Margaret & Donald.
One cannot describe the wonder of this cottage. It is magical , quirky, homely and unique,
and the owners Angela and Alban are the most welcoming and kindly hosts we have ever come across. The work they have put into this holiday cottage is tremendous,and we only hope we can travel down from Fife to enjoy their hospitality again.
Thank you Angela & Alban. Til we meet again. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
Kay & Andrew

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Dear Kay & Andrew,
From the bottom of our hearts we thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to meet you and make sure your holiday was the best it could be. We do love sharing Spindle Cottage with guests like yourselves who feel the magic of this place.
It has always been a place to share from the moment we moved in. Old friends came to see what we had done to this derelict cottage. New friends came to party here, and some came to convalesce and recover. Now our beautiful home gives back to us and we get to meet lovely people like you. Come again soon.
Thank you,
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
achm1999
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Delightful cottage with wonderful hosts in a great location.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely comfortable cottage full of character in a beautiful garden.
Very well situated to visit the wonderful diverse Somerset countryside for walking, Wells for the cathedral and markets and NT houses and gardens.
Also several pubs within a short drive providing excellent food.
Many thanks Angela and Alban we so much enjoyed our week at Spindle Cottage and looking forward to a return visit in 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage created by Alban's carpentry craftmanship.
Liked least: Nothing to mention.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Dear Anna, Thank you for writing a lovely review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Spindle Cottage and we also are looking forward to your return visit in 2017.
Have a good Autumn with glorious colours. Dare not say Christmas its to early. Best wishes Angela & Alban.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were looking for a quintessential British experience in the country for our family (including three young daughters). We wanted a charming home to base ourselves, in a charming little village and with lots of other charming little villages to visit in the surrounds. It could well have been one of those pipe dreams that never quite happens. Indeed when we found and booked Spindle Cottage we were doubtful - surely it can't be as great as ALL the reviews suggest. Well, it was! The house is delightful. The garden was a treasure trove for young kids - incredibly crafted play houses for the girls surrounded by a beautiful cottage garden. Angela and Alban have created a treasure of a house and are treasures themselves. We feel very fortunate to have stayed there. We can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Oh my, oh my,oh my, your review takes my breath away. Your words are so beautiful, thank you so much.
We feel honored by you and we are so pleased that we have been instrumental in giving you the dream holiday that you thought might not exist.
Since we have lived here this has always been a place to share with others, family and friends also with people who needed some tender loving care a place to recover. We even had a door knocker with SANCTUARY on it. I don't know what happened to that knocker but now we can open the door to folks like yourselves who are ready to have fun, relax, explore, be a child again, feel at home or just be.
It was lovely for us to have you here. The welcome back is here for you.
Blessings.
Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A magical stay for all the family”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spindle Cottage is a magical place to stay for big and small people! From the welcome we received from Angela and Alban to the fun we had discovering all of the hidden surprises in the house and gardens - this really is a special treat for all the family. This little cottage holds a lifetime and more of stories and most are marked in the woodwork by Alban! Our teenage son admired the handiwork, our daughter thought it was all so romantic and our youngest was fascinated by the crooked doors and hidden treasures... not to mention the quiz!!! Ssshh!

Spindle Cottage was built in 1641 (i think!) but it is so well modernised and equipped there was absolutely NOTHING left to chance. It was a perfectly comfortable stay - home from home. The gardens and sheds are just a delight to view even on a rainy day. We are only sorry that we didn't have more time to relax and enjoy it all.

Great location for touring the area as our holiday included trips to Bath, Bristol, Wells, Longleat Safari Park, Chew Valley Lakes and Cheddar Gorge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We all loved the house - endless hours of discovering new things and how much it was lovingly restored by Angela and Alban.
Liked least: Nothing - it was absolutely was beyond all our expectations
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
We did love having you here and we do hope that when you come back you will be able to spend more time relaxing and chatting with us. We would love to know how your family flourish and hear of their news and plans for the future, we wish them well. We thought of you on your journey home and that you caught your ferry on time.
As we read your delightful review we could hear your beautiful brogue, the joyful spirit of you comes through, so we thank you for your company, for coming to Spindle Cottage, for your review and God willing your return. With love Alban & Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing