We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cosy in the Hobbit Hole”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bitton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Tyning Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bitton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy in the Hobbit Hole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely gardens, nice setting, scrumptious cooked breakfast, Margaret very friendly and welcoming, my usually-shy daughter was very much at ease. The Hobbit Hole was very cosy and comfortable, and amply warm even on a cold, wet night - we didn't need to use the heater. The short walk across the lawn to the loo was hardly noticeable, so short in fact (and partly under the shelter of the mature trees and shrubs) that a light shower could safely be ignored and the nocturnal walk undertaken in dressing gown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wine4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at West Tyning as it was the number one B&B on Trip Advisor for the area - having spent a couple of nights there it's easy to see why.

Margaret was friendly and welcoming from well before we even arrived, she made us feel at home and a lovely home it is too. The house is incredibly pretty - it's the sort of house that people dream to own one day and is perfectly maintained. The room was spacious, well decorated and very clean, the garden was immaculate and the setting is nice and quiet too.

The highlight (one of many) was definitely breakfast - we ate like horses as the food was so good, we didn't want to turn anything down!

All in all, a fantastic stay and well recommended. We're very much looking forward to returning at some point soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room - a lovely room at the back of the house overlooking the gardens and fiel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardJames2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

After a very warm welcome of our very sympathetic, helpfull landlady Margaret we enjoyed a very nice stay in this lovingly furbished B&B. We had the best full english breakfast in our whole journey through southern England (19 days!). Moreover we had the opportunity to stay in the Hobbit Hole for one night. Very special! Very cosy inside with nice adventurous lantern-lit nightwalks over the lawn to the toilet ;-))

Room Tip: Try the Hobbit Hole! Unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Me and my partner decided to get married in Bath on 7th December & stay at West Tyning 7th & 8th December 2013 (this review is slightly delayed!), upon telling Margaret this she was extremely hospitable and kept regular communication in ensuring that we had everything we needed incorporated in our stay. To top that we asked Margaret if she would possibly be able to attend our wedding as a witness (as we were not inviting any family or friends), Margaret and her daughter kindly agreed and we could not have been happier!! At 38 weeks pregnant Margaret could not have made our stay any more comfortable. The Garden Room was beautiful with long views into the countryside, it had everything required for a weekend away and pristine clean!! Breakfast was equally good with all local produce and even some homemade cakes for departure. We will be returning to West Tyning and have already recommended to friends and family. 20 mins into town centre and a lovely little country pub just around the corner. Stay here and you can guarantee a comfy care free weekend!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsR0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoo, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Another weekend spent at the gorgeous West Tyning B & B. Little gem in a beautiful location, service, rooms, breakfast, all is perfect and Margaret is a lovely host, together with 'Costa'!!
Will never need to look for another B & B in the area as have found the perfect place,
Thanks again Margaret and will see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights here to celebrate our Anniversary. We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was comfortable, well equipped and had beautiful views over the garden and surrounding countryside. There is a large choice at breakfast, the cooked breakfast was a highlight. All local farm shop ingredients, beautifully prepared and presented. But the best thing about West Tyning is Margaret herself who maDr us feel like old friends from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is to a very high standard. If you want a high quality, peaceful country b and b that is convenient for both Bath and Bristol then I would thoroughly recommend this. West tyning is a template for how all good b and A's should be. Phil and Linda Oliver

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at West Tyning in February 2014 while attending a wedding in Bath. Margret was very welcoming and the rooms were attractive, spotless and very comfortable. We felt very relaxed staying here and would be happy to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitton
1.2 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
3.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Arnos Manor
Arnos Manor
#36 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
5.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Tyning Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Tyning Bed & Breakfast

Property: West Tyning Bed & Breakfast
Address: West Tyning Wick Lane, Bitton BS30 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Bitton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bitton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast at West Tyning, just outside the beautiful village of Upton Cheyney on the edge of the Cotswolds between Bristol and Bath, is simply magical. The house, which was built in 1930,has since been modernised by the current owners.Situated a mere 15 minutes from junction 18 on the M4,the ancient city of Bath being just 4 miles away and the bustling city of Bristol 6 miles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing