We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally "Cool" for Two Seniors!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marvel Cave

Marvel Cave
Ranked #12 of 167 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A highlight of the Silver Dollar City theme park, this constantly evolving wet limestone cave under the Ozark Mountains, dating back to the 1500s, provides a one-hour tour of fascinating rooms and passageways. The cave's entryway is the largest in the U.S.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
458 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Totally "Cool" for Two Seniors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We wanted to tour Marvel Cave which my friend vividly remembered from his visit 55 years ago when he was 12). At that time, it was just a hole in the ground and there was no park.

Unfortunately, we had to buy the full admission park tickets at $54 each (after a whopping $2 senior discount- come-on SDC, give at least 10% to seniors)) in order to see it. The gr8 news for people going to the park anyhow is that the regular, one-hour tour is free with admission.

I must admit that the entry Cathedral Room was incredible (the Statue of Liberty would fit into it) and the entire cave tour was fabulous. The first 500 stairs were mostly downhill until the end, with the final 200 up to the tram. Wear sturdy, non-skid shoes as the floors are damp, and bring a light jacket as it it cool underground year-round. Eat and potty before the tour as there is no food/drink allowed and no facilities in the cave. The guide gave a lot of interesting information, and the kids there over the Columbus holiday loved the exploring and adventure. It was gr8 and my friend saw many improvements since his last visit in 1958 when he was 12.

Note: While waiting in line before the tour, a family with kids shared that they had been on the "lantern" tour the night before and wished they had done the daytime tour first with the lights on first to really SEE the cave. The lanterns allowed them to experience the cave in the dark as the original explorers did, not knowing where the next drop-off or dead end would be.

The part that made the ticket price worthwhile for me was that I'm a roller coaster enthusiast, and the Outlaw Run was incredible. It's one of the fastest wooden coasters, with two loops (feet above head) and several very sharp turns. The line was long with a 30 min. of anticipation to get one minute of sheer exhilaration! There were a few other coasters, lots of shows and amazing replication of old-time crafts like woodworking, candy making, etc.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    87
    19
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I really wanted to do this tour but I'm overweight and out of shape and was worried about it. I am so glad I finally decided to do it. My advice would be if your at SDC for the two days do this tour on your last day after your done with everything you want to do in the park. They do the cave tours every 30 minutes all day long. My legs were very sore for a couple of days after this tour so I would also advise doing the tour on your last day of vacation in the area. The beauty of this cave is well worth the trip, there are hand rails the entire way and fencing along the high areas. It really was not that bad. The cave is at SDC and no extra cost to do it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank meew1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An awesome way to enjoy nature - and Tony is the BEST GUIDE EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our trip to Silver Dollar City would have been worth it if only for our trip to Marvel Cave. While it was a bit of a trek (which they did warn us about in advance, thankfully) it was just incredible. The cave itself is a sight to behold and the history makes it even more interesting.

The best part of our tour through Marvel Cave though, HAS to be our tour guide, Tony. He was just wonderful! He really made the experience so interesting and informative - and most of all, fun! He really made everyone smile and laugh and really enjoy the walk through the cave - even when we were all huffing and puffing up and down what seemed like a zillion stairs. He really made the experience and deserves to be commended.

If you have the chance, this tour is definitely worth taking - and even moreso if you can get Tony as your guide!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Autumn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorville, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool cave for a summer respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Free cave with paid admission to Silver Dollar City. Many forget to see it when they visit the theme park. It is terrific.

There are lots of stairs and it is physically tough. Great views as you walk down and look up through the large entrance hole shedding light into the cave.

The tour is one hour and ends with a 3 minute tram ride out of the cave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A workout, but worth it. Lol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Very interesting and a sight to see. All those stairs are a workout though. Lol kids loved it, we loved it. A must see, and doesnt cost extra which is great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marvel Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing