We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Fun”

Mount Pleasant Winery
Ranked #62 of 170 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not Fun”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We visited the winery after enjoying our visit to Stone Hill and found one overworked person giving multiple tastings. For some reason, the second person there was not assisting. Waiting wouldn't have been a problem, but after choosing our five free tastings all of the wines were warm, not at the proper temperature, and we weren't told a thing about any of the wines. Unfortunately, I wouldn't visit here again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    78
    46
    29
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the wine”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The wine is superb here. My husband gravitates towards their Norton wine and I prefer the concord! We have always enjoyed coming here and usually very nice people. But good things usually come to an end and this past experience was truly disappointing. The wine was still of course superb, but the staff was super rude. They acted a little aggravated to be so busy and to have to stop and wait on a new customer.

Helpful?
1 Thank STARR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend an hour!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Touring Branson off-season is a bit of a challenge. We decided to put this in our schedule for an hour. There was no tour; just a wine tasting, It was off-season and we were easily accommodated. The gentlemen was very friendly that waited on us. Because of his patience we bought a more expensive bottle of wine that we probably would not have if it wasn't for him. Not a big selection of gifts; just a few. If you want wine merchandise you need to visit Stonehill Winery in Branson that offers a tour. They have great wine.....but I am a novice. Not really child-friendly. If you have children visit Stone-hill. They are better accommodated. They do both accept children.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KelliAnneKelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otwell, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for the Free tasting”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We came in as another couple who where not with us did, both couples were greeted by the staff us upon entering, letting us know someone would be right with us. A gentleman came from the back and asked us if we would like to taste some of the wines they offered. Both couples replied and he proceeded to give us directions and make some friendly conversation. He gave us a wine listing front and back and asked us to mark 5 per person of those we would like to try. He did not explain that the back was an optional tasting for $5 at the time. He went through and explained some of the wines as we tasted them but there was nothing offered nothing to cleans the palate between tastings and often didn't rinse the glass or offer too between samples. In addition to the wine tasting he offered a taste of the Goovy farms almond and coconut which we did try. The couple next to us also wanted to try some on the back list for $5 but was told that he was not allowed to do both and apologized for not explaining this prior. However, he offered to allow them to taste one each for $5 which they did and were not impressed with the more expensive type they sampled. Overall the staff was very friendly to us and seemed to be to the other patrons who came were their and those who came in with us. We bought a couple bottles and they told us about live entertainment they would be having the next day along with current discounts offered. Overall for the cost of their wine and the experience was pretty good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude employees, ok wine”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I was slightly turned off to this place from the beginning because we walked in and were informed that we had to pay five dollars for a tasting that was advertised as free because they had "live entertainment" which was one man, playing guitar who stopped playing before we even started sampling and didn't play again at all before we left. Completely ridiculous. We were told we would get it back if we spent twenty dollars, so we did, and at first we weren't even given it and when I asked she said we could only have five and not the ten we had to pay so that was a little upsetting. Before we went I was very excited because I saw online that you could bottle your own wine, but when I asked about it the employees just seemed irritated that I wanted to do it, and we had to walk around all of the "entertainers" things. And the label is says you get to make it just a white box on the back of the bottle and they hand you a black sharpie. Definitely not what I expected. The wine was ok, if I could have done a free sampling it might have been worth it, but the environment and attitude of the staff was a big turnoff. Save yourself the time and just go to stone hill winery down the street. So much better and more friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigidsinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Pleasant Winery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Pleasant Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing