We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at Best”
Review of Whipper Snappers

Whipper Snappers
Ranked #266 of 375 Restaurants in Branson
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Buffet
Description: WhipperSnappers - Home of the All-You-Can-Eat Lobster, Crab legs & Seafood Buffet.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre at Best”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We tried this place on the advice/recommendation of an acquaintance , and I have to say we were a bit disappointed. Rather difficult to find , and somewhat overpriced. We would most likely not return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    89
    81
    79
    225
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Plundering Pirates”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

No where in the dirty restaurant did they post a price for buffet and we were not even told the price until after my son had gotten a plate (because we waited so long for service) and after we had gotten our drinks. $40/person! Outrageous. I understand there is crablegs and small lobsters, but everything else on buffet was dry, overcooked, fried something or other. Definitely out to get the tourists with their insane price and overcrowded, dirty grubfest.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JSchmidt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took our grandchildren and the great-grands to Branson. And each day each grandchild had their day and they could choose where and what to do. The eldest wanted to go to this place. What a horrible place. Dark and dirty and they also wanted to charge the full price for 3 children that were under the age of 3. They did a limited child's menu which we did order. I love lobster and it was the absolute worst lobster I have ever eaten. Thank goodness the crab legs weren't bad. There were very few vegetables and some horrible desserts. Unless you want crab legs and crab legs only, don't waste your time or money there! Oh by the way, the waiter was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rattan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will never go back”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband is a true seafood lover so of course on his night to pick where we ate it was here. You go in through the back of a chicken resturant and it's underneath it. It was not very clean in here, there were plastic cloths on the tables (which I understand bc of messy seafood) but they were dirty and torn. I guess they were shorthanded bc the service was terrible. You pay the same price for the buffet for children as for adults. ( it's $40 by the way per person) now none of this would have really mattered if the food had been amazing but alas it was not. It was not even good. None of us were full when we left and I felt so sorry for my poor husband whose only request on the entire trip was "to find some great seafood" lol. We would never eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank MistyNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You get what you pay for all you can eat lobster and crab legs with shrimp cat fish and more only draw back is everyone want to take picture and sell it to you

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whipper Snappers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing