We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New owners need help” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge
Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New owners need help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

We have camped at this park for many years. After the way the new owners treated us we will not be back. Their slogan is "Where the campers come first". This was true when the Sims family owned the park. The new owners need help on customer service. We will not be back or recommend this park.

  • Liked — When the Sims family owned the park
  • Disliked — Owners and staff need alot or help, or they will be out of buisness soon.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JenKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    4
    10
    25
See reviews for
58
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

We have stayed at the campground for the past 8 years. We have a small RV that only sleeps 2 people. We have always put up a small tent for our grandchild right outside our door. I called the other day to make reservations and they told me they don't allow that anymore. No explanation. Last year when I first met the new owners I thought they were very unfriendly and this one on the phone the other day fit that same description. I would have even paid extra for this. But it didn't seem to bother them to lose my business.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank cantontexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

Have been camping here for over 10 years with the Sims family, the new company that has taken over are not as friendly and do not seem to know answers to questions when asked. On the last trip I was over charged $9 a day for our camp site. When I brought it to their attention the answer was that it was in the computer wrong. I wonder how many others were over charged . This was after they have been in charge for over 2 months. There are several other things that are done differenly from the Sims family but we were told that for the rest of this year they would continue with the same policys. We are branching out to other campgrounds. I know change is difficult and we were spoiled with the Sims family. We have tried staying with this new company twice since they took over and I still do not get a warm fuzzy feeling with them.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank grannyona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

Awesome camping sites with spotless bathrooms, scenic views, & covered decks with picnic tables overlooking woods! This place is AMAZING......I never saw a scrap of trash or dirt in the bathrooms. They must clean them hourly. (?)

Nice outdoor pool and wooded trails. Very close to Silver Dollar City.

Don't let first impression scare you away. At the entrance of the Main Campground, where we stayed, the "indoor" pool is visible, and does not appear to be in tip-top shape. Drive thru and you will be pleasantly surprised. Only 1/2 of the sites back to the woods, so be sure and asked for a site overlooking the woods. You won't be disappointed.

We haven't had any experience with the cabins/motel owned by the same owners, but as far as the campground goes, it is first rate!!

Later in the week we visted the Yogi Bear Jellystone Campground near Six Flags St. Louis, and even the kids agreed that they preferred the Compton Ridge Campground!

  • Liked — Spotless Bathrooms, Camping Sites
  • Disliked — "Indoor Pool" looks run down. Needs to be updated for better first impression.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frog_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort wayne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2007

We rented a cabin, the blinds were broke, there was dead wood roaches all over the place. We informed the owner about this, and he was rude, and acted as though I expected to much. The sheets and bedding were dirty, and we had to acutally 'pick' little black bugs out of the sheets. We would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank l0ve2travelar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid,OK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

I've been going to Branson for over 17 years now, and during the last
5 or so years we have stayed at Compton Lodge almost everytime we went to Branson. It isn't what I would call a 4 star hotel or anything and there aren't many amenities...but man oh man, I love the
view!!!!!!!!! From the road this place looks like nothing special, but from the back side there are big decks and ol'time rocking chairs
that over look one of the most beautiful mountain valley scenes you could ever imagine. In the fall, it is like you are part of a bold fall painting. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They even have little kitchenettes which are great. And...now for the second best thing...the price!!!!! It is such a great deal!! It is hard to find such a nice place to stay for only about $30 or $35 bucks a night!! I definately recommend staying here. Hope you enjoy it!

  • Liked — The scenery and the price!
  • Disliked — Not very handicap accesible.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2005

We have stayed several times at the Compton and have enjoyed every time we have visited. We planned a family reunion there in 2003 and everyone liked it so well we are going back again this year over the 4th of July for another one. It is clean, friendly, accomodating, and I enjoy the larger rooms and the scenery also. We may plan all the reunions there and the price is right also, even with the kitchenettes. Truly enjoyable.

Stayed June 2003
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Branson hotels
2.3 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#27 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.7 mi away
Branson KOA & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Cardinal Hill Cottages
Cardinal Hill Cottages
#25 of 72 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Cottage Resort and Market
1.1 mi away
The Old Southern Inn
The Old Southern Inn
#18 of 72 in Branson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Golden Arrow Resort
Golden Arrow Resort
#54 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge

Property: Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge
Address: 5322 State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-6129
Region: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compton Ridge Campground Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing