We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tony Orlando's Christmas Show is a great true story of Christmas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welk Resort Theatre

Welk Resort Theatre
Ranked #70 of 167 things to do in Branson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Welk Resort Theatre is a 2200 seat venue that has hosted the biggest names in entertainment. From concerts, to live productions, and even large conferences, competitions and pageants, The Welk Resort Theatre provides the perfect venue for any live event.
Somerset, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tony Orlando's Christmas Show is a great true story of Christmas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This show is awesome! The first half is not a Christmas show. It is a great presentation of Tony's hits, introduction of his amazing band and extraordinary performances. Tony shares his story of his life as a child and how he accomplished his dream! He has a tremendous tribute to veterans, honoring the veterans in the audience. This brought tears to my eyes! You could feel his heartfelt appreciation to all veterans. He even had a moment of silence for the deceased veterans. The Christmas show was excellent. As Christmas is often a child's holiday, Tony combines the true meaning of Christmas along with the excitement of Christmas from a child's view. He is an outstanding performer and truly performs from his heart. The Christmas show is centered around the birth of our Savior and the excitement of a child. It truly is amazing how this is done in one spectacular show. This show will leave you with the true Christian meaning of Christmas and love of mankind.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBelsarInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Tony Orlando, Christmas Show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We had great seats (2nd row center) and enjoyed the show, but I must say the performance did not live up to my expectations. The Christmas skit reminded me of a high school play, not a professional broadway type show. Shout outs to the actor who played Santa Claus in the Christmas portion if the show and the band member who could sing like Waylon, Willie, and Cher. They were the stars of the show.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis10_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
240 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We saw the Tony Orlando show and really wish we had skipped it. We would liked to have remembered him when he was at his best instead of now. The last half of his show was a Christmas story with Santa and would have been fine for a small child not adults.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyandretired318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushville, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This may have been our most expensive show and biggest disappointment. Even though this is a theater production we expected a little bit more. We realize time is a factor and lots of people want to participate, but the prizes were low end and the big prize "showed" a car, but you had to be within $100 to get it. At our show a husband AND a wife were called and a mother AND daughter were called. I'm sure it was "random" but seems it should have been spread to others. Those who were called up did get a t-shirt, but at the end one could go spin the big wheel for just $20. hmmmm. At least they didn't try to sell a CD too. Lots of coaching the audience. Mark Walberg did a great job and his announcer did too. Think twice before you decide on this show.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Price is right...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The price was wrong for this show! For the ticket price truly expected more in terms of what was given away to contestants. Must have had 500 people and little more than trinkets were prizes. The stage props are very dated, the host was insulting, and it seems like it soley put together to make money and not entertain! Save your money and go buy your own prize for $35.00!

Helpful?
Thank willaminadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelkBranson, General Manager at Welk Resort Theatre, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We are very sorry you did not see the entertainment value of being in a live game show atmosphere and having the opportunity to win cash and prizes.
We hope you did experience the tremendous amount of excitement this show generates every night. Guests are very vocal about the fun they have, even if they do not get a chance to play, and you can tell by the live crowd how much fun they are having.
We are also sorry if you felt the host was “insulting”. Though we do not know what specifically you are talking about, we do know that Todd Newton is not a host who insults our guests. There is a certain amount of good natured teasing that goes on whenever a game show is played between the host and guest, whether it is on TV or live in our theatre. If you saw this as insulting, again, we apologize.
Our show is in its second season and the sets and props are now a year old. They were built specifically for our theatre, with the design done in association with The Price Is Right television show. We are sorry you did not like them.
The Price Is Right Live gives the opportunity to our guests to win thousands of dollars in cash and prizes every show, but contestants have to win them. If you were at a show where they did not win a lot of prizes, than it might seem like there is no value in it. But we believe that the excitement and fun generated by the crowds, the games, the hosts, the sets and props and the chance to win prizes, is the real value, and we know that the vast majority of our guests agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welk Resort Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Welk Resort Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing