We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhhhhh... its okay.”
Review of Scenic Hills Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hills Inn
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ehhhhhh... its okay.”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here for one night this past weekend, just so we'd be down in Branson for our kids' swim meet on Saturday morning. An "okay" property, and you can tell at one time in its' prime it was a nice hotel... but it is showing its age.

first thing -- should have known something might have been a little off when there was no A/C in the front lobby when we checked in -- and not much A/C in the hallways as we came in the building. Dont know if they were conserving energy, or if this is how it is.

Kinda smelled musty as we came in the door to the elevator. Hot elevator, no A/C.

Came into our room (has a key, no "key card" by the way)... and it too was musty/damp smelling, not fresh. Sheets were clean, but towels were musty. Had a fridge in the room, but it wasnt on, so we couldnt keep our food we brought cold in it until it got colder -- which was several hours later, so we just kept our food in the ice cooler we brought with us. Nice flat screen TV in the room. Decor was okay, a little dated. A/C unit kept the room cool, but no auto option, so it grinded all night.

Walls and floors are thin, so we heard the elephants above us stomping around until midnight, and neighbors next door -- their shower going late, was like it was in our room, not to mention the vent in the bathroom too. I always travel with earplugs, so if you're a light sleeper, you'll need that for the noise around you.

Cleanliness -- I really didnt see an issue, but the musty smell was something that turned me off. I found a couple of black hairs at the sink when I went to use it, but threw them in the trash. Toilet was clean, shower was clean. Very SMALL bathroom, but do-able for one night.

Only 2 pillows per bed, so if you want additional, bring your own. We checked in at 9:30 p.m., and the front lobby closes at 11pm., so if you need something beyond that, you're out of luck. 2 blankets were in the dresser for covering up if needed.

Next morning, we had wanted a great breakfast as the other reviews said there cinnamon rolls, and biscuits and gravy, and waffles............well........ yes there were these things, but the gravy was in little containers you had to heat up. The biscuits were not fresh and fluffy. The cinnamon rolls were up on a tray (plastic box, with doors) like where you'd see bagels/donuts, and were not fresh and warm. Yes there was some cereal and milk. Hard boiled eggs were in the fridge with the gravy in cups. Some fruit juice. And I did not like the coffee at all. Wow, I actually poured it out. Waffles were not freshly made, probably from a box. My kids tried to eat them, and opted not. We wrapped up, and left and went to the nearby grocery store for coffee and breakfast items to eat at the swim meet.

All in all, in a pinch we'd probably stay again for maybe ONE night, because it was a reasonable rate and better than another hotel we stayed at recently at the same price point -- but Savannah House is much better in the same area on the Red Route, and has nicer decor and actual hot, freshly made breakfast options.

We did not check out the pool, so we cannot review that. Hope this was helpful.

Room Tip: there are 4 floors, we were on floor 2... so maybe the noise is better on an upper floor when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissouriBusyMomOfTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    42
    25
    9
    12
See reviews for
68
65
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed in the King Jucuzzi Suite for our anniversary and enjoyed it. The room smelled like wet carpet a little but that's understandable because of the large tub. It was how ever very clean. Breakfast cinnamon rolls were good as well as biscuit and gravy. Only thing is that the keys should be updated to cards but we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrown0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Older, but very well kept! Nice location and close to most of the action. The owners used to have a Polish bakery and were we ever surprised to see their fresh baked cinnamon rolls out for breakfast! Most hotel chains can not top this touch from a Mom and Pop! We would stay here again! Thanks for the surprise! Bruce and Pam, Woodbury, Minnesota

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucepamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This place is definitely good value for the price. The rooms are well cleaned not just supplied with new linens (I saw one of the housekeepers dusting in a room across the hall).

The beds only have two pillows on them so if you are with somebody and are like me and sleep with more than one pillow bring an extra; it may be possible to ask for an extra though I didn't try.

The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. However, the lobby closes at 11 pm and is closed all night.

The breakfast was definitely above par for your included continental breakfast; it had fresh homemade cinnamon rolls as well as biscuits and gravy that were personally some of the best I have ever had.

The only one negative I have to say about this hotel is that they still use the old fashion metal keys for their rooms instead of the credit card style ones in almost all other hotels. I really didn't like this aspect of the hotel because you are forced to carry around a metal key with a giant plastic keychain on it everywhere you go. There is a 5 dollar lost key fee if you don't keep track of the keys they give you at all times. I also feel like there is an element of security that is lost with the old keys because if somebody before you keeps their key they now have a key to your room (I would be surprised if they change out the locks every time a key goes missing, $5 doesn't seem to be enough to cover that expense). Also, if you lose your keys after 11pm or lock yourself out of your room accidentally there is no way to get into your room as the lobby is closed and locked up and you will have to pay for a night at another hotel unless you can come up with a better solution. If it weren't for this one negative I would have given them 5 stars.

All-in-all, I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor, these are the only ones with actual "sceni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed here the past 2 summers. If you want inside coridoors, but don't want to spend an arm and leg, this is the place for you! It's not the most updated place, but it's comfortable, quiet and clean. Staff are friendly. Lots of parking. Pool is small but nice. I only have one suggestion for management, and that is that they upgrade from room "keys" to electronic key cards, and also put chain locks on the room doors.

Room Tip: Select a room on 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend. For the price you can't beat Scenic Hills Inn. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The beds were quite comfortable, and I believe there is a refrigerator in every room. I noticed the bath towels were very soft, unlike other hotels where the towels are like sandpaper. The A/C worked great and it didn't cycle on/off like others, which usually keep me awake by doing so. We really liked this area as well. It's on the Blue Route, so it's easy access to the Tanger Outlet Mall as well as Branson Landing and other attractions. The front desk staff was very friendly. The breakfast items are limited, but enough for smaller appetities. The cinnamon rolls were great! The only problem we encountered were the noisy people in the room above us, but that is certainly not the hotel's fault. I highly recommend this property. Again, it's very clean and has a very reasonable rate. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StraitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have stayed at the Scenic Hills Inn in the past and enjoyed every minute there so, we booked reservations for May 2012. This hotel is very clean and nice and quiet. The breakfast includes homemade cinnamon rolls and they are yummy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutherford1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Branson hotels
0.2 mi away
Ozark Valley Inn
Ozark Valley Inn
#78 of 140 in Branson
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Classic Motor Inn
Classic Motor Inn
#47 of 140 in Branson
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosebud Inn
Rosebud Inn
#31 of 140 in Branson
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whispering Hills Inn
Whispering Hills Inn
#13 of 140 in Branson
627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Honeysuckle Inn and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Branson/Near the Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hills Inn

Property: Scenic Hills Inn
Address: 2422 Shepherd of the Hills Expy, Branson, MO 65616-8119
Region: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scenic Hills Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming just renovated,100% non-smoking hotel offers interior corridors,guest laundry,elevator,handicap access,business center, outside pool and hot tub. The luxury rooms have 32”flat screen TV with premium cable channels, coffee maker, fridge,free WI-FI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Every morning we serve a complimentary breakfast with famous homemade cinnamon rolls, biscuits-gravy, french toast, waffles, bagels, hot and cold cereals, fruit, boiled eggs, juices, coffee, milk and many more. Nestled into rolling hills the Scenic Hills Inn is tucked away from noise and traffic of 76 Highway but still has easy access to all that Branson offers. Scenic Hills Inn is conveniently located on Shepherd of the Hills Expressway between Shoji Tabuchi Theater and Sight & Sound Theater only 7 miles north from Branson Airport (BKG), 45 miles south from Springfield International Airport (SGF) and just 4 miles west from Silver Dollar City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hills Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing