We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Oaks Inn
Nearby Hotels
Baymont Inn & Suites Branson(Branson)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savannah House Hotel(Branson)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Branson W 76 Central(Branson)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Center Pointe Inn(Branson)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westgate Branson Woods Resort(Branson)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Grand Victorian(Branson)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welk Resort Branson(Branson)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
59
54
33
26
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
54
33
26
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuits and gravycontinental breakfast was very goodlarge indoor poolroom was largeclean place to staystaff was very friendlyice machinehotel roomclean roomsshepherdexpresswayimaxmaintenancetrafficshows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Love Hotel Impossible! So much so that I stayed at Southern Oaks in Branson... Was very disappointed they didn't stick with Anthony's habits... They charge for a fridge in the room, had spider webs in the bathrooms (so much so that we had to call and have someone kill the huge bug stuck in it), drains were plugged, toilet overflowed (from a little bit of toilet paper), they came and fixed toilet and said the cleaning lady would clean the floor, came back to a wet floor, no ironing board in my room, tv from 1990's, signs all over my mirror so I took them off, actually signs everywhere..., no extra blankets (thank goodness for the friendly employees) ... and so much more. I will say that the employee's were very friendly and helpful. It was almost like they were apologizing to me all weekend because they knew there were problems... Anthony should do a check up on your hotel do a show on it! I would love to see you fix these problems, but not sure if you want to be fixed. Eventually your 5 minutes of fame (from being on your show) will end and you will go under unless you can get up to hotel standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a door inside. We had a room at the end by the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HotelImpossibleFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is very important to us that our guests have a great stay and we take our guest experiences seriously and strive to prevent problems and address any as they arise to ensure a pleasant stay with us in Branson.

We do have routine professional pest control visits for our property to stay ahead of this issue of cob webs. Unfortunately a spider web can be made in a matter of a few hours but we are taking steps to check closer during our inspections of our rooms for this and other issues.

Since the Hotel Impossible visit with Anthony and his staff, we have been working on plans to address the items discussed, such as ironing boards, and we are adding more ironing boards to our supply and are working toward the goal of having these added to each room.
We chose to start with updates of 55 of our rooms which included new bedding; decorative top sheets, increased the number of new pillows on each bed, bed skirts, new blankets, painted accent walls, new curtains, new art. In August we added refrigerators to our updated rooms and continue to add more throughout the month. We strive to offer our guests a great value and now offer a hot breakfast of eggs and sausage along with biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, donuts, cereal, fruit bowl, toast, milk, juice, coffee and tea.

Our records show that we addressed a toilet issue in your room in a timely manner and it is our policy to always sanitize the floor and surrounding area after a toilet issue.

Thank you for your compliments to our staff, we are very proud of our employees and know they work very hard to help our guests have a pleasant stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn.

We are working to make more updates and improvements. We hope that you will be able to come and visit again in the future and see our progress,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My last review (May 2012) was good but pointed out a few areas that needed updating. I'm so happy to say, the nice pillow top mattress and bedding/linens were very nice and comfortable. We really appreciated the new addition of eggs and sausage to the free breakfast offerings!!! As a diabetic, I didn't eat the old breakfast because it was a carb feast. thanks for the protein! The people at Southern Oaks Inn are friendly and eager to help (front desk, breakfast lady and maintenance man). This Inn has been our family's favorite for going on 24 years and will for many more years. The location is perfect!

Stayed: April 2013
1  Thank MrsSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a follow-up review from your previous visit at Southern Oaks Inn. We are excited to have been able to make the updates for many of our rooms and hope to continue to add more in the future. Since your last visit in April we have added refrigerators to all of our updated rooms and several other rooms. It means a great deal to us to know that our guests have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us and come back to Branson again and again. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Happened to see the show " Hotel Impossible" focused on this hotel the same week I was going to Branson.

The show revealed a hotel that was mostly doing well except for management issues which they were trying to address.

Upon arriving in Branson, mostly out of curiosity, I drove to this hotel. Just as in the TV show, the hotels huge parking lot was completely empty. Hotels on either side both had numerous cars in their lots while this one had none. This was concerning of course - "why is no one staying here?"

My daughter and I went to the front desk and asked to inspect a room before deciding if we would stay there. The lady at the front desk was friendly and professional and readily gave us a room key to inspect a room.

The room was very large, much larger than typical hotel rooms. The room had been updated as documented on the TV show, with fresh paint, a color contrasting wall and new bed linens. The AC worked well, the free WiFi worked great and connected without issue. The TV was an old tube model, not a modern flat screen but it worked well. The furniture was also older, but clean and usable. The carpet was clean and the room smelled fresh.

The bathroom was very clean and fully functional, but a bit on the small side, perhaps even cramped compared to the spaciousness of the sleeping area. The tub/shower was a typical hotel pre-fab acrylic unit. As another reviewer noted, the shower is great for short people and children, but if you are taller, the shower head is mounted too low to be convenient. This is a minor nuisance.

The only cosmetic issues I saw that needed attention were the ceiling above the shower and the sink itself. The ceiling appears to have been repaired (poorly) from a water leak in the room above. The repair patch was unsightly and needs a little attention to make it appear more professionally finished. The only other issue was with the sink. The bottom of the sink bowl had several fracture cracks around the drain. None were significant enough to cause a leak but it was unsightly to look at.

Neither of these cosmetic issues were showstoppers - the bathroom was clean and sanitary. There was not even dust or dirt on the ledge around the top of the shower stall, meaning the housekeeping folks were not just hitting the high spots. Considering that I didn't come to Branson to stare at the shower ceiling or the sink drain in my hotel room, these were not significant issues and were only cosmetic in nature.

Overall I found the hotel room to be very welcoming, clean and nice. Totally acceptable. My 13 year old daughter did as well and she is as picky as most teenage girls are. :)

The room (#159) was close to the heated indoor swimming pool. The pool area is 4 star hotel quality with glass walls and wooden ceiling planks. Extra towels were provided as well. The indoor pool area is awesome.

We returned to the front desk where the clerk was curious to know what we thought of the room. We told her it was fine and asked about price. The hotel was having a special - $49 for two people, kids free. This is an amazing price for an overpriced tourist area like Branson. We signed in and dropped our luggage in the room and went to see the shows.

The room included breakfast, which was the basic, typical continental breakfast. The fruit provided was apparently canned rather than fresh so it looked less appealing. Some popular items (biscuits, muffins, etc) were available periodically but went quickly and were not refilled right away. This meant that some guests showed up and left with the impression that the breakfast selection was even more limited. Overall, breakfast was considered acceptable by family members, assuming you were patient enough to wait for all items to restocked.

The room didn't have an iron or board provided. Asking at the front desk, they could not immediately locate one but promised to have one brought to the room, and did so within 10 minutes.

Maintenance crews stopped by the room to ensure the air conditioning was working as it was the first time AC had been needed for the season. Very nice.

My kids loved the indoor pool. The entire indoor pool area was top notch. There is also an outdoor pool but it was still closed for the season.

Very little noise transferred from other guest rooms was noted.

My family found the hotel to be a great place to stay at a very affordable price, easily the best value we encountered in a very expensive tourist area. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel amenities were nice and you can't beat the price. I would not hesitate to stay here again on my next visit.

By the way, the empty parking lot that had been so concerning on arrival was packed with a number of cars by the next morning. Don't let an empty lot worry you when you arrive.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougForce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn and for coming by to check out our hotel after seeing the Hotel Impossible episode. This was a great experience for us and we a working to address the issues we all discussed on the show. It does take time and much resources to make these changes and hopefully our guests will understand and take note of our updates. We are always looking at issues that we can address and improvements for our property, such as the bathroom sinks. We have been making repairs in sinks that have had the fissures appear (after what we think may have been hot coffee being poured down the sink) We have also repaired the ceiling in the shower/tub area in this room very nicely early this spring. We have a very good maintenance team and we do try to address issues as soon as possible.
We are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed our indoor pool. We have taken great care in keeping the pool safe and again we are proud of the job our maintenance does in keeping the pool clean and safe. This is of great importance to us and the safety of our guests.
Since your stay with us we have have added sausage, and eggs to our menu along with the other items we normally have on our menu. We realize the breakfast hour can become quite busy and our breakfast ladies work hard to keep the breakfast buffet supplied. We want to give our guests a great value for their stay with us here at Southern Oaks Inn.
We have also added refrigerators to our updated rooms (including the room you mentioned) since your stay with us and have also added some to our rooms with the traditional decor. We are adding more irons and ironing boards to our inventory to help in providing these items when requested in a timely manner.
We have a wonderful staff that strives to make sure our guests have a great stay and we are glad you experienced this during your stay with us. Again thank your for taking the time to write a review, we have many satisfied guests and it means a lot that they take the time to write a review. We hope you will return again and have a great time here in Branson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stay at this hotel several tikes a year, this time we had a veranda room by the indoor pool. It was great!!!! The maid service did an excellent job. Our king size bed was very comfortable. We loved the new updated bedspread and colors. The breakfast was simple but good.

The changes that my husband and I would like to see are: perhaps a loveseat or big recliner in the room and chairs on the veranda, breakfast room and poolside to accommodate the heavier built guest.

Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful.

We love staying here and I believe the veranda rooms are what we will be requesting in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your review for your stay with us in September. It means a great deal to our staff to know that our guests have a great stay. We are very glad you enjoyed our Veranda Room and the indoor pool. In the future, you may request a recliner in the room to make your stay more enjoyable. We have taken note of the need for different chairs around the pool area.
Since your stay with us in September we have added sausage and eggs to our menu along with the other items on menu, and have also added refrigerators to our Standard Updated rooms. Thank you for mentioning our hotel staff, we are very proud of our staff and how they strive to make check in easy, make sure our rooms are clean and our guests have a pleasant stay with us while here in Branson. Again, thank you for your review and we hope you will return soon and have a great stay with us again. Branson is a great place to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

If you don't want to read my whole review here's what you need to know. THESE PEOPLE HAVE MADE A VERY CONSCIOUS EFFORT TO IMPROVE THEIR HOTEL BASED ON YOUR REVIEWS!
On our most recent trip to Branson (December 8, 2012) I had booked a reservation for a "better rated" hotel when I decided to travel a night earlier than expected. The staff at the "better rated hotel" told me they did not have any rooms available. I did a lot of research and decided on the Southern Oaks Inn. After booking our room I read all more of the reviews and quickly became worried. When we arrived the gentleman at the desk greated us warmly and told us everything we needed to know. Our room was one of the updated ones on the "outside" of the building. It was spacious and clean. I had brought my own pillows because of one of the comments, but there were 4 pillows on each bed. The mattress was firm but not any worse that the "better rated hotel". The air conditioner worked and wasn't too loud. The "smell" on the inside of the building has been taken care of. It now smells like apples and cinnamon. The pool was clean. Breakfast was good, there was plenty and the fruit is fresh not canned (the apples looked funny so maybe next time you should not slice them). and same gentleman greated me warmly as I checked out and asked if we enjoyed our stay. It was nice for what we paid! We left happy and would stay again (maybe in a suite next time). I DO WISH SOMEONE HAD WARNED ME THE SHOWER WAS MADE FOR SOMEONE 3 FT TALL!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senecalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews