We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close camping but private and woodsy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Dollar City's Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close camping but private and woodsy”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our overall camping experience at The Wilderness Campground was very nice. I'll rate each section separately so you can choose if it's important for you:
Sites: 4/5 Very shady, lamp post, fire ring & picnic table included, gravel pad had to use 1 board
Price: 5/5 Not a bad price for full hookup at $34 per night, 15% off with a season pass makes it only $28.90 (30 amp sites) We paid $69 per night in Texas last month and didn't even get a fire ring or picnic table and we were sandwiched in like sardines with concrete everywhere. This setting is much more like camping should be.
Cable: 5/5 excellent cable channels with many choices if you have a new TV with digital and analog channels for reception, no problems here.
WiFi: 1/5 Yes, they did have free WiFi, no codes required, but it would never load a page when we tried.
Cleanliness: 5/5 We had our own facilities, but checked out the shower/bathrooms and they were nice and clean, granite counters, lots of stalls, although I'd want to wear flip flops in the showers
Noise level: 3/5 Our site was a pull thru (#149) near the highway, so quite a bit of noise from traffic, but not so bad to say we wouldn't stay there again. The back of the park would be pretty quiet, but those sites were not real long, just be sure to specify how long of a site you need.
Shuttle: 5/5 Very convenient to ride the free shuttle bus to SDC. They will give you a printout of the exact times to board each way. We really liked that perk which is why we stayed here.
Pool: 4/5 Looked clean, was very large, but with lots of children swimming there, so us older folks decided to pass on it.
Store: 5/5 The general store had everything you might want or forget to bring and they stayed open until 10:00 pm.
Game room: 4/5 Looked slightly dated with some video games and pool tables, but children of all ages would love it.
Cabins: Did not enter into any of them, but we walked both nights and saw inside views of some and they looked really nice inside. The outsides were awesome with porches, rockers, picnic tables, etc. Very charming if you wanted a different option than a hotel room.

Room Tip: Request the back of the park for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjh1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    55
    23
    9
    10
See reviews for
134
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is our second time staying at the Wilderness cabins and both of our stays were awesome! Each site has access to a grill and small fire pit, which makes cookouts and sitting around the fire and roasting marshmallows/smores very easy. This last trip we brought several family members and made it more of a family reunion and everyone had simply the best time ever! The kids loved to play in the playground within the campground and run around exploring, collecting rocks, kindling for our fires. This is just a great place to stay, highly recommend for those people looking for a little more outdoorsy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back perimeter of the campground with view to Silver Dollar City allows you to hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linn, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a wonderful recent stay here for 3 nights. We didn’t have any difficulty with backing into our spot (87) and it was almost perfectly level, which was an added bonus. Only downside was the spot wasn’t super big, so the picnic table and fire ring were in awkward spots. Other reviews are definitely accurate about their not being a lot of room to park your vehicle so be prepared for that. We were a short walk from the bathhouse and pool – both of which were clean at all times. The playground was pretty small and definitely meant for smaller children – as my 7 and 11 year olds were too big for it already. Wi-fi was spotty at best and didn't work more than it did. Plenty of cable channels available, which is always a plus for the kids. Camgpround was fairly quiet at all times, even with the number of people staying there. Location was great in proximity to Silver Dollar City and to get back in town quickly. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wolfeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The cabins are great!! Way better than I expected. We stayed in cabin #10. The cabins come with dishes, silverware, gas grill and linens. Great location!! You are only a couple of miles to just about anything you want to do. And one more great thing they have a shuttle to silver dollar city that runs about 3 to 4 time a day. Awesome stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HML2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We rented a cabin at Wilderness campground and absolutely loved it. The cabin was gorgeous, the beds were very comfortable and the setting was perfect. The pool was clean and the kids had a blast, and the staff was very friendly. My one complaint was that the bundle of firewood we bought was so green it wouldn't even burn with diesel fuel - very frustrating when the kids are excited about roasting marshmallows. Fortunately my niece found enough dry sticks in the surrounding woods to build a small fire. Would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a camping spot or cabin away from the road - it is very busy and noisy if you are on that si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This trip was spur of the moment trip for my husband and I. We decided to check out Silver Dollar City and Outlaw Run Roller Coaster thanks to the Travel Channel show that highlighted the roller coaster as a top wooden roller coaster in the world. I booked our spot at Wilderness Camp and was completely blown away at the park's atmosphere. We had a great spot to park our camping van. The shuttle service to the park was a wonderful touch and a really nice feature to have. This took a lot of worry from our stay. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The other campers were equally as nice. We had an absolute blast at the park and the camp and will definitely come back again. This was a wonderful experience and a wonderful place to visit. So much to see. We stayed for two days, as this was all we could do for now. We will be back to stay longer and see more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived Thursday July 17th in the afternoon. I had already reserved oir tent site the day before. Never could get anyone to answer the phone and left a message to get a return call. Lady who made my reservation was very impatient and came off rude. Ignoring this I gone ahead a made the reservation. We got a tent site wothout eletric and water towards the back. Coming to the office no one greeted us even though 2 were at the desk. They acted as if we were invisible. Aboit 5 minutes later they finally asked if we needed help. We paid our balance and headed to the site. They were far and few campers and we liked it that way. The following morning Friday July 18th the showers were clean although the bathroom on the lady's side entrance smelled nasty (our whole stay). Of coarse tent sites started to fill Friday and Saturday (as expected). Saturday and Sunday (July 19-20) Lady's bathrooms had no hand soap, toliet paper, and were a mess. Saturday night we were so close to Silver Dollar City we could here the screaming and tram announcers from there until about midnight (although they closed at 10pm). About 3a.m. we were woke by someone who ramed their vehicle in to the back of ours smashing our back door (really). We were really looking forward to coming back to stay in a cabin, however we feel we'd be better off somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aylico3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Branson hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Branson Inn And Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge
3.7 mi away
Branson KOA & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deer Run Motel
Deer Run Motel
#65 of 140 in Branson
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shady Acre Motel
Shady Acre Motel
#2 of 7 in Branson West
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Southern Inn
The Old Southern Inn
#20 of 74 in Branson
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Dollar City's Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Dollar City's Wilderness

Property: Silver Dollar City's Wilderness
Address: 5125 State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-9099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Branson
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilderness at Silver Dollar City located in Branson, Missouri offers couples and families cozy private log cabins and campsites with a remote lost-in-the-woods feeling. We're nestled just a few short minutes from shopping and theaters on HWY 76 along some of Branson's most popular attractions like Silver Dollar City, Showboat Branson Belle, White Water, Ride The Ducks, and The Dixie Stampede. A daily shuttle service is provided for your convenience.We strive to give our customers an authentic camping adventure, whether it's in the comforts of our full-service 50-amp RV sites, or in one of our hand-hewn rustic log cabins, made by the master craftsmen at nearby Silver Dollar City. Plus, Silver Dollar City season pass holders receive great discounts! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wilderness At Silver Dollar City Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing