We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for a Lake or Dam view room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
416 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Ask for a Lake or Dam view room”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We received a discounted night's stay here as part of a vacation package. We just live up the road in Nixa but wanted to get away for our anniversary. Parking was very convenient, concierge staff very pleasant. We had some trouble getting our room key to work & had to try 3-4 times each time before it would work. Our room was very nice, clean, spacious, and the bathrooms were wonderful--great pressure in the shower. The beds--OMG...best night's sleep I've had in a while. Really, the only drawback with the room was the view. We had a "Mountain View" room, which faces away from the lake. However, where we were situated put us just a few floors above their "Great Hall"...which means what we actually had a view of was the roof of the Great Hall, with the "mountains" off in the distance. We also didn't have a balcony--we had a door, but the bars were immediately on the outside of it so it wouldn't open.

We had drinks in the Library Lounge (Clayton, Mike & Maddie all provided great service) and listened to the live music (Bella Donna was playing that evening--perfect for the atmosphere). We had lunch at the Atrium the next day--food & service were both great. Aside from the minor issues stated, it was wonderful for our anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    519
    272
    75
    55
See reviews for
591
960
35
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plano TX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I took a last minute trip to Branson and chose the Chateau since we wanted a resort feel. We got what we asked for. The Hotel is designed comparable to Embassey Suites. The environment of the entire hotel was nature-friendly and fits the mood of the area.

I used the spa and was very pleased with the massage and service. There are kid activities and that is good but we could hear children all over. The Library bar was for adults but folks brought crying children in. I wished their was an area that could be away from children.

However, for families, the movie theater, kids activity center, pool area are nice.

The hotel is about 4 miles from the strip but it is not inconvenient. Its a quick drive. So being away from the strip was beneficial as well.

Beside the library lounge our only complaint was room cleaning came after 5 pm each day and by then we were done with our activities and did not want maid service at that point. We put a Do not disturb sign on the door so housekeeping was compelled to CALL us to ask if we wanted service...really! DND means DND.

Room Tip: Definitely take Lake or dam view. Mountain view overlooks convention area and you see the roof. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimlenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I am writing this the last morning of our trip as my family sleeps in. We've been here since Thursday and have stayed at the hotel almost the entire time so we have checked a lot of it out. We've had a great time hanging out with our kids and it was a nice getaway.

Plusses:
-Moonshine beach is a minute away and what a great little beach. Clear water, picnic tables and lots of families around so no one cares if your kids are noisy.
-The Chateau has lots of places to eat, reasonably priced room service kids meals and a great view of the lake.
-The kids activity center has fun stuff and a nice daily schedule.
-The pool area has someone bringing around ice water and the towels are kept stocked.
-Sweet Shoppe was nice for a coffee or ice cream for the kids. Pricing wasn't bad considering you are at a resort.
-The lunchtime deli has pretty good sandwiches.

Minuses:
-Truly awful internet. Like the worst. You can pay $10 more or $15 more and get a slightly less awful connection, but it is still terrible. My husband and I own an online business and we could literally not check email without devoting a half hour to open 5 messages. Note to hotel: Don't advertise "free" internet if it is worse than dial up then charge for sub-par "premium" service.
-There are flies everywhere. In the buffet food, in the bar, at the pool, everywhere. You will spend all your time eating swatting away flies.
-The Lounge is nice, but the service there is extremely slow even when it's empty. If you order a beer that comes in a bottle or can they expect you to pour it yourself.
-Service was hit or miss. Poolside service for drinks was nice to have, but there was only one waitress sometimes even when the pool was packed.
-The rooms feel a bit dirty/outdated. The carpet needs to be cleaned. Our tub didn't drain. The mini fridge makes a whiney sound. Stuff like that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cajzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear cajzu:

May I commend you on a very well written review! Please accept my apologies for any of our services that did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very timely and will be taken into consideration as we put together our 2015 Capital Budget. Some of your guestroom suggestions have been on our radar and plans are already in place to make changes. Besides those pesky Ozark Mountain flies, I trust your stay was still a pleasant on and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Chateau.

Stephen Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Full of amenities and a perfect location make the Chateau a great place for a real getaway. We got a wonderful Lakefront King room with a view of Table Rock Lake and a small balcony. The room itself was spacious and clean with a pull-out sofa and a coffee table. The view of the lake itself is gorgeous. We had a great view of the pool and can clearly see the boaters as they cruised Table Rock Lake. Having been to Branson several times, we opted to stay away from the busy traffic of the town and chose to stay at the Chateau for its location. Here we felt more relaxed with a wonderful staff who treated us very well. From the doormen who make sure we were taken care of to the prompt check-in staff and even the friendly conversation at the gift shop, we had nothing but positive treatment from everyone at the resort. We requested extra pillows when we made the reservation and that request was fulfilled. The Chateau is a very family-friendly resort. There is a small movie theater with a schedule of kids movies and there is also an indoor pool. I love the atrium with the babbling brook and the fish which add to the relaxing atmosphere. One of our favorite activities is having breakfast outside at the Chateau Grille. For some reason the food tastes better with a beautiful view of the lake.

There are a few things about our stay that could use some improvement. The decor needs updating. It doesn't need to look like a trendy boutique hotel but modern touches to the room would help such as the bathroom fixtures and the bedding. Also, we had a late lunch at the Atrium Cafe and we loved the food but the service was slow. We were the only ones seated and we could not understand why our server would leave us for long periods of time without checking on us. The server took our order and did not return until the food was ready. We only received one water refill while we sat for a total of 45 minutes. Another change we would like to see is free unlimited WI-FI. Reception in the Ozarks can be quite spotty. The resort does offer free basic WI-FI for basic data, 1MB if I recall correctly and then you must pay a fee if you plan on doing more than that. We now live in an age where accessing Youtube and checking Facebook is more common than checking email. The Chateau needs to keep up with the basic demands of its guests whether business or families. If a budget motel in Branson can offer free WI-FI then surely a highly rated resort like the Chateau can do the same.

Overall, the Chateau has become our favorite place to stay while visiting Branson. The location and the great staff are huge reasons why we stay there. We always enjoy our stay at the Chateau and we will always make it a point to return.

Room Tip: Room 536 is a Lakefront King with a balcony. The view is directly facing the pool and Table Rock La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a group with my husbands company, an annual affair, each year in a different location. The doormen were very helpful and check in was very smooth. Then we got to the room, very disappointed. It had out dated decore, then came bedtime, the mattress sagged in the middle and the sheets were scratchy. We had a sofa sleeper for our two grandchildren. When eight year old children complains that the bed is uncomfortable you know it's bad. The next day after being out all day housekeeping showed up at 4:30. All in all the whole stay was not what it should have been. I would never recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Suzanne R:

I am so sorry that your stay was a disappointing one. Thank you for bringing to my attention that the sofa bed your two grand kids slept on was uncomfortable. This type of feedback is very beneficial for I will know have all of our sofa beds inspected to ensure the mattresses are in good order. I trust this isolated incident will not become a deterring factor in the patronage of our hotel.

Regards,

Stephen Marshall

Stephen Marahall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have stayed at the Chateau many times (sometimes by myself ). I am a middle-aged business woman and like to get away to relax occasionally. The hotel and surroundings are beautiful. I love the spa. But what prompted this review is a complicated transaction I asked the Chateau to help me with. The Reservation Manager, "Janet," and Concierge, "Angel," were most helpful with all of my requests. I emphatically recommend this hotel to anyone and hope you find it as relaxing as I have always done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelene A. O... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was the most beautiful Resort we have ever stayed at. The atmosphere was beautiful. Room with lake front view with balcony. Was almost right next to the Branson Belle. I can't wait till next year to stay, and enjoy the most relaxing time ever. Valet was great and free internet. Every single employee of this resort was the Best.

Room Tip: We was on the 4th floor with Lake Front View. I would book the same floor again. Very quiete and lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Branson hotels
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
2.8 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#31 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#19 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Savannah House Hotel
Savannah House Hotel
#7 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
3.8 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
5.7 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Property: Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-8954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#14 Business Hotel in Branson
#29 Family Hotel in Branson
#31 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Lake Resort and Spa,Branson's only AAA Four Diamond resort and spa. Nestled in the Ozark Mountains over-looking the pristine waters of Table Rock Lake, yet only a short distance from nearby theaters, shopping, attractions and golf courses. One of the features of the resort is its 10 story atrium lobby complete with cascading waterfalls,lush plants and foliage. All guestrooms have hand finished textures walls in warm tones, comfortable Perfect Sleeper mattresses, down comforters, 37" flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi. Most of our guestrooms have balconies with lakefront, lakeview or moutain view exposure. Our award winning restaurant the Chateau Grille, has great food, great service and breath taking views of Table Rock Lake. Our #Sunday Brunch is Branson's best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau On The Lake Hotel Branson
Chateau On The Lake Resort And Spa
Chateau Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing