We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

From the outside, the Chateau is quite lovely. Once inside, things change. The lobby and public areas are beginning to show their age. We stayed in 2 different rooms and each was just short of being shabby. Furnishings were worn, bathrooms were not quite clean, shower curtains were mildewed, caulk was missing around tubs and, surprise, there are no exhaust fans in the bathrooms, making for very humid conditions after a shower. During a rainstorm, the french doors leaked a significant amount of water into the rooms. Additionally, the skylights in the 10-story atrium leaked and first floor ceilings also were leaking.

Service was, at best, spotty. People at the front desk seemed to be disinterested. The manager was surprised to hear that our bathrooms had no exhaust fans and said that all bathrooms had exhausts. After checking with a dozen other guests, we learned that none of the rooms had exhaust fans. Prices in the restaurants were high and service was slow. It took 10 minutes to get a cup of coffeein the "Sweet Shop"--there were only two people ahead of me the person at the counter seemed overwhelmed.

The Chateau may be a 4 or 5 star hotel by Branson standards, but not by mine. Overall, the experience was little better than staying in a cut-rate, chain motel.
Edit - Delete

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo_Lago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
No excuses for the condition of the bathroom which will be inspected by both our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer. I would like to think that this was an exception rather than the norm for our own housekeeping standards are based on the premise there is no degree of cleanliness. It is either clean or not clean.
For the record and I can say this with authority for it is the absolute. All of our bathrooms do have an exhaust vent which is controlled by exhaust fans located on the roof of the resort, unlike the exhaust fans we all have in our bathrooms at home. To have 300 plus individually controlled bathroom exhaust fans would be an engineers nightmare.
Mother Nature did inflict upon us a driving rainstorm (the remains of Hurricane Hermine) as you got to experience during your stay which did indeed cause leaks in places I have never seen before. I have been the resort's GM for the past 12 years and I have witnessed many a storm over the years and this one I would rate in the top three. I believe we received over 3 inches of rain in a very short period of time.
Cleanliness, slow service, staff attitudes, etc, etc are within my control as the GM, anything to do with the elements such as Mother Nature is beyond my capabilities.
Nevertheless, I appreciate your feedback, my apologies for not meeting your expectations as a guest and where corrective measures can be made within our operation I can assure you and others steps will be taken to do so.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    497
    256
    72
    51
See reviews for
569
905
30
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at the Chateau for our honeymoon, and it was a great experience. Upon arrival, we discovered the hotel had upgraded our room for free. The room service was excellent...very friendly and very fast. The food was amazing, however highly over-priced. If I remember right it was approximately $35 for a sandwich, fries, diet coke, & a bottle of water. But it was a special occasion so we splurged a bit. The room was very comfortable and the view from our room was amazing! We had a massage while we were there. The atmosphere was great, but we have had much better massages elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_johnson1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
Thank you for choosing the Chateau and for spending your honeymoon getaway with us. Your kind words about your stay is very much appreciated, for which I thank you for taking the time to share. Your comment about tipping was very well put which I could not have stated any better.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau for many anniversaries to come.

Regards,

Stephen Marshall
VP & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Okay, so we stayed in the Best Western the first 2 nights we were in Branson, then we splurged and got the Bed & Breakfast package at the Chateau on the Lake for the last night. Of course, Chateau on the Lake was beautiful, beautiful gardens inside the hotel itself and a wonderful view of the lake. Amenities were wonderful and top of the line. Somebody has posted something on here about tipping. Well, when we pulled up at the resort, one of the men was wanting to take our luggage, but they do give you the option. You don't have to have the bellboy bring up your luggage... that is just a convenience for you and if you want it then yes, you do need to tip. You can just say NO, if you don't want them to do it for you. The breakfast package does not necessarily mean you have to use it for breakfast. You get a $40 food credit- you can choose to use it at the Grille, room service, the Atrium, or Sweet Shoppe. We had the breakfast and then had a little left over for using at the sweet shoppe. To sum it up, the next time we come to branson, we will be staying at the Chateu on the Lake for all the nights we're there. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.!:)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrdh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
It indeed was our pleasure to have been of service to you during your recent Branson trip and thank yo for sharing your Chateau experiences with us and others who will read your review. Come back and visit us real soon, as our doormen will be here waiting and ready to welcome you back.

Regards,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake Resort and Spa

PS.
By the way thank you for standing up for us when it comes to "tipping".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

My daughter and I booked a Spa getaway on a weekday. I was amazed at how this hotel had such classy potential then, as other have said, either cut corners on quality or nickel and dimed at every chance. We were staying the night prior to a day of spa treatments and I asked for late check out after our treatments, I was told twice that they couldn't even give me an answer. No fridge in the rooms. Powdered eggs and other Sam's Club type food on the buffet. Average food offered on room service at 4 star resort prices, then gratuity, tax and delivery charges added to the point of ridiculous! $10 a day for internet. The spa staff excellent however, charges posted in brochure don't include 20% additional charge for each treatment. I was told that was for the use of the facilities. Ok, but multiplied by each treatment? Being scheduled for several treatments I didn't have time to use the sauna etc. Yet I was charged 4 times for it.Gratuity. I was under the impression that was given per service as the guest felt was earned. At other fine resorts the charge was at the guests discretion. I am a regular
Spa guest all over this country I was very surprised by the lack of class that peppered this potentially fine hotel.
resort Spa client all over this country and the prices DO NOT line up to the level of service and quality I have experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncommonSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauonthelake, Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
We certainly welcome feedback from our guests and whenever we have failed in providing a level of service that is in keeping with their expectations, our own standrads and reputation, we are quick to apologize and make every every effort to make amends for our mistakes.
We certainly respect your opinion as you shared in your review concerning our pricing structure on the specific items as mentioned.
The claim that the eggs we serve on our breakfast buffet are a powdered product is wrong assumption for they are not. Late check-out requests during our very busy summer period more often that not we are unable to accommodate for if we do, it will increase the probabilty of inconveniencing one of our in coming guests.

We do realize you had a choice in lodging when planning your spa getaway trip and do appreciate your patronage. We also apologize for not meeting your needs and expecations in certain aspects of our operation.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Our stay at the Chateau on the Lake was majestic! It is perfect for a Girl's Weekend! You must spend the day at the Spa!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnasmail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your most recent stay. Your kinds words are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Chateau in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Stephen Marshall
Vide President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, and the Spa was wonderful! Approximately 10 minutes away from everything, but a curvy drive up and down mountain.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank schonvav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for choosing the Chateau for your Branson Trip and for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau On the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We just got back yesterday from our stay and thought the hotel itself was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and always greeted us right away. The pool was beautiful as well and has an indoor and outdoor. The indoor is open 24hrs. which is nice for adults with out kids as they are not aloud in past 10.
The things we didn't like we did leave in a comment card. I know that we only got a standard room but at 150 a night I would've hoped for a small fridge as well. Hauling a cooler was a big pain but necessary with children's medicine. We also spent a lot of money in tips because you have to park and enter at the front when you arrive and they are there waiting to carry all your stuff up for you. I prefer to do this on my own. Also the room never really got cold. We usually have ours set at 74 at home which is nice and cool to us. We noticed that having our room at 60 (the lowest setting) it never did get that cold. It was cool, don't get me wrong, but we like a cold room! I know if felt like it only kicked on a few times after you walk in the room.
We also had to go down and get a print off of what we spent because the folio on the tv's doesn't work. Not sure if it was down for the week or just not up and running right yet. And the only other thing we didn't like was having to wait day to day to find out what the kids activities were that they planned. They don't put them out ahead of time.
They do have laundry on the 10th floor that is free which was great. We just brought our own soap and didn't have to pack as many cloths. The private marina was on site and pricey but since we wanted to spend a day on the boat we ended up booking it. An average of 400 a day for a ski boat. We did look around at the state park marina and it was about 10-30 cheaper but not worth the hassle. The place was jammed pack when you walk in and had to wait in line a while. Also very crowded when getting the boat in and out of the marina. You also have to have 200 down and take a boating test there. I'd say stick with the Chateaus and pay the difference. It will save you the headache.
They do have internet but you have to pay for. Not sure how much a day because we only used the internet on our phones.
All in all in was a beautiful resort with lots of amenities but is quite pricey even for the standard rooms. And then on top of the room price the extras cost you as well.

Restaurants to go to is Lambert's! It is in ozark about 30-40min. north of the hotel but a must! Check it out throwedrolls.com Usually an hour wait at least every night but well worth it. They give you tons of food and is reasonable.
Also try Chicago on the landing and Danna's bbq in branson. Both very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4urinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Branson hotels
2.8 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#25 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
3.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#21 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Savannah House Hotel
Savannah House Hotel
#8 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
3.8 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Property: Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-8954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#14 Business Hotel in Branson
#29 Family Hotel in Branson
#31 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Lake Resort and Spa,Branson's only AAA Four Diamond resort and spa. Nestled in the Ozark Mountains over-looking the pristine waters of Table Rock Lake, yet only a short distance from nearby theaters, shopping, attractions and golf courses. One of the features of the resort is its 10 story atrium lobby complete with cascading waterfalls,lush plants and foliage. All guestrooms have hand finished textures walls in warm tones, comfortable Perfect Sleeper mattresses, down comforters, 37" flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi. Most of our guestrooms have balconies with lakefront, lakeview or moutain view exposure. Our award winning restaurant the Chateau Grille, has great food, great service and breath taking views of Table Rock Lake. Our #Sunday Brunch is Branson's best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau On The Lake Resort And Spa
Chateau On The Lake Hotel Branson
Chateau Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing