We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions - Real Germany Food”
Review of Der Essen Platz

Der Essen Platz
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Camdenton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$34
Cuisines: American, French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It offers the best German and American food in the mid-west.Enjoy a large selection of German and french beer and wine, view a magnificent sunset in a relaxed casual setting while tasting the flavors of Europe!
Fort Frances
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Huge portions - Real Germany Food”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Four of us went to this restaurant on a slow Thursday evening. We enjoyed weiner schnitzel, jaeger schnitzel, smoked pork chops and cordon blue schnitzel. Everything was tasty. We all took away meals for lunch on Friday. The wiener schnitzel had a tease of lemon in the sauce. The Jaeger was. Hunter sauce made with red wine and mushrooms. We all ordered red cabbage as a side. We enjoyed a great selection of imported Germany beers. We all agreed that the meal was one of the best meals we had enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curious2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    27
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lathrop
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We enjoyed our meal. Don't go if your in a hurry. It is made to order. Beautiful view of the lake from the dining room. Wish we had save room for dessert.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful German dinner.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was a great night out with another couple who loves German food and beverages. We all ordered something different and sampled each others foods. The meal were all great! At the end of the night we were stuffed, but had to try the homemade dessert. We were not dissappointed. Next time, I'll take home half of my meal just so I can order strudel. Noelle is a fabulous cook!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Consistantly Excellent”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years and have never been disappointed.
They have great wines by the bottle under $25 including nice French wines. The best selection of Octoberfest beers in town. The Schnitzel Cordon Blu, wuersts and homemade desserts are exceptional. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We love Der Essen Platz. It's not a trip to the Lake without having a meal there. We have never been unhappy with our entree. Try it, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annamb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Der Essen Platz also viewed

Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Der Essen Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing