We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No grapes grown or wine made at this "Winery" & It doesn't help it's not good wine!”

Casa de Loco Winery
Ranked #6 of 13 things to do in Camdenton
Attraction details
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I went with my mom while we were down visiting Lake of the Ozarks. We were not only very disappointed with the wines, the presentation, and the fact this was named a winery. When we asked if grapes were grown on site we were told no, when we asked if wine was made at the winery we were told no...no grapes or wine made at a winery? Wouldn't this make this a wine store? The wine tasting when we went was free, however be warned they are going to stop doing free wine tastings (probably because the wine is gross and no one is buying bottles after trying it) The employee helping us didn't know much about wine to explain what we were drinking and we were given hints about the buildings history as we were tasting the crazy labeled wines. The employee helping us didn't seem she even wanted to be helping us until my mom reached in her pocket and started pulling out tip money.

Thank sashadog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCamdenton, Manager at Casa de Loco Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

I am sorry about your recent visit. We do not grow our grapes on site or make our wine onsite, that is correct. However, we do not do it on that site because we have a vineyard location approx. 45 minutes from our location. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a good experience. I will talk with the employees about their customer service. You opinion on our wines is fine, but I would like to clear up any confusion. We have 30 acres in CA where our California wines come from. We make trips 3 times a year. We visit during the 2 harvest seasons, and once to bottle. We participate in all aspects of "making" our wine. We also have contracts with a vineyard in Rocheport, which we work closely with to come up with blends and such to produce our wine. We are very much a winery, just maybe not a winery you are accustomed to. I appreciate your feedback. Feedback helps grow successful businesses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 6 reviews
"the owner"
in 8 reviews
"star rating"
in 2 reviews
"great wine"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 2 reviews
"larry"
in 7 reviews
"float"
in 8 reviews
"river"
in 10 reviews
"gravel"
in 6 reviews
"crystal"
in 4 reviews
"bluff"
in 5 reviews
"kona"
in 2 reviews
"kayak"
in 2 reviews
"missouri"
in 3 reviews
"shawnee"
in 2 reviews
"mo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is one of our favorite hangouts around the Lake of the Ozarks. We love the Casa Cooler and a pizza. Hang out and relax listening to the outdoors on the bluff deck overlooking the river. It is worth the little extra time to drive to this winery.

1  Thank Zane131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is one of our favorite places to visit to recharge and relax when at the Lake of the Ozarks. Have some Casa Cooler, buy a bottle of Kona Port, and order a pizza to complete a perfect visit. Take time to sit on the deck over looking the Niangua river and just relax listening to the wind blow through the trees.

1  Thank SuperZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Heard about this winery from a few people and the title alone made us want to take the drive an give it a try. They weren't kidding when they said it's "off the beaten path". Wow...beautiful views from the decks overlooking the Osage River. They have float trips & rooms available should you imbibe too much and need to stay the night. The people here are friendly & fun! We will be heading back there when the weather warms up so we can sit outside, drink wine, enjoy the view & eat brick oven pizza! If you are a wine snob this is not the place for you. If, however, you like to enjoy the outdoors and visit places with a unique past while enjoying some Missouri wine you will love it here!

1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We recently went to Casa De Loco for a murder mystery party. I have never had so much fun. The food was excellent and the wine was refined. The building was newly remodeled and looked amazing. We really enjoyed our time and cannot wait to go back.

Thank AmberLakeLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de Loco Winery also viewed

Linn Creek, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Casa de Loco Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing